Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Control Two Buttons

by ceosol - Compo Entry

Note2: Here is a quick tutorial for killing the paperclip: You need to drop a cell with numbers in it on to the paperclip (or other assistant). Your first step is getting a cell with a number in it. Since the computer adds numbers at a random time, make a bunch of cells at the start. Once you have one with a number, copy or cut it. Add a cell around 5-10 cells higher than the paperclip, paste the number into it and drop it.

Note1: I make games for Ludum Dare to try something completely different. I like to create game mechanics that I would not normally make in a "real" game. I know this causes me to get lower ratings, and that is fine with me :)

WASD or Arrow keys to move the keyboard button.
Mouse your mouse and click to use the mouse character.

You are a loyal keyboard key. When your master gets into trouble by the evil office assistants, you leap into action to save him! This game is difficult to master because you need to strategically place new spreadsheet cells and use them for destroying the assistants or healing the keyboard button. If you allow the assitants to stay too long, they will drain your life away.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#109Innovation3.82
#124Humor3.35
#522Audio2.56
#672Mood2.70
#742Overall2.93
#835Theme3.17
#844Fun2.54
#863Graphics2.12

Comments

Magicolo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:27am

da fuck did I just play.

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:28am

interesting game

TsFreddie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:30am

It is hard to control. The concept is great.

ceosol says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:12pm

@TsFreddie: I agree. Creating such an odd game mechanic was difficult in the time frame. I wish I could have spent more time fleshing out the gameplay. :)

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Cool game concept! It's a bit hard to control, though. Also, I didn't know how to defend myself.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:22pm

love the concept, very creative, but the gameplay feels off. You should add a tutorial level.

teamross says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Cool concept ^^
A little weird controls but it has potential for sure!

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:04pm

What a strange, creative concept! I had some trouble controlling it but neat gameplay idea. I never could figure out how to stop the paperclip from zapping me, but it was fun adding blocks and jumping on 'em.

ceosol says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Hi everyone. Thanks for checking out the game. You need to drop a cell with numbers in it on to the paperclip (or other assistant). Your first step is getting a cell with a number in it. Since the computer adds numbers at a random time, make a bunch of cells at the start. Once you have one with a number, copy or cut it. Add a cell around 5-10 cells higher than the paperclip, paste the number into it and drop it.

Thinking back, that is a very complex procedure to play :D

merrak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:13am

One of the more interesting interpretations of the theme I've seen.

brainstorm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Hahaha, really original idea. I loved the story, but the paper clip maybe is too strong. Song is a bit too repetitive. Good game overall.

4/5

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Crazy man ! I loved the concept though

cynicalmonkey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:23pm

controls made it really hard to play but i liked the weird take on the theme

Yazara says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:34pm

The framerate on web player is too low for me to actually play the game as soon as the clip appears and the windows download crashes after the intro :(
I really like your idea though, very innovative!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Pretty unique game, controls were hard to master and a tutorial would have helped. I'll probably rate this highest on innovation.

redmassacre says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:21pm

nice concept, i like such unusual ideas)

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:35pm

cool idea

dkilford says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:20am

Interesting concept, the numbered squares don't seem to heal enough, and they didn't seem to kill the paperclip. For some reason the game was very laggy for me, on a powerful pc.

pixzleone says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:47pm

I really like the idea of the spreadsheet and everything! :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]