Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Viva Pájaro

by sugarbyte - Jam Entry

Viva Pájaro! (a loving ode to Viva Piñata)

Grow a jungle garden. Attract colorful birds. Catch the seeds they bring you, and plant new exotic species.

Programmed in Ceu-on-Pixi.js by @johnicholas.
Art by @sugarbyte.
Audio courtesy ambient-mixer.com.

Right/left click to control (sorry Mac users!)
Takes a moment to load, and may run slowly on older setups. Tested on Chrome.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#85Mood(Jam)3.92
#129Graphics(Jam)4.20
#167Theme(Jam)4.08
#390Overall(Jam)3.44
#444Innovation(Jam)3.24
#777Humor(Jam)2.10
#906Fun(Jam)2.63
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

Capitals says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:23am

Nice progression and atmosphere. However it lacked game play depth as most of was clicking and waiting. Good Luck!

Allthebees says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:32am

This game has a great feel. The ambient sound is great and the art is beautiful. Are the plants based off real plants? I really enjoyed playing the game.

tayl1r says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:26am

Relaxing!

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:27am

Very Zen game. Nice relaxing experience

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:02am

There is something about this game that is amazing! i was wowed by the graphics, the birds were amazing! i could not wait to see what plant was next, and same with the bird! you soooo need to make another version with more birds, more plants, and maybe animations for the birds and plants! GREAT JOB! i WILL play this again!

DecayConstant says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:39am

Matched the theme very well.

SiENcE says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Nice ambientation. Zen gardering :). Could you please speed up the progression. I waited several minutes and I only saw two plants, no birds. :-(

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:15pm

strange relaxing and addicting game! the mood is very good and idk why but i keep playing until all the different species of plants were born haha, good game!

Bobsleigh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Nice graphics, awesome atmosphere. Very scenic game. No real goal thought.

VladRusu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:01pm

How do you guys have time for such amazing graphics? If there's a secret, please share :))

Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:38pm

Nice atmosphere!

My plants would often decay extremely quickly, too quick for me to save them sometimes :(
Other than that it was a nice, relaxing experience.

You should definitely keep working on this!

JangoBrick says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Simple, but very nice. I like the looks, the screenshot already seemed inviting, the game itself felt great as well.
The ambience sound is nice. Gameplay is generally well done.
I guess the surroundings could have been a bit more interactive or animated in some way, but since time is limited, I really do not expect that.
Brilliant entry!

ALobker says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Spent 5 minutes waiting for something to happen, but it never did.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]