Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

SILooET

by Pantelis Petsopoulos - Compo Entry

Go through 24 challenging levels in the best possible time.
Please include your scores in the comments.

Controls:
Space to JUMP, DOUBLE JUMP, STOMP.
Shift to change direction.

Utility:
R to reload.
M to change volume.

Made for Ludum Dare 34.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#416Mood3.05
#467Audio2.66
#491Overall3.22
#586Fun3.00
#656Theme3.52
#731Graphics2.60
#788Innovation2.57

Comments

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:06am

Fun game, I enjoyed it, but I felt it was quite repetitive.

ceosol says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:28am

I was at 124. I played a few more and got up to 223. That was a fantastic game. I like how most of the levels were under 20 seconds long. You did a good job "teaching" us the mechanics.

merrak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:38am

Level progression felt very appropriate. The dramatic music is great--this game has a surprisingly dark mood.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:04am

Was simple yet a nice application of the theme and quite addicting when you get the difficult levels :)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:49am

Thanks guys!
@Warzone I have to admit that is something I wouldn't want my post compo version to have.

Aaants says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:37am

Really slick construction/polish. The controls stuck on me a bit but I'm going to blame my keyboard, not you :)

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:37am

Nice game, Very fun

RadMcCool says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:42am

Nice level design, got what was asked of me and a decent difficulty curve

prymidion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:43am

Very atmospheric-- the graphics and audio (and that creepy title screen!) work together well.

I found the gameplay simple to understand and enjoyable.

Well done!

Andarilhoz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:53am

Nice game, buta little repetitive, but i enjoyed play it =)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:54am

@RadMcCool Wow, thanks. It was my first time with this type of level design.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:55am

Nice mood and easy to understand game-play.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:09pm

The repetetive part was so that you are prepared for the difficult levels.

SayRafon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:14pm

The game is cool but not very innovating, and this TitleScreen is disturbing xD

Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:22pm

It's a new take on the controls which makes a normal platformer a runner while using two directions in 2D. I consider it kinda innovative. :S

epicTCK says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Really simple... and Im killing myself over how I could have done something this simple and still cranked out a good game with multiple levels. instead I went for the over-complex, custom pixel graphics and tried to get some enemies and combat in there.... great job for planning a game that you'd be able to make more than one level lol

MAB says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:51pm

nice idea but i think that the chnage of direccion is "no sense" in almost the first 8 levels, the concept is nice but maybe y prefer changin gravity than turn back. BTW nice ida and nice game

vedmich says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:54pm

Fun game with the nice learning curve and controls. It's just another runner game, though, nothing new. And graphics is pretty simple.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:54pm

Yea the first 8 levels are about learning to use space.

aemiliu5 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:56pm

Μαγκιόρης! Χαίρομαι που βλέπω κι άλλους Έλληνες στο Ludum Dare, συνέχισε έτσι! :)

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:56pm

fun but repetitive.
Plus I think it would be better if music didnt stop and start every time level is loaded.

JALgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:59pm

I really liked the simplicity of both the gameplay and the art style. I wish that the game had used the two-button mechanic in the earlier levels because thosse we're essentially one-button games and not really challenging.

Belug says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Enjoyed it, except for the timer it was good, but repetitive.

VladRusu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Really fun to play, wall jump mechanic reminded me of Super Meat Boy. I find it a bit hard to use the double jump. Cool music!

ss64games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Awesome game! Spent a lot of time with it, I think I had almost beat it but then I accidentally navigated away in my browser ):
I felt the difficulty ramping was on point for the first 10 levels or so, but later into the game it gets a little stale as there aren't new mechanics introduced. Still very impressive that you designed so many levels and I spent far more time on this game than I do most entries.
Not sure I bought into the moody black and white graphics and ominous music were a good fit for this game as I felt it was actually a bright experience mechanics-wise. That title graphic is great though!
Overall very impressive!

Andrei_S says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Nice game with fitting art.
If we could control the jump height by pressing the jump button longer or shorter those parts were we need to jump between two obstacles would be much easier.

MisterMortal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Quite fun, though I would have liked to see more graphics

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Well I wanted to keep it minimal so that there wouldn't be many distractions.

jomomomo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Nice job! Wish I knew what level I was on...

Optimus6128 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:06pm

Simple and fun game, although I kept losing at some point, because the first jump goes full regardless if I make short presses on space, so you end up on the rombus, especially stuck there at level 25.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:42pm

nice, clever puzzles, very moody, well done

NecroMac says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:40am

Good levels and minimal design. Good puzzle-platformer

kabel says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:24pm

The music is really great and matching, sadly every level is too short and is nothing more than a trail and error challenge. I guess this is due to the two button limitation. Otherwise nice job, it's good to have this many levels in a ludum game!

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 2:06am

Nice game, well done!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:15pm

Simple, well made game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/eBJmDbHq4GI

Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:46pm

This really controls perfectly. I love the solid feel and the stickyness on the walls is great. The eyes on the box are cute. The strongest parts of this are the perfect controls and the great level design. It seemed a little easy in the first few but the challenge ramped up and was very fun. Great job on this solid entry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]