Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

become a game developer in 60 seconds

by unprompted - Compo Entry

Having decided that 48 hours is far too long to create a game, the game creation process has been optimized to a mere 60 seconds of pressing only 1 and 0.

Create art. Make design decisions. Tweak sounds. When you're ready, test it. Share the game you made with your friends and enemies by sending them your generated custom URL. Make your own micro ldjam.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Innovation4.68
Coolness61%
#21Theme4.43
#43Overall4.02
#57Humor3.75
#70Fun3.85
#226Mood3.37
#326Audio2.99
#524Graphics3.02

Comments

davesoft says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 12:45am

A wonderful little game! I wish it had more levels, but alas, with such time constraints what can I expect? :)

TaoPhoenix says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 1:00am

Hysterical parody of the LD process!

It's a pity though that 60 sec is just a little too fast for me!

BigBrother says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 2:04am

SO AWESOME BUT I'M REALY BAD AT IT!

johntherobot says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 2:41am

Haha very clever!

Dec 13, 2015 @ 2:59am

Very, very clever and very well made. Had a lot of fun with it!

Dec 13, 2015 @ 3:07am

Wow

OdnetninI says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:15am

Very Good Idea :D

behzad_robot says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:36am

Clever!! I cant get anywhere near done in 60 seconds! >_<

printhello says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:00am

Pretty sick for only using two buttons. :)

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:06am

What the fuck!!!

Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:26am

Very cool

vortex says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:42am

This is wonderful... My game really sucked, but I'm so happy this exists

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:59am

This is so sick

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 11:25am

brilliant! well done :)

GGC_Language says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 11:40am

Cool game. Bit a bit hard to play

Dec 13, 2015 @ 12:20pm

VERY COOL CONCEPT

Dec 13, 2015 @ 1:19pm

I would rate 10/10 if the navigation system wasnt so clumsy.

joksnet says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Great game. The sound is a little annoying at the beginning cos is very high pitch.

Djimpey says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Awesome game! :)

munchor says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Really amazing concept, loved everything about it.

adrian09_01 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Pretty cool! A good concept and good game.

Gornova says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 4:37pm

not bad, concept is great, but 60 seconds for me are lost on design player and enemies

DivineOmega says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Incredible idea! I wonder how many LD34 entries will be made using this LD34 entry. ;)

SineGlitch says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Wow I did a lot with 0 and 1 very cool idea!

velddev says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Cool idea!

quacklemtduck says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Pretty cool, just wish there were more to it, but its a cool concept

cxsquared says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:13am

Really awesome and creative take on the theme. It's cool to see all the different combinations of things you can get.

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:38am

Said it before, Great game. overall 5/5

Charzendat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:24am

I wish I had more than 60 seconds to actually try and create something as it took me that long to figure out what was going on. But You get full marks for innovation

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:12pm

Holy hell, this is... How do you even make something like this? It's amazing! The thought of creating a game with two buttons is... And it actually functions!

fishbrain says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:26pm

cool!!

Luke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:42pm

wow now I'm a professional game developer!!!

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:43pm

incredible and intelligent game very polished and fun one of the best so far, good job!

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Wasn't sure what to do at first, but this is a really cool idea, haha.

Andarilhoz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Lol, that was amazing, 10/10 would buy on steam haha

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Gonna use this next LD to make 2880 games. Thanks!

napoleon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Whoa, this is really good!!

daandruff says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Really cool game! Will use this next LD :D

psychomonster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Really nice idea to alter the game with only 2 buttons like that... nice idea. +1 innovation :)

MikeTsunami says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:19am

Really like the idea around this. Has a lot of potential to be made into something bigger with even more customization!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Cool idea, took me a while to work out what was going on. Liked drawing the sprites with two buttons!

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:30pm

The idea is just super cool. Minimalistic style too. One of the best games!

g12345 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:24am

Short and Simple.

deathray says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:10am

Great game! Wonderful use of the theme, and I love how you let the user be creative.

logon13 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:18am

Interesting game :D

rjhelms says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:27am

Most meta game of them all.

SpareWizard says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:40am

I made a level where you picked up a bunch of coins, but there was an enemy disguised as a coin, and there was no attack or jump.

It's a mastapeece.

Remicy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:55am

Amazing concept!! Enjoy it very much!!

thelasthour says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:02am

This is amazing! What a genius idea. And perfect execution. Bravo!

banana4life says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:02am

Cool idea

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:49am

Really cool game, well done !

Tuism says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:29pm

I feel like there're bugs in here, sometimes the 1 or the 0 wouldn't get picked up.

A cool little set of interesting bits, well executed, but no real metric for challenge? It's not a "real game" :P

felixreeve says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:33pm

Brilliant concept, really enjoyed the idea and thought the execution was pretty good too! I think this could be expanded into an entire game!

MintArcade says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Very cool concept - always wanted to make something like that :D 5 Star game!

Bobrocket says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:51pm

This is really cool :p It'd be nice to have less of a time restraint though haha

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Loved the idea.

deadpixl says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:19pm

I made the worst game! But this game is super cool and fun!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Pssst - You've been featured on today's Ludum Dare to Believe! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E44U-Zq5y_A

DragonXVI says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:59pm

It's a nifty idea :P Hilariously obtuse and minimalist UI - Could work well as a sort've daft party game

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:10pm

FANTASTIC. AMAZING. YES, IN CAPS. I'M YELLING.

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:54pm

This is insanely clever! There is a surprising amount of creativity from just two buttons and the mechanics of this is really well made. The audio is a bit annoying but that could be from how simple the generation of it is.

Definitely a superb job nonetheless!

Wevel says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Amazing little game, great work

Pusty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:28pm

This is amazing. I just wrote a game in 60 seconds
Also I'm amazed by the suggestion bar lol

Zarkith says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:34pm

This is so brilliant I'm nearly speechless.

I'd normally rate low for audio like this, but it's exactly what it needs to be and anything more I feel would ruin the experience.

sputnik says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:03pm

just WOW!

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:05am

What a crazy concept! I really liked it!

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:31am

extremely clever, very original, and overall super unique!

[one thing tho, my numpad doesn't get registered while playing games, only while making them, strange :\]

great job! :)

anael says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:12am

wow, nice concept !

OnionBlaze says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:37am

Fun little game :)

freaknarf says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Haahahhaha awesome !
very fun and creative idea.
the HURRY UP SHIP IT part is more realistic than GTA :]

scorched says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Fun idea, would be better having numpad 0 and 1 work not only in menus ;)

veverichka says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Had a lot of fun playing it :D

randomhuman says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:46pm

Ha ha, brilliant idea! It was like doing the jam all over again!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Good idea. I wish to make games as quickly ! :P

Grahhhhh says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:48am

Wow, really solid entry. Fantastic job.

klianc09 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Really hilarious concept and it's really charming. I would just wish I wouldn't always accidentally overwrite my player sprite by holding '0'.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Ahah I made a buggy game (dying right after spawn), so bit frustrated but very interesting entry.

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 1:42am

Wow, full marks for innovation, this is really impressive!
Does the time limit actually do anything? I got an out of time warning but kept making the game with no issues.
Great work!

euske says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 5:07pm

This is a universal game!

dreamlogician says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 6:10pm

Nice implementation of an amusing concept. ^_^

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:25pm

Wonderful idea. Really interesting,good job !!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]