Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Super Lefty Garden Fighty

by hexagore - Compo Entry

Plant a garden by murdering cauliflower monsters, twitch reflex style. When monsters get in range (GREEN LIGHTNING!), press left or right to attack them. Missing makes you easier to hit, and you lose your combo.

Killing monsters lets you plant instant growing trees which give you 1 hit point back.

So... theme used for these were Growing AND Two Button Controls.


Controls:
In the menu it's cursors/enter or gamepad
In the game it's L1 and R1 on a gamepad, or Z + X, or Left Cursor + Right Cursor, or Left Mouse and Right Mouse.

FACTS:

- Yes I sort of copied that game but I did it in a totally different style and I added the amazing HP giving tree mechanic, which is super boss, plus it's pixel art now.
- Trees are great, aren't they?
- Made with my own custom JS/WebGL engine.
- I used Sublime Text, Photoshop, Pyxel Edit, Reason, Audacity, Audition, Melodyne to make this
- The name comes from the fact that the first game I ever made was "Super Lefty Righty" and this is like that except with fighting and gardening. That was also a two button controls game.

UPDATE:

I added a standalone, downloadable windows build. It works in the Itch app if you're into that (I'm totally into that)

REMEMBER KIDS: GREEN LIGHTNING! GREEN! LIGHTNING!!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#11Graphics4.52
#45Audio3.90
#91Mood3.74
#99Overall3.82
#133Theme4.13
#159Fun3.63
#240Humor2.90
#634Innovation2.89

Comments

pixelguff says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:29am

Congrats on finishing! :)

sydan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:55am

Really original idea. The art is fantastic and the game feels fluid! Congrats!

freddyw9 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:20am

Looks great, sounds great, plays great, great job.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:44am

Nice. One of the overall most solid entries I've seen so far.

Lizzip says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:53pm

I made some trees! This game looks and plays great, damn you

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Beautiful, fun little game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/aHYNcWsg9Wg

rockford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Hey... What can I say... Amazing! Nice and solid.

peterthehe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:14pm

The graphics were great. One of the best entries I've rated so far

SadSmile says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:14pm

This is like a much better version of my game xD

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Fantastic visuals and audio, and addictive gameplay, what more can you wish!

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Beautiful! Love the death animation. Really fun.

seththefirst says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Holy smokes dude... What a sexy pixel art... =)
I would like to create something 50% like that... hahahaha
Nice game, and nice gameplay. I just don't get the relation between kill monsters and grow trees.

Anyway, congratz... =)

rantt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Art and music are fantastic, a very polished game. Really enjoyed this one, great job!

hexagore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:37pm

seththefirst: I dunno. The monsters are made out of a super awesome fertilizer or something.. and when you kill enough... I dunno. Whatever :)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Cool game, nice look and very solid.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Great! Especially loved visuals.

floppya says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Really well-polished effort here. Graphics are especially great. Not sure if it's a bug: it seems like the trees I plant interfere with my attack. I may have missed it, but a way to replay without refreshing the page would've been nice.

hexagore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:27pm

You just press enter to play again. Or if you're on a gamepad just press A. :)

sputnik says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Really nice action game! awesome graphics and music!

someone says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Beautiful art and great music to go with it.
Well polished and tight controls. A great entry.
I still don't know what I was fighting though. With the fast movement and noise of the background it was hard to actually see what they were.
Also all my trees ended up stacking up at almost the same spot.

pi_pi3 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Hexagore does Ludum Dare = Hexagore wins Ludum Dare
Hexagore wins Ludum Dare = Hexagore wins life

hexagore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:26pm

pi_pi3 .. you may be thinking of the other more famous, cleverer and better at ludum dare gore that's not me :)

Ithildin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Fun and very polished, a great entry!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Wonderful!! Nicely done.
There is a lot of downtime in the game where you just stand and wait for them to come. I think that their spawn frequency needs some tweaking :). Also, if I press Left or Right when no one is on the screen the game tells me "Missed" and I think it resets my combo meter. Kinda confusing.

Docjekyll says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:50pm

great pixel work

hexagore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Anshul Goyal - yes, it's so that you can't button mash to victory :)

Allthebees says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:59am

The graphics and animation is incredible for this game! The music is great too!

recursor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:57am

It plays nicely on my Android tablet so +1 for that. The pixel art and sounds are well done. More enemy types and perhaps some power ups would be nice for post-compo additions.

