Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Static

by trykondev - Compo Entry

In an abstract digital land, you take on the role of Dr. Bluestein the metapixel as he explores this strange matrix and seeks to understand the origin of the static that haunts his dreams...

-Arrow Keys to move
-Space to jump
-Deep breaths to cope with frustration

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#140Innovation3.75
#254Mood3.32
#278Overall3.50
#325Graphics3.40
#400Fun3.26
#468Theme3.75
#522Audio2.56
#1857Coolness36%

Comments

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:05am

The world reminded me of Super Metroid's map, haha.

I liked your usage of the theme. It helped give a level of scale and challenge as the player progressed.

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:58am

Interesting concept!! The controls are just way too sensitive!!

ruscoe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:46am

Fun game that's decently challenging. The level expanding is a really nice effect.

simoroshka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:10pm

It would be nice to have also a windows executable, Unity web player is not supported by chrome any longer..

Ivan Volkov says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:17pm

Nice game!
I was very surprised, that theme "growing" revealed not from position of player growing, but from the position of map growing. Cool idea!
The only thing i missing here is incidental music. In my opinion, music will give more enjoyment of playing this game.
Nicely done! :)

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Nice idea! It can become a great game if you work on it.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:40pm

Cool game. The controls are overly sensitive and it is hard to see the player. Well done, however!

dodormeur says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:41pm

The controls are too rigid, and the tile-based jump is really hard.
The idea was very good, and the level design is nice though

mard says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:24pm

The game has very good graphics, except the player and the finish block blend a bit too much with the background. Nice job with the theme. Overall great game!

mard says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:25pm

The game has very good graphics, except the player and the finish block blend a bit too much with the background. Jumping is a bit too hard. Nice job with the theme. Overall good game!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:56pm

Cool game.

monetai says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:50pm

dang that was a good concept! you should have put borders on your level instead of blacl borders, has a feedback for the gamer to understand where this ends

nihilaleph says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:45pm

Pro:
+ Very cool concept (specially the map growing)
+ Graphics are very nice
Con:
- A bit hard to see the player though
- The control made sometimes feel that landing is mostly a matter of luck than skill
- Some music would've been nice, but that's a lot to do in the time frame

Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]