Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Balloon Adventure

by Boltz Interactive - Jam Entry

NOTE: Don't leave your mouse over the screen!!! It confuses the touch control. (uploading a fix)

You're a balloon, sailing through the skies!

Designed for mobile, targeted at a young audience.

Aim your phone at: crossbreadtech.com/games/ld34

Move Left/Right: Tilt, Arrow Keys
Grow (Suck in air and slow down): Touch Left, Down Arrow
Boost (Expel air and speed up): Touch right, Up Arrow
Activate Bonus: Tap Balloon, Spacebar

To Gain Bonus: Collect a candy when at full size. Must be activated before you lose any air or stop flashing.

Team:

Brandon Johnston - Art, Design
DawnMarie Neet - Design
Jeff Neet - Design, Development, Particles, Sound
Marissa Vaughan - Dialog

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#412Graphics(Jam)3.64
#463Theme(Jam)3.73
#469Humor(Jam)2.72
#525Mood(Jam)3.20
#682Overall(Jam)3.14
#685Fun(Jam)2.95
#777Innovation(Jam)2.73
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

johntherobot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Good effort! Maybe a little too easy, it didn't seem like growing and shrinking really changed much for me. However, I did play it on PC and not on mobile.

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:45am

I played this on PC, I like your art, music and the concept and I wonder if it's easier to play on mobile.

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:06am

honestly the controls were really weird imo.. and ya maybe more balancing needed

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:11am

Enjoyed it however controls take a bit of getting used to.

dustyroom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:19am

Nice relaxing game. It took me some time to realize those triangles I'm pressing the mouse on are actually buttons.

micky says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:20am

Could do with more of a challenge, but i do like this concept :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:27am

Thanks for the feedback! It is rather easy as the game is intended to be relaxing or to keep a 5 year old busy.

It is DEFINITELY not set to be played with the mouse.

victorfisac says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:44am

Nice art :D Enjoyed so much

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:35am

Controls are a bit strange but maybe it works better on a mobile device.
Cute art style! :D

RIDBers says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:59am

Hi thanks for the effort of developing this game! I like it however I would like to die too xD.
Keep working

Laura - RIDBers programmer

ElliotFiske says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:14am

Good game!

The graphics and music are awesome, and I love the little quips the balloon makes! Interesting mechanic as well, although I did spend most of my time shrunk to the smallest.

It took me an embarassingly long time to realize some clouds weren't in the background.. but that's kind of my fault.

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:08pm

So cute! How to finish the game?

scars377 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:35pm

kinda annoying that it just keeps making me full screen

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:52pm

pretty fun and cute game. nice job!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:31am

good job - like the look and simple gameplay

Brightstar says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:01am

Neat game. I like candy.

gelisam says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:58pm

The movement seemed so random, I'm not even sure if I did manage to move the balloon left and right or if it was just my imagination.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]