Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Hand of Deity

by Ludorverr - Compo Entry

Left Mouse Button : Cast
Right Mouse Button : Switch ability

1.02 Bugfix Changelog:
-Fix for multiple monitors to help prevent clicking outside the game window.
-Press ESC twice to close the game. (instead of clicking the window closed)
-Mana can no longer go below 0.

Hope you guys enjoy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#61Mood3.85
#61Overall3.94
#66Fun3.86
#136Graphics3.88
#143Audio3.48
#193Theme4.06
#217Innovation3.60
#261Humor2.86

Comments

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Great game! Like a top down lemmings. Awesome music and was upset that the game ended I would have played for longer :)

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:03pm

I agree with the "Top-Down Lemmings" thing! :) The game starts up - first thing I do is drop my person off a cliff by accident. :P Really cool!

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:19am

Honestly one of the better entries I've played. It was actually what I would consider to be "fun" unlike a lot of others lol

RhysD says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:53am

Awesome stuff. Great graphics and very cool premise. It's probably because of the two control limitation, but I found the switching spells sometimes annoying (so many people crushed by walls!) but I can see it working quite well without the control restrictions. Would love to play more!

Mr_Fudd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:53am

Cool game. It's pretty awesome seeing your horde swarm out of the houses when you succeed. The swirly killing power felt a bit overpowered. You could get your guys to live forever as long as you babysat them with that power. Different types of units would have been a cool addition. Perhaps some that could defend themselves.

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:42am

This game is absolutely fantastic. Great job. The idea is really well executed. 5 Stars in fun!

ripatti says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Reminded me Dungeon Keeper in point of dragging and dropping units. Fun game!

JohnWatmuff says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:05am

Fantastic game. Really cool idea, very impressive! This has real potential!

djfariel says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:22am

Some enemies spawned in illogical places that felt frustrating and futile. Other than that, I was quite engrossed in this game. Well done!

gmatsura says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:00am

The game plays really well, I like the art style. My only complaint was that I didn't understand what the right mouse button did. Still, Very enjoyable.

sonelliot says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:04am

Great game. Bit frustrating towards the end but it did keep me playing. :)

Quadnozzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:30am

Nice style, sound, animations. Trouble on multiple monitors - mouse kept leaving the window, takes a few seconds to get back into the game. Took a couple tries to realize how to play. Fun once I got into it.

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:30am

A pretty cool idea, but needs a lot of APM to actually play properly in the later levels.

Gipzo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:17pm

10 crushed by a wall lemmings out of 10 :)

Zeriver says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:09pm

Really entertaining game. Challenging and rewarding.

shrapx says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:56am

i struggled on the 2nd level as the quarter would get overrun, and then i had some trouble when my mana stopped regenerating, I also didnt understand it when the gold counter went up and then zeroed. i enjoyed the look and the style of this game, great effort with the compo!

Troma says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:14am

I loved it. The last level was the easiest :( Add more levels and balance it, please! I'll love even more! Nice art and music.

logorrhea says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:52am

Gonna just repeat everyone else -- great job!

Took me a bit to figure out that I could switch spells with the right mouse button, but that's my own fault. Was much more fun once I figured that out :)

Lasty says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:00am

I Got more of a dungeon keeper and/or populous vibe from this than lemmings. Great use of the themes, great aesthetic, graphics.

Had a giggle at a few things, like accidentally throwing your own guy off the cliff.. then catching him just before he disappeared. phew!, saved him.

Then later on forgetting I had the wall spell on, and instead of picking him up, he just went splat!

Had an issue when I held onto a red guy for too long, I think my mana went into negative and took a very long time to recover. Could have used WASD/Arrow keys scrolling too.

yuotta says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:58am

Great game! Really enjoyed playing in it, would like to see a full version!

themadknights says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:15pm

Just awesome, nice management of both themes. I hope you release something bigger with this idea :D

kaype says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Very nice graphics!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:12am

that was a very good game - want to play again for sure - nice use of theme - and like the simple take on rts - great job

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:21am

THIS IS AWESOME. Coincidentally I was a big fan of both lemmings and (star/war)craft. This game feels like those games had a baby and you added a slow presentation of different powers for the player.

Seriously excellent job. Other than the lack of tutorial I have no notes. Bravo.

Neil says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:19am

Good solid entry! Excellent use of the theme. I quite enjoyed it, but crushed so many of my own :)

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Nice, love the animations. Good job \o/

Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:38pm

Cool idea. I liked the combination of city building and defense

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]