Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Meatlings

by Zetym - Jam Entry

A mobile game satirizing the modern meat industry and indifference towards the origins of our consumption.

Theme: Growing
Grow your business by slaughtering the animals. Just take care what kind of meat you mix. The entrecôte is quite valueable but you can only charge so much for sausage...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#184Humor(Jam)3.38
#198Fun(Jam)3.57
#283Graphics(Jam)3.87
#487Overall(Jam)3.35
#525Mood(Jam)3.20
#1061Theme(Jam)2.40

Comments

jamaster96 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Web player makes Firefox crash...

jorgemoag says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:24pm

My score $6174
Fun game :-)

George says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:29pm

That's brutal! A well made game. Very loosely based on the growth theme, but the graphics are cute so who cares!

Todnut says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:47pm

Neat! Maybe the animals could fall down into holes like collapse to add a little strategy.

chriiis88 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:47pm

I made 5100$ by selecting every animal in every screen. It would be nice to have some explanation of mixing animals in the instructions.

mar3k says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Nice game, had fun playing it

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:53pm

This is very good, I wasn't sure if it was more optimal to have longer combos that included other animals or if it was better to only include one type of meat. Even though it was obvious after a few round.

I thought you put lots of nice touches in with everything either coming on with a bit of a bounce or scaling up.

sitronTe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Really fun! And strangely addictive. Nice touch using In the Hall of the Mountain King as soundtrack; that set the mood quite right.

Thepattybeast says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Scaling is broken on the desktop version http://i.imgur.com/ZmlqwmR.gifv
Also the embedded version has scroll bars (on chrome)

Other than that a great game.

Zetym says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:07pm

@jamaster96 :( I tried and it crashes firefox for me too. Unfortunately we don't have time to debug it because of work/school/life. It works in chrome and downloadable for windows. If you check back in a few days we should have published an apk-version on our website, www.funklift.com

@chriiis88 We thought it would be enough to hint at different combinations giving different scores and letting the player get the fun of exploring, but it might have been good to include some example combinations.

@MrDave Currently it is best to only select one type of animal. We had plans to include more types and have some combinations with those give more points but we didn't have the time for more content.

Thanks for playing and rating everyone, we will publish a downloadable .apk on our website www.funklift.com as soon as our pr-guy gets around to writing a better description.

Zetym says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:16pm

@Thepattybeast thought I had fixed the resolution issue in the desktop version. Checked it out and the link pointed to an older build. I have updated the windows download so if you want to play the game you can try the new download link.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:26pm

As a vegan, I hated making this game.

concalf says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Poor cows!

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Highscore $12797. While there was little direction of what combinations would do, I kinda gathered from the tongue in cheek atmosphere that throwing in any animal is cheapens the product.

Now, while you didn't make your own sounds, you showed really good sound direction. You picked good music and sounds, and really built the game around that musical choice. The game ramps up at just about the time the music builds up as well, leveling up for a more frantic feel. Without that song, I don't know if I would have given the game as much thought, but with it I really enjoyed what you built.

BUNN1E5 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:32am

Made $4190 really fun!

Polith Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Cool game

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:18pm

Nice game, well made! got $11798, so I made quite the profit.

qkerguelen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Always fun to kill innocent animals. And music was well chosen ;)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:26pm

$11756

Took me ages to work out the mechanic was click and drag. I sat there clicking for quite a while before I selected multiple animals by mistake.

Does seem like you get a better score for matching animals of the same type to just matching everything at random. Annoyed me when I spent ages setting up a big chain of one type only for the screen to suddenly swap to a bigger view and re-randomize everything. Although the idea of the zoom does fit the theme and music.

Taldius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:35pm

This game is simple but quite addictive.
The art is good and the music perfectly suits the game.
Good job!

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:37pm

The concept is simple but well executed. I liked it! You made a good job!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Funny and somewhat disturbing. I loved the sync with the music, added a lot of intensity! Great work

aare says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:49am

I twa surprisingly fun :D

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:45am

ok, so right off the bat I gotta comment on the music:
I know you didn't make it and everything, but I must say, it really goes well with this game. And tying the timer to the song [especially since it's such a recognizeable song], gave me a clear goal which was nice.

as for the game itself, it's gory, humorous, and all around a pretty simple, but yet still fun, game. Nice job :)

tigerrenko says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:24am

Cool gfx!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]