LandoSystems says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:05am

Nice game, way to get in both themes!

dvdfu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:13am

FANTASTIC all around! The game's simplistic but very compelling, not to mention great graphics and audio. Also great way to use both themes.

torcado194 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:17am

wow this was neat! I love the art and visuals, and the music is pretty good too. I only wish there was more to do!

alvaromartin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:37am

Damn I loved this game, definitely one of my favorites! 5

jackrugile says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:51am

Damn you gore, of the hexa persuasion. You've done it again. I LOVE the graphics on this one and am super jelly of your custom JS/WebGL engine. You win the internet. Your games always bring me joy, that is all.

esayitch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:21am

Great entry! Very polished and well-rounded in almost every way, graphics are great, sound is suitable, and gameplay feels smooth and well-tuned.

Good luck!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:25am

141 score, 102x combo I think. Was there a victory condition? It seemed to get faster and harder but I wasn't sure what ot aim for.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:25am

The graphics and audio were quite good, by the way.

Sam Twidale says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:49am

Great scene and mood, solid all round. Impressed by the load time, that's a nice lightweight custom engine.

Only negative is that it froze up at 1hp for me with "Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'position' of null" during my first game, but I played more and it was fine.

hexagore says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:53am

Haha :) Sam, someone noticing the load time has made me very happy! Someone finding a bug.... Less so :p oh well. Thanks though!

edriavw says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:15am

super awesome, the art is fantastic.
more action effect will be great, checkout "one finger death punch" for reference. congrats!

Webravenz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Excellent ! Slow for a long time at the begining but after it's fun ! And great job with pixel art :o

themadknights says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:21pm

One of the best game art I've ever seen in a LD

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:12pm

I love the art.

The difficulty curve is a bit too flat though, maybe that's just me.

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Very nice graphics! Would be cool to see this get expanded some more :)

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:59pm

This game looks and sounds absolutely amazing!!! I wish you had added more effects when you kill the things coming at you though, it would have felt more rewarding ;) Nice work!

Sheepolution says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:54pm

The art and music is great. The game looks and feels nice and polished. My only complaint is that it's too easy, to the point it becomes kind of boring. But other than that great job!

broknecho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Pretty great entry! Art was sweet. Control was really good except it was very unforgiving when you missed. Like getting hit caused you to lose your timing in the hit animation and didn't know when it was complete. Mis-clicking sorta did the same thing where you wouldn't know when the click was ready again.

Overall though super great job. Really liked it.

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:14am

Visuals are OK, but game itseld too simple and pretty boring after 5 minutes of playing.

hexagore says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:20am

You played for 5 minutes? That's pretty good considering my last game could be completed in 2. :P

Split82 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:52am

Very nice looking and fun entry. Good job.

Yword says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:40am

This is really cool, and the music is very good too! I think it will be more challenging if the enemy will become harder, and it will be more awesome if the player can press certain keys sequence to combo. Well done!

treslapin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:26am

The pixel art is so juicy! I think a better font would have suited. The game is really simple and fun. :)

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:41am

Cool game, love the art work and the sounds that went into this too.

Drury says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:54am

This is amazing, that's all.

Tuism says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:13pm

Oooooooh. This one's tough. I like it, but it's too close to a few other games like this without adding much new for me to really push it to 4 stars.

By the way the web build doesn't work in Safari, just thought you should know that.

The graphics are fantastic, the way the trees grow and sway is extra cool detail. The colours are fun and everything just looks great :)

Sometimes the combo thing seems to miss, I have no idea why - I would press right and I *know* there's an enemy there, and I would miss. That was hugely frustrating.

Some variety would be cool, enemies that require a different pattern of input. Have you played these games?
- Kung Fury (has a range thing so you won't always hit and you can "look ahead" to plan a little.
- Melody Muncher (from the previous LD, 33)
- One finger something something death something.

hexagore says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:18pm

Tuism: This game has a range thing. The green lightning indicates when a thing is "in range". That *must* be why you're missing!

I would have loved to have added more enemy types with different patterns but there just wasn't enough time. It is a compo entry after all. :)

Tuism says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Ok, yes I see that it's for range - I understood it as a result of the attack that you did - a bolt of lightning doesn't tell me "it's in range", it tells me "I'm hitting it", maybe something more like a light that changes colour or something would be more appropriate as an indicator?

It's still a solid and really polished entry :)

Rodaja says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Nice game! Sometimes it's difficult to know how far you can attack the enemies, but other than that, gameplay feels solid, and graphics are really cool! Good job!

Remicy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Fantastic Art! Can't imagine how it finish in 48 hours!

lurils says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:51pm

I like the scenery specially, fun game.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Great pixel art mate, super fun to play, :D one finger death punch remastered :)
Love the fast paced action

timeshapers says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:03pm

My hours of practice on one finger death punch finally paid off :P

Lullaby says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Incredible mood, really nice twist of the theme!

