Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

They Call It Lucy

by kiv - Compo Entry

The game is about something in the sky.
Grow trees between worlds to catch that something. Control the environment by collecting other worlds inside your home planet.

Click a planet and see how it affects your trees and other stuff. Click your home planet to make a tree grow faster. Click everything.

It sounds. Sound is important. The game will be better with headphones.

Esc to exit.

----

The game also avaliable on http://kiv.itch.io/lucy. I will publish post-ludum updates there.

Share your space views and sounds on twitter and let me know (@kiv_here)!

----

WARNING! If you have epileptic attacks or something like this, please don't run the game.

----
They saw something beautiful in the sky.
They desired to own it.
They were powerful enough to move planets and destroy stars.
They decided to reach it.

They call it Lucy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#122Graphics3.92
#148Innovation3.73
#191Audio3.32
#235Mood3.35
#346Theme3.89
#388Overall3.35
#448Humor2.43
#586Fun3.00

Comments

Dyn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Crazy awesome game. Interesting approach to the themes.

bradur says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:03pm

I... I think I reached Lucy.

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:21pm

I don't know what to say.. It's amazing. The gameplay is great, and the art style combined to him is THE touch that will conquire heart of the player :D

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Wow this is awesome! Great graphics and wonderful audio!.And really trippy, i like that.
Sometimes I thought I was doing it right, but after a while the plant still died, so i'm still not sure how to win the game.

Good job!

gv1351 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Great game!

kuhnerdm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:39pm

I... didn't like it. I get that you're trying to go for some kind of aesthetic, but you need to remember that it's a game, and games need to have at least some level of intuition.

Oh, and clicking the base planet several times in a row makes the game lag to the point of not being playable.

vinipereira says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:41pm

I dont really understand the meaning of the game at all... I was unable to get the point of it.

LittleThor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Well ... OK!
I am not totally sure of what I just played, but, the mood is so good! The art style and the sound are awesome!
Good work!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:48pm

That's the most strange thing I've ever played. Fantastic entry, awesome art and sound, 100% theme hit. I think I've found some kind of pattern, but maybe it's just illusion

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:28am

Very interesting. I could not tell if this was a game or interactive art. Or maybe it was both. Very "out of this world" graphics.

My tree did die once, but a new tree grew. However, it reached a certain height till it stopped growing. I clicked on many things, but didn't completely understand the meaning of them. Although I did start avoiding the black planets because I think they killed the first tree, or so I think.

The game did lag, but I don't know if that was a bug or intentional...

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:16pm

I had no idea what was happening, some instructions or feedback would've been nice.

kostak says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Master graphics and good soundtrack. Gameplay not bad.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:38pm

I love games that make you explore to find the mechanics. Sadly, I ended up beating this without any understanding of the game other than the two planets that make you rotate.

Great visuals and sound.

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:37pm

WTF did I just play :) anyway! fun or something

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:56pm

The gameplay is too confusing, I can't understand how to reach the big planet). Don't know whether this game need it at all. The game is good as a portal to the immersive atmosphere, and from this point of view very successful. Anyway, i like it.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:03pm

trippy.

bwatanabe says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 1:39am

Really odd and beautiful experience. Thanks!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]