Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Galbanic Murdered

by Sokar92 - Jam Entry

The fate of your birthday is in danger. Run and fight to achieve your dreams.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#389Theme(Jam)3.80
#394Graphics(Jam)3.67
#603Innovation(Jam)3.00
#879Fun(Jam)2.67
#892Overall(Jam)2.87
#2001Coolness30%

Comments

Sokar92 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:01am

14 seconds remaining ... We hope you like it

Sokar92 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:43am

Oh! one hour left??

DecayConstant says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:08am

Happy Berday!!!

johntherobot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:12am

Good job! Animations were solid and the overall look was really nice. A couple of nitpicky things: one time I respawned with no chance of jumping at all (the animation was a little off, too) and I didn't understand how to beat the boss so I jumped over him and won the game.

Overall though, it's got a great look and it's a solid start!

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:15am

controls didn't seem solid to me. cool concept though.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:19am

The graphics look nice, but you should really write the controls down on the page-- I can't remember all the combos without writing them down.

Krafty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:14am

Great game! Really liked the use of the two buttons.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Certain jumps where you have to do multiple in a row seem almost impossible unless you hit them just right.

jdoughty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:54am

The platforming felt like it had weight to it and the combo system was interesting, but making the combos more accessible would go a long way. Love the over all concept!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:39am

Animation was good, but the controls were a bit tricky, especially the jump delay. The combos add variety, but they are hard to remember.

loxo says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:02pm

I really like the great graphics and animations! When I first started the game I didn't saw the screen with the controls because the screen wasn't waiting for another keypress, maybe I pressed Z to often before that screen. So I assumed that I can use the cursor keys and played through the game in a few seconds. Then I saw the screenshot with the controls and tried to play again. It would be great if you would integrate a tutorial in the game so that it's easier to learn the controls, at the moment it seems to complicated.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]