Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

GROWTH 2: The Growth Strikes Back

by fermenter - Compo Entry

Forgot about LD34 until there was 6.5 hours to go for the compo. Went super sonic and threw this together. Woo!

-----

There's an outbreak on Planet LD34. The Growth is back. It's up to you to hold them off. Your spaceship only has two buttons though, so we had to wire the accelerator and gun to your steering. Good luck!

Use single arrow keys to steer AND boost.
Use BOTH arrow keys to shoot.

How long can you hold off the Growth?

-----

Thanks!

FermenterGames.com
@FermenterGames

-----

update v2: less stupid hard, more polish. :)
Going to work a bit more on this later and make it REAL. Look for it on an App Store near you soon!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2073Coolness26%

Comments

fermenter says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:27am

Oh my gosh, it's way harder than I intended. Good luck! :P
Will update/balance tomorrow probably!

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:56pm

Very difficult, but really cool! :) (Someone likes Vlambeer. . . ;) )

fermenter says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:57am

Thanks for playing, pluberski. You caught me! Vlambeer fanboy alert. :D

Just put a more balanced/polished version on the itch.io page. :p

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Challenging game, very nice graphics (even if they are simple) I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/HyS0oGo3sGY

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Solid! very addictive. Good work on the movement.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Great entry very simple and yet very addicting :) Good job

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:39am

These are the strangest controls ever, but boy did I have fun :) Very well done.

Luxorix says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 6:06am

Hardcore, and my favorite GMS =)

themadknights says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:31am

Wow, this game is very hard but I loved it :). The controls are a bit awkward, I can't shoot without moving the ship at the same time. Good work!

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:37am

Really cool phisycs and smooth gameplay! I really liked it!

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 9:18am

Hey liked rhis. Its so diffwrent... also is playable yet hard. Liked graphics and movement. Waiting for chapter 8.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]