Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Cell

by BROWNY_09 - Jam Entry

Based off the popular game Agar.io. Cell is a puzzle game where you have to eat all the red dots in each level to complete it. Each time you eat a red dot you grow larger in size.

You can complete levels with trial and error or plan out your route to be able to collect all the dots without growing too large and getting yourself stuck.

Made with Unity

UPDATE 1: Teleports are now numbered and have sounds when you go through them.

UPDATE 2:Thanks for the feedback everyone. If I were to do this again I would probably make the movement click based instead of always moving towards the mouse. As for the teleporters I would probably have the player paused for a moment after passing through a teleport to give them time to actually realise what happened. Lastly I would increase the players speed or have the ability to scroll the mouse wheel to change your speed (limited of course).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#491Theme(Jam)3.70
#532Fun(Jam)3.14
#682Overall(Jam)3.14
#799Innovation(Jam)2.70
#1001Graphics(Jam)2.05
#1727Coolness40%

Comments

mxjones says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Cool game, nice idea and enjoyable to play.

Donar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:39am

Since this is a Jam entry, my ratings have to be a bit harder than for a compo entry. It seems like you chose the Jam for an extra day and to not upload your source code but anyway, you could've used downloaded assets in the Jam, that would make the game probably a bit more enjoyable.

It might be fun to play but when teleporters were introduced, the game got a bit annyoing. There is no way to tell which teleporter leads to which other teleporter and the cell often just runs straight back through the teleporter, since it follows the mouse - in the worst case you crash into a wall because of that. You could've color coded the teleporters or something like that, so the player knows where to quickly move the mouse to.

It also would be a nice addition to add a "speed" key, because it's pretty slow, which is fine in some cases but in an open area that doesn't require precision, it's rather annoying.

The idea is nice, the implementation needs some improvement though. You already stated that it's based off agar.io, so there also isn't much innovation but it is quite fitting to the theme.

I don't know the reason why you entered the Jam instead of the Compo but my rating would be much better for a Compo entry.

KoalaBot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Very cool! I love the level design requiring you to plan your route before starting. The teleporters were pretty frustrating since you have a very limited time to move the mouse after discovering where the teleporter dumped you. Overall, it was very fun!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:47pm

cool and creative puzzle system, well done

Optimus6128 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Cool idea, especially in the teleports where you just have to rapidly move the mouse pointer, or plan ahead. I never thought such a simple mechanic with very simple visuals could make such a fun game.

Andrei_S says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:40pm

Well executed. The teleport mechanic is a little unexpected, but it's ok since you understand it.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:02pm

funny game) Good luck!

Switchiers says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Oh yeah very pleasant to play your game!
Good mechanics, graphics are very simple but still in the theme, good job!
My only regret is the absence of a menu, to select level instead of doing it all over again. (Or I didn't find it and I'm just stupid x)

mf1214 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Fun game! Teleporters were a bit awkward though. It was hard to control the direction of the green circle after teleporting but maybe that was the point.

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:50am

Fun little game. My only 2 small nitpicks are that I found the max movement speed a tad bit too slow for my taste, and the teleporters were sometimes hard to use since the mouse position remained in its old position, sometimes pulling the ball in and out of the teleport.

Ulydev says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:51am

A nice little game combining Agar.io and World's Hardest Game mechanics. Good job!

mxjones says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Cool little puzzle game, quite fun to play except for when going through a teleport and running straight back into it because that's where my mouse is! But you've already put an update about this :)

Was fun to play, good job!

camlang says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Nice little game. You need to add some background music to relaxation:) Very good entry! Well done!

Dec 29, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Simple, but well made. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/EztdlDzFrUE

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]