Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

PowerDefense

by ccglp - Compo Entry

***********************POWERDEFENSE******************************
In this game you will have to protect the yellow sphere!. It's important, but you don't know why. Keep the good work guy!
***************************************************************

*********************Controls***************************
a&d || arrow keys left &right
******************************************************

*********************************About***************************
Hi there! I'm CCGLP, a videogame designer and developer student in ESNE, a university in Madrid, spain.

This is my 5th Ludum Dare and this time I want to make something more arcade than my other games, so I followed the "theme/rule" of the two button controls.
I use the growing theme as well atthe progression in the game.

************************************************************************

Thank you for playing! Please, leave your feedback behind! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#440Audio2.71
#682Humor1.76
#744Fun2.75
#790Theme3.28
#850Mood2.03
#854Overall2.73
#856Innovation2.38
#898Graphics1.79

Comments

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:11am

Simple gameplay with good use of theme! :)

Congrats on completing the game. I liked the music...
But the gameplay could be more complex... it gets kind of boring after a while.

MCRewind says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:26am

Gameplay is pretty fun but it feels impossible in the later levels

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:47am

nice simple 2D tower defense, i like how you can progress and update the weapon, even tho it will be nice if theres subtle change on scenery each time we prograssing
so far so good :)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:08am

Nice game. However, it gets pretty repetitive after a while and I feel like it becomes suddenly impossible to win. The upgrade systems feels kinda forced. All you can upgrade is rate of fire until you have enough gold for damage. My that time I already maxed out my fire rate. Some more variety(especially in the upgrades) would have been great. I really enjoyed the first few levels, though.

Great job!

Thembi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:35am

The music is great. The upgrades don't seem very effective...

Juin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Simple game, but after some levels it feels like it's impossible and not about your reaction.

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Nice gameplay but a little bit too frustrating. Like the way you used the theme :)

djdudes100 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:45pm

good game well done

sitronTe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Quite fun.
A little low contrast between background and bullets though.

Tuism says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:51pm

While the concept is interesting, the execution leaves very little room for interest...

There's no risk/reward. The best way to play the game is to tap left and right to the timing of your shooting. The super fast guy will either be taken out by a shot you previously shot or superhuman reflex. But with 200 lives there's not all that much sense of urgency.

Making it harder makes it impossible - there's no skill that you can employ to tackle difficulty, you're not shooting faster or more accurately, you're just shooting.

So... There's no room for skill. The values need to be balanced more, as well as the moment-to-moment gameplay loop - what feels good? Can you miss? If you can miss then there's skill. If you can perform poorly there's skill.

A good exploration! :)

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:35pm

I would prefer it a little bit faster but nice entry in general :)

Blobo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:16am

Pretty neat game. nice use of the theme in a tower defense.

MAnimal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:57pm

After some tome its only the same, add some more features

barret907k says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:39am

Fun yet hard

ninjascript says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:10am

DIfficulty ramps up pretty quickly, it would be nice to have a few more upgrades, but it's enjoyable for what it is. Well done.

guoboism says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:19am

Nice little defense game.

Shurty says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:08am

I can't load the game using web !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]