Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Radical Revolver Recoil Rampage

by AndreasL - Jam Entry

Radical Revolver Recoil Rampage (or Recoil Rampage for short...)

Is a "survive for as long as you can" type of game. You use two buttons (LEFT and RIGHT arrow keys, or the shoulder buttons if you're on a gamepad)

to control where you want to shoot the problem is you always move in the OPPOSITE direction due to the recoil.

It's a fun and addictive game and the average play time per life is about 20 seconds. But most people play for far longer than one life.

For proper FULLSCREEN in web go to: http://ld34.andreasl.net then press f10.

Music by Andreas Larsson

https://soundcloud.com/knugn

Rest by Andreas Lidell (Hey that's me!)
http://twitter.com/AndreasLidell

EDIT:
Follow the game on these portals:
http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/667430

http://gamejolt.com/games/radical-revolver-recoil-rampage/114084

http://www.kongregate.com/games/AndresasLidell/radical-revolver-recoil-rampage

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#8Fun(Jam)4.27
#33Overall(Jam)4.09
#43Innovation(Jam)4.00
#63Theme(Jam)4.27
#119Audio(Jam)3.81
#197Mood(Jam)3.64
#219Humor(Jam)3.28
#323Graphics(Jam)3.78

Comments

VascoF says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Love the gameplay and concept. Well done!

upisfree says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Wow! Great game!

Yamzho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Very good game I must say. Very fun to play ! :)

Multiplexor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Love it! Simple,Neat and supernice music and graphics! Had a lot of fun playing it! Keep up the good work guys!

Interface says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Great game, addictive!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Simple and fun! I love it!

batmanasb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Really fun, although I'd recommend reducing the max enemy objects on screen to about 4 (maybe 5), and spikes down to 1, because it literally gets impossible at times.

floppya says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Good game, I played it longer than any other game so far. Perfect amount of gibbing.

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:35pm

the gameplay is fun the music and sound are very good, nice work very addicting!

George says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Greatly executed!

Thembi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:54pm

It was a bit hard to get the jump (left+right) to happen consistently.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Very very cool. LOVE IT!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:58pm

That was the first game I had fun playing ;)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Really interesting mechanics. I like it. Funny. You respect the rules and the theme. Neat - one of my favorites. Thank you for this entry ++

Gornova says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:29pm

really funny, well done! It's hard to master!!

Nooner Bear says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Great concept! Challenging but fun.

QuexD says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:44am

8/r8 m8

EwChap says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:51am

Awesome concept. Love the risk/reward for shooting. has a great balance. I also think the recoil as a backwards jump plays amazingly well. Great Work!

alvarop says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:15am

Very nice implementation of the two button theme. I think the game is too difficult from the get-go though, it would have been nice to ease in the player so that he can get used to the mechanics.

I did enjoy the game though and thought it was great, BUT I'm the type of person that likes difficult games.

mendi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:49pm

great mate!

Deity says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Cool mechanics, really nice animations. Good job!

Taffaz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:33pm

This game was great. Loved the recoil mechanic. best I got was 24 seconds.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Love the game, however running into brick walls didn't do anything on the web version, idk if that was intentional but that's the only complaint from me.

It's very addicting and tons of fun. Everything about that game is great. Honestly I think it deserves a 10/10 for this Ludum Dare. Fantastic work

Muel says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:22am

You used the theme in a very original way! Congrats!

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:24pm

This is great. Love shooting left and right, careening and bouncing across the screen like a madman. Charming pixel visuals -- and the exploding gibs effect when people die is icing on the cake. Good stuff!

PieChronicles says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:58pm

This is very fun and has some real nice mechanics in there! Would love to keep playing.
I found it a bit difficult to avoid enemies who shoot bullets. Minus that it was very enjoyable :) Graphics and animation are on point too! grats.

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Somehow went through a wall once. :o Cool game and very fun! Good use of the theme.

ShaunJS says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Awesome! Solid design =)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:34pm

I love the graphics and the unique gameplay! I don't think I've seen anything like this in any of the other entries.

Dege says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Mobile success in 3.. 2.. 1.. :) Really fun, can't get past 24, but I tried countless times! Great concept, perfect gameplay. I found that I can jump only after a while (and by accident), maybe you can write that down. Music is nice and fits well. I need one more star for the "theme" vote.

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Gameplay ROCKS, great work! It's quite balanced and fun (not sure if every part is possible to beat though). I can imagine a leaderboard would do quite well for this game ;)

ajopart says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:13pm

One of my favorite concept ! Good job

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Great LD Entry! Strangely addictive. Great art style and music!

danidre14 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:33am

This rampage is radical!!!

anissen says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:28am

Fantastic game! I absolutely love the mechanic! It's an awesome application of the theme and really well executed in addictive non-stop action. Great job!

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:27am

All around solid entry! I had a lot of fun with it, I don't think I'm very good, but I managed a score of 35 before being overwhelmed by enemy fire. I'm really in love with the music! Great job!

Hegemege says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Simple fun, kinda addicting too! Spamming left+right alternately seemed quite OP. Well done on music and sound, really liked them!

drludos says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Excellent gameplay idea, I love it! It's simple but entertaining, and quite challenging without being frustrating. Very good job, congrats! My best score is 41 seconds :p

Eingya says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:25am

Nice game! Very interesting core mechanic and great game feel. Would be a bit better if the floor had some diegetic reason for the floor to move forward, maybe a treadmill of something will help.

