Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Hardware Snake

by Knowledge - Compo Entry

Collect green light and grow.

Game I made with Arduino Uno.

You just need to connect 1-9 on arduino to led matrix row pins, 10-13 and A0-A3 with matrix columns pins. I have positive currency for columns, if you have different just swap all HIGH with LOW and vice versa.

Connect buttons with pins A4 and A5 like here: https://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/Pushbutton .

When you die game will stop for 1 second and then restart. Green light may appear in you!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#390Innovation3.30
#538Mood2.89
#586Fun3.00
#602Overall3.10
#860Theme3.05
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

mockthebear says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Oh damn. i think i lost my led matrix :C

davesoft says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Haha, let me find my arduino. I could emulate it, but where's the fun in that? :)

v01pe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Haha, nice! I would love to have a LED matrix now :D

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:09am

nice game!

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Fat respect for making an Arduino game! I wish I could play, don't have an A myself :/

felixreeve says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Aw, wish I could play with an arduino!

SayRafon says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:37pm

The game is ,let's say, "poor" but OH MY GOD IT'S WORKING ON ARDUINO xD

Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Wish I had the components around to try this :(

Mantlair says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:46pm

Seriously, I wish I had a led matrix. I have an Arduino UNO in my closet. But yeah, life. Well done though!

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Uh. The only reason this game is interesting is the fact that it's for an arduino. Which it doesn't really have to be, either. Other than that this seems to be a minimal-effort snake clone. Sorry :/

pixzleone says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Awesome, now i gotta build!

johnnwfs says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:32pm

I ran this on the Arduino emulator by virtronics (http://virtronics.com.au/Simulator-for-Arduino.html) but it had no LED emulator. I could see the pins light up but the emulator didn't have the matrix LED so I won't rate. Cool that you contributed an Arduino project!

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 6:31pm

This is something you don't see a lot of on LD. I took my time and assembled this monstrosity and played it! I had fun assembling "the thing", although I think a schematic would help less experienced people! Overall, great job, at trying to make something different

Knowledge says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:37pm

@Aurel Bílý: it's intended to be nothing special, just an exercise because I had quite a lot other stuff to do that weekend (I even thought I'd make no game for Ludum Dare but I *accidentally* did).

Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:16pm

I don't have an arduino :(

Rex Peppers says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:47pm

Cool!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]