Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Legend of Da'addad

by DecayConstant - Jam Entry

You are Da'addad, a master warrior with frequent recurrent amnesia! Mash the 'A' and 'D' keys to discover your abilities and defeat your opponent before he defeats you or your next bout of amnesia kicks in!

Exclamation points!!!

We'd love to hear your comments and criticism!

By:
Seth Bicknell - @DecayConstant
Paul Stevenson
Eric Nelson

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#218Theme(Jam)4.02
#230Innovation(Jam)3.53
#375Humor(Jam)2.89
#562Audio(Jam)2.89
#602Fun(Jam)3.05
#705Overall(Jam)3.12
#778Mood(Jam)2.84
#914Graphics(Jam)2.48

Comments

novadream says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:45am

I'm the Paul who helped work on this. This was the second Ludum Dare that I've been a part of (and I already can't wait for the third). :D

Riagan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:58am

Post your time and game mode (hard/easy) to see how you rank against other Players! My time: 5.6 seconds left on Easy mode. Not my best time, but a win is a win!

-Riagan (A.K.A Eric Nelson, Contributor to The Legend of Da'Addad)

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:51am

Congrats, it got me addicted

LavWa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:55am

Nice use of the theme !!! Cool addictive game :)

Fathom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:08am

Neat. I like the idea of discovering combos. Great music too!

fistmaker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:10am

Fun game! Audio made my ears bleed because it was too loud, but otherwise a interesting take on the two button theme. Great entry!

BROWNY_09 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:13am

This was pretty cool. I have to admit it was pretty confuing at first but I quickly got the hang of it and beat Sven with 2.2 seconds left. Very nice work!

Troma says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:01am

Good idea, bad execution.

Andrei_S says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:39pm

I agree with Troma. Good idea: the way you approach the theme, the urgency atmosphere. Bad execution: the UI/HUD in general could be cleaner, giving more and better highlight to what is more important. At first sight I did not understand everything that was going on, there is lot of information on screen.

novadream says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Thanks for the input Andrei_S, and I know where you're coming from. We wanted the confusion of not knowing what is going on in the beginning to be an element of the gameplay, but the UI could certainly use some polish. We were working on getting everything functional right until the end and I'm sure many of you know the feeling of "If only we had one more day". :P

Jelinib says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:18am

Really interesting combat system! The way the moves are randomized helps to add replayability. First time, I squeezed by with .5 seconds left or something, and the second time, I had 6.x seconds. Probably both Easy mode, I think.

For a while, I thought I was the blue guy, only because I'm so used to being on the left side from all my gaming as Player 1, haha.

Dat music is pretty kickass doe. And it's quite entertaining to read the combat messages to find out you did something pretty bad, or stupid even, LOL! Nice job!

Nicolas Gass says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Loved it, but you need balancing some elements.

Reccy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:08am

Cool game! :)
But the UI is a bit confusing.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:18am

Good idea for theme. Fun game, nice.

jdoughty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:34am

Interesting concept. I like seeing games that encourage exploring and trying things, and this did that front and center. Very nice!

Stending says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 10:50am

Awesome concept oO
Loved to discover every attack and effect, pretty cool design!
Congratulations :)

Aaranos says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:39pm

Pretty much how to play any fighter game, pick buttons and hope its good, at least at the start. My first pick was to waste a potion haha.

awesomerex says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 12:59am

Fun Concept guys! I liked the randomized moves. Really fun mechanic.

davekalina says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:36am

Really interesting design and I like the non-obvious approach to the two-button theme. The game degenerates a bit once you discover a weakness in your opponent, and the UI is ultra messy, but it's clever and has real personality overall. The time pressure also has an interesting effect where you feel like you have to rush your combos, which can lead to errors if you're not careful.

kardfogu says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:01pm

The theme got nailed, that's for sure.
Graphics are among the highlights I guess, the audio is simple, but catchy.

The problem is, that this kind of randomness ruins the whole game completely, it discourages the player from trying to find all the moves.

Anyways, keep up the good work!

- Kardfogú

NightShadow0 says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:39am

Haha points for humor for sure, the title alone is brilliant. Clever idea, if a little chaotic; took me a while to figure out what exactly was happening, i expected my character to be on the left and the newest messages to be on the bottom. I did manage to barely defeat Bart on easy with .6 seconds to spare. Nice work!

Riagan says ...
Jan 7, 2017 @ 8:48pm

If anyone checks this out and is wondering what is going on with us. Novadream (Paul) and I are working on a game that we are hoping to release at the end of the month called "Board Game: The Video Game". It will probably be available on itch.io and (we hope) steam. Thanks, everyone, for the helpful feedback! (also I have some other game jam-esque games on fortuneless1.itch.io right now! but they suck, lol).

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]