Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Growing Dragon

by Erfeo - Compo Entry

Roast your prey and eat the meat to grow to a bigger dragon

Press Z or Left Mouse Button to jump, flap your wings and Soar.

Press X or Right Mouse Button to breath fire.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#577Humor2.14
#725Theme3.38
#768Fun2.70
#825Mood2.25
#847Graphics2.22
#897Innovation2.22
#910Overall2.57

Comments

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:50am

Good game. Would have liked more play area to plan my moves better. Minor point.

mathijs750 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:32am

Our game shares some elements. You are a clever person for agreeing with us.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:47am

Good use of of both themes, also it was interesting that in each form the controls changed slightly as dragon progressed. I did find some weirdness in the controls though. After the first form, the keyboard doesn't seem to work, only the mouse. This made things very difficult on a touch pad with no dedicated mouse buttons, but was a lot better once I got an actual mouse to play.

Out of curiosity is there anything after the third form? The first two changed after five meals, but the third form I know I ate more than five.

Erfeo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:38pm

I fixed the bug in the second stage, thanks for reporting it.

There isn't anything past the 3rd stage, I was going to make some sort of win state but I didn't have the time.

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Nice little game Erfeo! It seemed a bit buggy, but I think you balanced your time well enough (3 stages, whoo!). I liked how you changed things up for each stage, including the dragon graphic of course. I hope you consider making a polished post-LD version! :)

Quadnozzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Nice way to combine the themes! I liked the shift in control style between forms. Couldn't manage to die or lose (either by getting stuck behind walls or by falling off the bottom of the screen), not sure if that's a bug or if you ran out of time to implement.

Skruffye says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:29am

Interesting game. The first level seems very buggy. Well, unless baby dragons can teleport through walls, in which case, never mind. :P Overall, it was surprisingly fun, good job.

kepons says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:42pm

An interesting take on well known game mechanics. Not sure if there were more than 4 levels so I stopped after a while on the 3rd.

tc4mpbell says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Agree that the play area could have been bigger -- coulda zoomed out by a lot and would've still worked.
In my first attempt I eventually just lost my dragon off the screen and he never came back, haha. Controls worked pretty well, otherwise!

wilbefast says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:55pm

I got pushed off the screen :'(

Simple but fun to play - all it needs now is a little polish I think, and maybe a lose condition while you fall off the map.

Good job :)

Ghen says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:30pm

is the dragon supposedly can't die?, or is it a bug?

veverichka says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Cute dragon, I also liked how it's mechanics changed a little every level :)

DecayConstant says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:38pm

Nice use of the two button theme! :)
I kept getting squished off the screen though and then there was no way to lose or restart.

Dayko says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 1:13pm

The structure and the different gameplays are very nice. It could gain greatly from debug & polish though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]