Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Dice Tower of Babylon

by Zarkith - Compo Entry

*All screenshots taken in Tabletop Simulator
TABLETOP SIMULATOR IS NOT REQUIRED! YOU CAN PLAY THIS IN REAL LIFE!

Second time I made a tabletop game for the compo, but this time it isn't complicated out the ass!

This is a dice game for upwards of 2 players. The only limit is the number of dice you have, which is 10 per player.

The objective is to construct and grow a tower of dice to reach the tabletop heavens, home of our lord and savior RNGesus. To do this, players must place dice equal to the last digit of the sum of the two adjacent dice beneath it.

Everyone places one dice at a time, or rolls a new one if they have no moves, until either one player has ran out of dice, no one is able to make a valid move, the tower is completed (almost impossible), or the tower is accidentally destroyed.

More in-depth rules can be found inside the TTS mod and in the Print & Play link.

IF YOU DON'T WANT TO MAKE THE CUSTOM DICE, YOU CAN USE REGULAR D6'S AND PLAY THE GAME IN BASE 6 INSTEAD OF BASE 10!

Speaking of the custom dice, their faces were randomly generated so that of the 10 in the set, no two are the same and every digit from 0 to 9 shows up exactly 6 times.


TL;DR It's kinda like UNO, but with dice.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#148Innovation3.73
#274Humor2.83
#313Overall3.45
#324Fun3.36
#526Graphics3.00
#589Mood2.81
#796Theme3.26

Comments

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:44pm

I really like the idea of having the game be built in TableTop Sim. :)

StaNov says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:30pm

I don't get it... how do I play it? Do I have to download the Tabletop Simulator? Can I play it in single-player?

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:33pm

awesome, cool and creative tabletop game, nice job!

Zarkith says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:39pm

@StaNov This is a dice game that needs real life physical dice on a real life physical table to play.

Tabletop Simulator is a physics sandbox game that has tools to simulate real life physical table games.
It's only required to play this if you cannot physically print out enough of my custom dice, or don't have enough spare regular dice lying around your house.

peterthehe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:07pm

This game is very special. I've rated this highly in innovation.

SadSmile says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Would play in real life. Good job !

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:22pm

I dig this. I don't have a large stack of friends to play this with right now, but I do have a bunch of d6, so I had a play solo. A circular tower is a satisfying shape to build out of cubes.

I almost wonder if I'd be having even more fun if I'd just been tower building, and not having to do base 6 math too.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:48pm

And now for something completely different lol... Honestly, I would absolutely love to play this game IRL. It's like jenga meets dominos meets yahtzee with some math sauce on the side. Get this shiz on kickstarter already bruh.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Nice Idea! awesome game

refreshgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Hey there, firstly, this looks like a pretty cool game, I'll have to go and grab some dice so I can rate it in the future, then have a game or two with the kids, except one of them is only 2 so, she'll probably lose straight away, still, I've downloaded the rules will put my scores on there post-gaming sesh :P

Also, thanks for the bug report on my game, I couldn't see why it was being caused for the life of me whilst developing it!

icereci says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Very interesting idea to build the game in Table Top Simulator. I didn't recognize the TTS at first glance, and I was like, how is this compo?? clearly the art is borrowed :)
Nice game. Didn't watch the entire video but got the general idea.

tintreas says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:12pm

I can't figure out how to download it! Looks like fun though x

Saivan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:13pm

All hail to the Tabletop supporters!

Neonlare says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:41am

Impossible for me to play this as I don't have TableTop Simulator. Isn't this pushing the definitions a little bit? Possibly not, but I can't give this any reviews on account of not having Tabletop Simulator, bummer :(.

Tuism says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:12am

I haven't got tabletop sim so that's a problem, but I do have a bunch of dice, so I'd be keen to try this physically sometime :)

I see the print and play, I guess I'll have to see how I can duplicate that onto my physical dice (cos no way I'm hand-building 10x number of players dice by hand).

Kudos :)

Zarkith says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:04am

@Neonlare It's not impossible if you have a printer, scissors, and glue. ;)

fullmontis says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:18pm

This is a really cool and original concept. I like it.

SayRafon says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:11pm

That's really a professionnal game ! well done !

Louspirit says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Not sure this is adapted to the game jam concept...

Anti says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:39pm

Really creative, liked it! ;)

nihilaleph says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:42pm

Pro:
+ Very innovative concept
+ Looks really fun (didn't actually play it, just watched the video)
Obs:
o Really cool to have a TableTop Sim game, would play IRL

Awesome work!

ZpeedTube says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:09am

Very creative! :)
And cool that you also made the file for 3d printing, migth try to 3d print it some time in the future. ^^

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]