Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grominows

by mattrified - Compo Entry

Grominows came about from a small prototype I started a few months ago involving falling dominoes chasing the player.

Starting from scratch, I made this version in which little trees pop-up. Over time, if too many are grown, they begin to fall. The player, represented as a growing sphere automatically moves and is steered. If the player collects all the seeds, the goal will open allowing them to complete the game.

Left arrow, A, or Left Mouse Button rotate the growing sphere left.
Right arrow, D, or Right Mouse Button rotate the growing sphere right.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#88Theme4.21
#191Fun3.58
#193Overall3.63
#1817Coolness37%

Comments

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:52pm

I love this. Very cool. :)

aeveis says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Nice action puzzler! Turning with left/right can be hard sometimes, especially when it got fast. I do like the Tron mechanic though. Might be interesting if you had to wait for the path to fall in order to cross it (might be hard to time this though).

mukult says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:49am

Nice concept! :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:50am

Hard to control. But awesome!

Good job.

Blobo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:53am

Pretty great entry! i loved how the mechanic was slowly introduced while playing.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:55am

Very solid, I liked it! Extending this would be a great idea.

Fervir says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:59am

That game over music, hahah!
Pretty fun game, liked the sounds the grominows make.

Waynetron says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:21am

Cute game. I like the sound effects and the mechanic. Making the player something with a front would help with steering.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:06pm

The domino idea is very cool. You should've entered into the innovative category! The little screen that shows the first dominoes falling also really helps. Are you meant to be able to go to the next level if you fail however?

chabuduo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:20am

That was interesting!

MintArcade says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:20am

Great fun. Such a nice game and mix of themes.

bainerd says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:25am

Fun idea. A tutorial might be nice.

richardboegli says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:29am

Interesting game. Some levels were really challenging.

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Interesting 3d tron. The domino effect basically just runs down to being a timer, so some variable cause would have been nice (or maybe I understood it incorrectly..)

muumeroinen says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Quite interesting :)

shar says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Gorgeous game! One sample, exciting sfx! Interesting theme usage! gj ;)

rafaoliveira says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Interesting game, liked the sounds, but looks like you can always go to the next level, no matter if you actually pass or don't pass the stage, lol ;)

BoredOfYou says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:15am

Clever idea. Just dont like that part of the screen gets pushed away when it starts to tip over

Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Super neat concept! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/iU4q-3Z4nkI

Afendar says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:10am

funny derivation of snake game in 3D I Love it !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]