Great entry :p

pjimmy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:57pm

cool game, the visuals are stunning, well done

SHLFStudios says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:35am

well polished, but yea, a bit like that one game :) I think it played really well, the "growing" bit was a little phoned in, but the mechanic of increasing health is nice if the difficultly ramps up. well done!

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:38am

Love that art-style and mechanics. Great game!

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:12am

Awesome art work. Good job.

Robber says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:58pm

fantastic looking game with awesome music..Really hard to recover though, once you get hit one time. it would be cool if combo also had an effect like you could make more powerfull move, able to destroy 2 enemies behind each other, longer attack range..something like that..but incredible job for 48hours!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Really cool graphics and animations.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:14am

Nice work here! Fx and music are pretty good! The gameplay works. If I must say something, I'd say that the characters might had more pixels to had more readability.

oz2mura says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:09am

Dem graphics are awesome! Love the track, and I can feel the potential of what this game could be, has that rhythm tapping game vibe, potential to be a tower defense game with upgrades and so on. Looking forward to see what you make next!

OnionBlaze says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Beautiful art, lovely audio! I was killing the monsters in time with the music, hahah. Great job :)

Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:00pm

This is really fun! :)

rnlf says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Holy crap!

You've made some great games in the past, but this one though!

I had to listen to the music for a few minutes before I couldn't even start playing. I'm not a big fan of this kind of game, but it played so smoothly and looks and sounds amazing. Didn't read your name at first and I though it was a Jam entry.

Really good work!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Gameplay mechanics reminds me a lot of One Finger Death Punch (I'm guessing that's where you got your inspiration from) but this was incredibly fun to play and I like how you've incorprated both themes.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:17pm

This is stunning, visually. And the music builds up a great mood. My only complaint is that the game play gets a bit repetitive too quickly.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:57am

Fun game. I wish there was an indicator for the delay when you miss/get hit so you know when you can actually attack again. The ramp up speed seems about right. The audio was really nice. Good job.

YinYin says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:35am

That green lightning looks horribly out of place among the pixel art :p

freaknarf says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:10pm

Super nice visuals, nice soundtrack, and cool simple gameplay!
Combo are enjoyable, and reflex mechanic with green lighting makes it sharp ; i think it becomes hard at some point and could not beat it !
Very neat compo, and amazing job on visuals. Also, ty for the great timelapse !

Patomkin says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:13pm

The art is very cool and the gameplay goes along with the music. Great compo entry!

Tapehead says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:30pm

col game idea, also the style of the game! well done!

Gyfis says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Very nice game! Like the flow of it, and the graphics form a great mood! Way to go!

loxo says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:40pm

Great visuals and audio. The game is fun to play and very addictive. It's hard to escape if you get attacked from both sides at the same time.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:55pm

I like how you did two themes in one in a super organic way...no pun intended :P

Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Gorgeous lighting, and the music fits the mood perfectly.

As a two button brawler, it works well, but I can't help but worry that the damage animation takes to long. Every time I get hit, I end up surrounded by enemies and taking extra damage. Apart from that, this was a rather solid entry, though!

Sublustris says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Great sfx & gfx!! 5/5

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:22pm

I agree with what most everyone has said-- the mechanics are solid, its fun as hell, and it plays smooth.

Normally I wouldn't say something like this except for someone who created a narrative based game but I wish this game had a voice over telling some kind of story about the world I'm playing in simply because the visuals are amazingly well done and I want to be in that world.

Great work.

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Love it - these sort of twitchy games are my weakness ;) I would have liked a quicker difficulty climb maybe, but everything else was pretty much perfect.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:23am

Nice ! I like the contrast of killing zombie-like monsters to growing trees, and the ambiant music and drawings are fine too. Great work !

herniewise says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:28am

Good job! This is great.

Ulydev says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:48pm

One of my favourite entries, a very solid game just like all your others. Keep up the great work!

mxjones says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:42pm

I really liked this. Awesome pixel art, music was great and the gameplay was fun and slick. Really good job!

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:00am

A very awesome polished finish! Better version of my fighting game ;)

jdoughty says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:05am

Very Wicked Game! Felt as solid as it looked. Music set the tone well, and I felt like it was easy to get into!

mukult says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:21am

Satisfying!! Good game!!

zzapp says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:53am

Loved the pixel art, looks absolutely gorgeous. Everything else about the game is pretty solid too. The theme works well and it's both two buttons and growing in one. Well done.

cimbaman says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 8:59am

Very interesting game

vedmich says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:13am

Awesome work!

