Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Keep Growing

by JangoBrick - Jam Entry

THEME: Growing

This is a game about a tree.
First, there was the seed. Then, there was the sapling. And so on.

And during all of that, there were the dangers of nature.
Defend your tree!



CONTROLS
A mouse is needed. You play with the left mouse button. Scroll bar will also be useful, or you can use W/S or up/down arrow keys.

REQUIREMENTS
- Java, at least 1.7
- Screen resolution of at least 1280x720 (16:9 is a must, otherwise you get a weird aspect ratio thing going on)



Worked on this thing for about 40 hours total. Code & soundtracks were done by me (JangoBrick), art was done by a friend of mine who'd like to stay anonymous.
Big shoutout to her! Great work, if you ask me!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#350Theme(Jam)3.85
#397Mood(Jam)3.35
#404Audio(Jam)3.22
#475Overall(Jam)3.36
#482Innovation(Jam)3.19
#594Graphics(Jam)3.30
#669Humor(Jam)2.36
#787Fun(Jam)2.81

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Nice graphics, and very nice game

illraceyou says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:30am

That music... this game is scary

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Those damn bettles! I felt the urge to kill them :) Good job

Gipzo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:51pm

A nice game you have! Atmosphere is great, thanks to sound and music and the growth theme is revealed nicely. But it would be great if you could've invented a unique mechanic for every stage, not just click and drag.

Yvanor says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Beautiful game, with a lot of gameplay change. Well done. ^^

tantumgames says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Not a bad game, but the gameplay is simplistic, not enough details.

phi says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Wonderful graphics! Especially the part with the lightning.
Unfortunately I couldn't defend the tree against the lightning… Overall good job!

Louspirit says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Good mechanics :) enjoyable game

AAGH Games says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 12:03pm

This was pretty impressive, especially the music, which really set the mood. As someone who doesn't like storms, the "lighting round" was particularly affecting.

The click and throw controls felt a little sticky at times when the beetles would only get moved but not thrown. This became particularly troublesome when their numbers rose and success required faster mouse movements.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 12:11pm

me and this tree have been through a lot together, but we survived within

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Nice game! I'm proud of my tree =)

Hackbug says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 2:58pm

At the begin i feel the game very boring with all insects, but after with the time i feel your game really poetic and beautifull ;)

Really good ! :D

Geti says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:13am

Only complaint is it made my laptop turn into a lap warmer :D Very nice concept and game. I love these one-session-wonders each LD.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]