Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

sprout

by lonewookie - Compo Entry

Controls: Left arrow and right arrow controls turns the sprout to the right or the left.

Gameplay: Avoid the beetles and try to grow as long as possible!

This is a simple game that I created for the 48 hour game jam, Ludum Dare.

This was my first time using the libGDX framework. I've actually never touched the framework before this weekend, and most of Saturday was spend taking a free course at Udacity. In fact I didn't even start on my own game until Saturday night.

The most exciting part about learning and using libGDX was the ability to run my game on my phone as well as my browser and desktop!

The theme for the weekend was actually two themes, "Two Button Controls" and "Growing".

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#301Theme3.94
#610Innovation2.94
#673Overall3.00
#774Fun2.69
#808Graphics2.40
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Really nice presentation! :)

sitronTe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Fun little game.
Arrowkeys didn't work for me though (Firefox for Ubuntu), but clicking right and left side of screen did. :)

ninos says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Really liked the game, arrows didnt work for me too but mouse did :)

lonewookie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:02pm

If you mess with the iframe (clicking in and out of it) you should be able to get the arrow keys to work correctly. That has been a little frustrating but it does work!

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Nice concept and addictive game.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Nice game, simple gameplay. Maybe it would be easier to control plant using keyboard instead of mouse. Also, game need some balancing as it becomes too hard really quickly.

Headmade says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:21pm

The arrow keys do not work for me either when I play the embedded version. But still a fun little game. And it's nice to see another LibGdx game.

SwitchTeam says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:06am

NIce to play this game!

XenosNS says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Decent. Liked the flowers growing on the corners.

CrispyOwl says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Hey I recorded this on a video click here to see it

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VzwlaWdr740

Hope you like it

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]