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Amazing art style! (yes, the trees looks amazing). Gameplay is not innovative but is fun and the music adds some mood to it!
Congrats!

wooltech says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Graphics are great, but no real changes from One Finger Death Punch.

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:46pm

Really nice pixel art and nervous action. Congrats!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Beautiful graphics and sound. Nice concept as well, very polished for a Compo entry. It did freeze for me, but doesn't seem to have happened to too many other commenters. Great work!

hexagore says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Yeah apparently there's a really rare and intermittent bug when you die. I've only seen it myself the once... frustrating!

Farelle says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:01pm

wow :D In the beginning of the game I was already with anticipation waiting for the "cool" feeling I would get of defeating alot of those monsters in rapid succession, just because I could already feel how those controls and graphics would respond well to fast paced and I was right, that the fast paced looked epic :D I had alot of fun playing this. Thanks for making it ^^

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Nice graphics! Congrats!

JoseArias says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:09pm

So beautiful! I liked it!

Bensonance says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Great little game! Gorgeous art, great music, and effective sound effects!

The gameplay got a little repetitive, although the scaling of difficulty with groups of enemies in quick succession was neat! I think some enemy variety (speed, movement type, floating/ jumping) etc. would have gone a long way. Just blending the same sprites a different color to represent different behaviour would have been great.

Great job!

Drauthius says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Cool game. The difficulty took a bit too long to ramp up (just stood there in the beginning just waiting), but it's beautiful and fun.

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Pretty cool! Love the art. It's definitely a lot like...that other game. ;) Still, it was enjoyable and this game is *way* better looking. Nicely done!

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Really nice simple game. Everything works and Graphics are Great!

Herzucco says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Basics graphics but I had the flow plyaing it, really great

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Fun and flowing game, meets all goals. My score is 114. Great job!

pkenney says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 8:23pm

This is a strong all-around game - it looks and sounds great, and I enjoyed playing.

My top combo was 113x. I found that while the gameplay is relatively simple there in one critical design choice that unlocked a key bit of depth, and that's the way the character doesn't simply attack but instead leaps to meet the enemy. This means that I can reposition my character through attack timing, and that makes all the difference because now it's a game about planning and choice rather than simply reactive button pushing.

The music was enjoyable. The melody was infectious but appropriately simple, and the bleak synthesizer timbre was a good fit with the art style, which I took as somewhat apocalyptic. The looping did not grate on me as it sometimes does with short songs.

I also thought the sprite lighting was a nice touch!

I always try to leave a few points of critique, especially for good games, so here are some thoughts on small points:

- There are two sound effects when killing an enemy. I felt like the game was trying to signal some information to me but I never picked up on what it was.

- I didn't really process the lightning, I just got used to the distances.

- For very close range attacks my character did not turn around during an attack, which alarmed me the first few times as I thought I was missing.

- The difficulty curve was nice for learning. Once I got better I enjoyed the hard challenge I had built up to, but when I finally died it was daunting to think of starting over and having to go so long to get back to the hard part. That critical "should I play once more?" moment was weighed down by this feeling and that was my eventual reason for stopping. It's possible I would have played more with some adjustment there.

- There's a *slight* visual confusion that I think is due to the way that the enemies and the "near background" (ie park elements, not city backdrop) are similar in color saturation. This was not a real problem but I wished the main character and the threats visually popped just a bit more.

- When I was in the zone I was in the zone and after learning phase I knew exactly what was going on. I had less experience with misses and taking hits, though... So I ended up in this scenario where I knew what was going on while I was doing well, but then once I made a mistake it would snowball and I would take two or three hits in a row and ask "What just happened?" Escalating crisis is just fine except that I was also somewhat confused. I'm not sure what the fix is or even if I can clearly articulate the specific confusion.

- OK that last point was my initial impression from playing as a player. I went back into the game to specifically test the wiff/get-hit conditions over and over to see if I could get specific... my confusion is clearer now and here are a couple of more suggestions:

- Wiff needs a sound effect and maybe a graphical swoosh, it's maybe the #1 critical event and needs more feedback
- Wiff does not change direction to face the way I press, it should so my mistake is ultra-clear
- Consider including an audible cue such a light click to signal when I am ready to re-swing after a wiff or after getting hit. Maybe a visual glint cue is another way to go.
- After wiff/get-hit consider buffering the input to swing again if the key is pressed while still stunned. This could get nasty if the window is too large but right now I don't think there's any window to pre-press the button. I have to wait for the ready-to-swing state, which is not strongly telegraphed, and then press the button.
- I did not have this input buffer problem with the attacks, chaining multiple attacks felt great actually and I did not feel I had to wait for one to finish before pushing the key for another.
- When I get hit I could use more feedback about the fact that I got hit, who hit me, and when I'm ready to act again. The sound effect is a big start but maybe a bit more.
- The issue with not turning to face the enemy you hit when they are very close was escalating some of my confusion after taking damage. I would be surrounded, push left, my character would swing right and I would go into shock. It's true the enemy on the left would die but I already lost flow with the game on the line.
- It's a good design choice to have the enemy physically back away from the player on a hit rather than just having some invisible re-attack cooldown.

