Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow the herd

by Jan Peter (jpdev) - Compo Entry

Grow the herd

You are Oberon and you like sheep. Sheep don't like you back.

Grow your herd (which is zero right now) by herding as many sheep into the starting area as you can within three minutes.

You can move using the cursor keys and bark using the space key.

Sheep will run from you. If you bark, they will notice you within a greater radius.

Good luck and have fun!

The last screenshot is a gif - but it will only play if you click the big picture (not just the thumbnail).

Here you can watch a timelapse of the making of the game: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j_js5MXBH-s

Obviously more then two buttons control the game - so I only chose the theme growing (as in growing your herd of sheep).

Infos:
Engine: lasted stable phaser (see http://phaser.io/)
Spriter-Engine: https://github.com/SBCGames/Spriter-Player-for-Phaser

art: Inkscape & paint.net
animations: Spriter
map-editor: Tiled
sound-editor: Audacity
texture packing: Texturepacker

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#219Graphics3.63
#224Humor2.95
#436Audio2.72
#512Innovation3.12
#567Fun3.04
#585Overall3.12
#598Mood2.80
#869Theme3.04
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

terop says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 5:33pm

The animations are such amazing piece of work, and the sounds are great. Great work.

Adolf Jong Un says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 5:45pm

amazing, love the animations!

Kouthem says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Love the animations on the dog! =D

Geukes Colin says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:54pm

The artstyle is very cute, really reminds me of those books I read as an infant. Love it. Animations are awesome, but I don't think this game belongs in Growing nor Two Buttons Control

TaoPhoenix says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:08pm

You can grow your herd!

But it's tricky, I only got a few sheep, it's really easy to get jammed into a corner (but they have bump detection) but in-game that top cul de sac next to the herd pen is really tricky.

madcoil says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Haha, the sounds! Meeehh.

Ovidios says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:33pm

The art was adorable but I don't think it was really exciting to play. It's also sometimes frustrating to get the sheep out of a corner.

icereci says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:36pm

fun game. somehow I got stuck on the top fence.

Andarilhoz says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Nice, but i guess its jsut too much for my gamer skills haha

loved the dog =)

SketchyGalore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:26am

I herd that!... Ahem... Good job!

rantt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:00pm

A little tricky but pretty fun. Graphics and animations were really nice. I enjoyed it, good job :)

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:49pm

The art is very cute and the gameplay is pretty fun. If I could give one tip, it would be that this game could use some nice background music.

Jesse Freeman says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Great take on the theme. Sounds are really funny. Controls felt a little off, especially trying to herd the sheep where you want them to go. Great game!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Pretty cool game. Could use some more mechanics though.

Wevel says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Love the sounds, very funny

thelasthour says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Nice game. I only got 5 sheep xD.

matiz982 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:34pm

The cutest sounds of sheep and barking <3

sergicollado says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:44pm

nice game

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:04pm

sheeeeps!!! like it)

Dege says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Art & animation are good. Sounds are very fun.

The viewport is far too zoomed in my opinion; in fact you made the minimap a key element, and I played all the time looking at the it. That's sad because you can play (looking the map) OOOORRR you can look at the cute graphics :) Zoom out the camera, and make the minimap less important, IMHO it should be just a tool to see where are remaining sheeps when you are near the end, not the main thing you look at while playing.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:05am

Game map is probably is a bit too big but I like the mechanics and the animations were well done.

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:25pm

It has a really nice look about it! And, is that proper sound acting that I hear? If so, quite impressive indeed. One quite big issue I had was that the browser didn't capture the arrow keys for me. That, together with a game screen much larger than my laptop window led to that I moved the entire window around together with the dog. Otherwise, seems like a solid game :)

psychonull says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Very nice game. Great graphics and sounds. Good job!!

Larzan says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:36pm

Haha, great idea, love the audio and gfx :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]