Well Done!

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:11am

This game feels very nice and smooth, fun to play, but those spikes always get me!

Jwatt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:51pm

I actually kinda like this a lot. There's a lot of different elements that go together in fairly interesting ways. Well-executed in the gameplay department, and I can say I'm still having fun after quite a few retries.

But let's have a word about visual presentation.

There's something about this style that seems very MS Paint-y as far as pixel art goes. Muddy colors, palette all over the place, shading not having much contrast with the environment. Also moving things kinda-but-not-really snapping to the grid - which I guess can be excused as a stylistic gimmick in games not actually based on old hardware - but in combination with everything else, it just comes across as carelessness.

It's not just about looking pretty, you gotta consider functionality too. Composition-wise, most of the screen is just empty space. And there isn't really any gameplay consequence for everything to be moving like you're on a treadmill, so it's an unnecessary (even misleading) visual cue. Not to talk about how the more urgent threats don't always stand out more.

...Yeah, it's a lot to digest. But I'm not pointing it out to be mean. In fact, I'm hoping you'll find advice like this useful in your future games, so you can give them that extra polish to really complement your already solid design thoughts.

On the plus side, the audio's OK, seems like you have a good sense of what kind of tune fits the mood.

piper82 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:44pm

absolutely loved the art and music but gameplay could be more forgiving imo. great entry.

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Really nice entry! I like how simple and fun it is to play... congratulations!

bazkur98 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:53pm

This is a wonderful concept executed well, very unique.

Xgor says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Great little game. The recoil and shoot action leads to a fun dynamic of jumping back and forward that works great. One thing I wish was that that you could shoot directly after jumping. Minor thing but something think would add a lot.

jackrugile says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Such an awesome concept, well done!

Donar says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:44pm

Pretty repetetive, of course, but a pretty great concept for the theme. It gets really hard when there is a spike an two enemies shoot you from both sides but that's fine. If a game is repetetive it should rather be hard than too easy, because if it's too simple it's just boring.

lawendt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Damn, the game is pretty intense! Loved everything about it. I guess I can play this for a long time, and even compete with my friends, they'll love this also.
Anyway, keep up with the amazing work!

Ps: got just 41 seconds

Gyfis says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Well done! Nice game, also hard as hell - my personal best (Tomas) is 36, and that's it. The spikes are terrible traps! Way to go!

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:24am

Loved the game! Very hardcore stuff.. loved it!

Congrats!

SHLFStudios says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:25am

You're right! Super ADDICTING! I love the animations. They bring so much to the game play. Maybe I didn't play long enough, but a change in scenery a ways through would be really cool. or even collecting things or weapon changes would be awesome.

jdoughty says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:28am

Very Strong main mechanic man! Very good job!

Zaeche says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:38am

Clever mechanic that ties into the theme, nice.

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:55am

Oh yeah, great gemeplay!

Split82 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:24am

Great simple game. Awesome job!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:43am

Neat gameplay. I don't really like too much random, but randomly kills and randomly destroy and randomly dead and randomly retry can actually be fun, you proved it ! XD

Geti says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:24am

Fun, fiddly controls of course with the button requirement, separate jump button would have made a world of difference haha. Enjoyable.

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:43am

Amazing game! Really fun, and the graphics and audio were awesome.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:54am

"Awesome!" My cousins words not mine :) I also had a great time playing this game! it was very fun and addicting... well done.

randomhuman says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:51am

Apparently I am below average :( Super fun game though!

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Your initial idea seems somewhat similar to mine, just implemented very differently.

The controls are very simple, but there's a lot of tactical depth and consequence to each button press. The enemies and obstacles are varied and do a good job at showing the strength of the core mechanic.

You die often but the game the game gets your right back in shooting without skipping a beat.

Graphics are good, the sound effects are good and the music is very catchy.

Awesome game overall. Very fun.

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Best 33. I love the simplicity and how you go from full controls, to control movement by shooting!

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Great concept! I've seen a lot of these games where you're fighting enemies coming from the left and right, but the way you combined projectile attacking and movement makes it pretty interesting. The obstacles make for a neat addition too. Nice presentation as well. Good work.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Wow very cool. My best was 54, is that good? It was very hard but mostly I always felt like failure was my own fault. I think the spikes were the only things that sometimes felt unfair, but dodging the bullets and enemies was really fun and a great interpretation of the theme

Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Really cool! Love what you did with the theme, and it's not just an interesting idea but also fun and engaging, even if somewhat punishing. Great entry though, I really dig these little "jump in and enjoy" gems. :)

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:51am

Very fun game with very good replayability. Got to 43 seconds on my best try.

Big Cow says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:09am

I am glad I got to play your game! Its really innovative. Simple and addictive. The graphics and movement give it a sense of humour. You stuck to the two button theme really well and did a lot with it. Its rock hard so a ramp up in skill would have been appreciated :) Well done!

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Concept is great!! You did a great job of relentlessly throwing lots of stuff on the player!

Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:39pm

Fun little game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/3B2_gBg5rhI

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]