All of that stuff is microscopic detail in case you want it, this is a strong entry and don't take the list to mean otherwise!!

Bogden says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Is the source code for this game available somewhere? I'd love to learn more about how to use this hexr library. The results look awesome

hexagore says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Boden: Problem is most of Hexr depends on an editor application which right now isn't remotely close to being ready for public release. I have a huge amount of work to do to make something that other people can use and you are literally the first person who's shown any interest whatsoever. Currently on a bit of a childish protest about other people not sticking to the rules about posting source but I'll fix my source link at some point :)

adsilcott says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Great graphics and audio. It's very satisfying to get kills and combos, which makes it fun.

Sosolol261 says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Really nice graphics

arzi says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Really fun and great looking game!

It seemed that it occasionally misread my key presses though :/

euske says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 12:12pm

The graphics and audio is nice but the gameplay was kinda glithcy. Sometimes you attach at the opposite direction when an enemy is close. Once you get hit it takes a while for the controls to be enabled so you'll get hit twice. Also, please consider adding e.preventDefault() for certain keydown events (especially space and arrow keys) in order to stop the browser scrolling. The game sometimes freezes randomly.

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Cool game. Had a lots of fun.

Keep up the good work.

hexagore says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:57am

euske:

Chrome doesn't allow web pages to override the default behaviour of the space bar and arrow keys, which web users expect to be used to control scrolling of the page, and I sort of agree really. I didn't even want to use the arrows and space keys at all, but finding alternative keys as defaults for web games is proving difficult. I recommend just using a gamepad.

ArkadyDracul says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:28am

Can you fix the sources link?

markusfisch says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 12:18pm

Really great graphics! And the music fits too. It's fun to play! And yes, the trees do look great :)

Miziziziz says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:42am

Great aesthetics, wish there more was more gameplay. Maybe a boss at some point or varying enemies

Anachron says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Awesome! Wish there was a boss... is there a boss? Maybe my reflexes are just too slow this morning.

Krafty says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 5:49pm

465! This was fun and I really liked the graphics, although it got a little bit boring after a while. You should make another level! This game is really well done and I liked it a lot! :)

Jan 4, 2016 @ 12:02am

Great Game loved the pixel art and music!

amras0000 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:38am

First off, graphics are great. I really enjoyed the fact the monsters walk away after you die. The audio needs work, the music especially didn't seem to fit well.

The gameplay itself obviously isn't anything new, though it definitely felt just a bit sluggish and heavy, hard to pin down what was the exact cause. Something between the blurred visuals and not a whole lot of feedback to crashing into an enemy. It might have helped if the enemies were easier to make out against the background, and exploded or got knocked back as they died. Something to make me realize the momentum at play.

EwChap says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:57am

Great sound, great animations and play feel. Love the tree growth animation/sound

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:31am

Good job, really like the idea, and the graphics are awesome

Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:55pm

Awesome across the board. Wub wub wub. Loved the sound track. Graphics were great and the controls were tight. Loved the little touched like leaves and grass blowing in the wind. This will place high, I think. Has all the sex appeal to score high.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:18pm

(I was just about to play ye game when ye left a comment on mine! Weird >.<)

As usual I utterly love your style, the art is gorgeous! All those lovely filters and effects are amazing.

Also the music and little funny sound effects were great too. The gameplay was simple but effective and it was great trying to beat your highest combo! Great work as usual! :D

(And to answer ye question, lack of sleep and lots of sugar...)

Aurel Bílý says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:32pm

While nice looking and quite well polished, the gameplay for me seems a bit lacking. It doesn't get frantic enough, or maybe it's missing additional challenges. As it is, it is very easy and gets boring quite fast. But other than that, nice music, pretty graphics, you know. :)

Waynetron says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:14am

Simple mechanic executed well.

The enemies are hard to read against the background, and once I get into a rhythm it becomes really hard to focus on the screen.

hexagore says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:26am

Waynetron: Yeah I have actually noticed that myself although only after it was finished and published and I was able to properly play it!

Bogden says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 8:16pm

Any chance you'll post up the source now? Saw the time lapse and am super interested in your editor

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]