Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

grow

by shaulor - Compo Entry

grow - a Tile-based Builder Game

refer to the ingame help for questions, cancel building with right-click
sorry if the end of the game is a little underwhelming but i ran out of time :)
balance might also be questionable ^^

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#412Fun3.24
#502Overall3.21
#649Graphics2.80
#656Theme3.52
#681Innovation2.79
#693Humor1.59
#740Mood2.55

Comments

Evannex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:36am

Other than the font being a little small to read, I love it! It's the first game in my folder of games to play more of later ^_^ Great job it's fun!

tazdij says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:43am

it was a little difficult to figure out was produced the different resources.

yumaikas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:46am

On a laptop screen, that font is *really* hard to read. Also, build a money maker first, otherwise you're stuck.

The game has some potential.

bushmango says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:58am

Boy those controls are awkward, but I blame the theme ^.^ Cute graphics. I would have liked if your guy could go faster.

Halleflux says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:35am

A bit small, but I think I'm going to have this open for a while on my desktop ^.^

bushmango says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:05am

Whoops I rated the wrong game initially, got confused, sorry. I like these games! There was a lot of waiting though, then a lot of clicking. Still addicting.

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:21am

The font is very hard to read as the others already pointed out. It would be also nice to have tooltip showing what each of the building do, I didn't know trees has to build next to the wells for example. Also it seems to be very easy to run out of money if I don't know what I'm doing in the beginning. With that say, the graphics is very lovely and fits the them very well. I will definitely play more of this game if you continue working on this a bit more :) I've done strategy games twice before and I know it is extremely time consuming to make one so well done!

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:25am

A game for ants. :D Nice work, although like others have said, all the stuff is waaaayyy too small. I had to bend over my desk and press my nose against the screen to see what's happening!

fakefrogsonly says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Nicely implemented, could have done with larger font size for text and some sounds.

shiny says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Was really cool, never got really far. But it was great fun. :D

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:36am

Really hard to understand what to do. But seemed fun on the long run too.

2pae says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:43am

Very moddy, i love the little history and the concept of the game.

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:18am

Hi, nice to meet you, I'm your target market. Seriously, I spent an uncomfortable amount of time on this game. Well done. I wish the beginning wasn't so... click-spammy, but otherwise, this has the makings for a great game, perhaps with some enemies and larger text. ;) For an LD entry though, this was fantastic!

Jace239 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:42am

It has potential but it takes a bit too long to get anywhere, so I couldn't afford the time to keep playing.

I also thought the instructions were too small, difficult to read and not well organized. I ended up spending my resources in a way that I couldn't proceed any further due to running out. This could have been prevented if the bulldoze option gave you resources back.

Nonetheless, if I fully understood the way to play it and I had more time, I think I'd enjoy the game. I do like games like these. If you continue work on it and would like me to look at it again, feel free to let me know and I will when I have a chance.

It's apparent you put a lot of work into it, so good job and good luck with future projects. ^^

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:43am

I have clicked everything.. there is no feedback and I have no clue what the game is about.

blurryroots says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Awesome game. Played for about an hour to completion. Wished it had some sound effects and a bit more feedback to what each building needs and does. But that's how it is in compo xD I really liked the effect when you clicked on a building and the little text popped up and faded away. Great entry ;9

el_kloklo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Took me 3 try to understand the resource management (clicking on resources)
Good job, but a bit slow to my taste, maybe the mine giving the double should speed up the game without click frenesy.

hadesfury says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Arrg you want to kill my mouse ...

Auto collect is the best upgrade ...

Great game in such a short time ...

I played it too much ...

Need to increase game speed

Your game is too small .. and font also .. this is my main concern

congrat

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]