Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

BUBBLEGUM UPPERCUT!

by Garris - Jam Entry

You are bubblegum. That rose has a lot of eyes and is growing very quickly. Keep up with it! Defeat enemies with your SUPER UPPERCUT OF VICTORY!

Left and right arrow keys to move

Double tap a direction to slide

Press both at once to UPPERCUT!

EDIT: Additional info:
-The screen wraps left and right so if it looks like you can't make a jump, try the other direction.
-You can move sideways while UPPERCUTting (jumping). Press both buttons to start the jump, but only hold down the direction you want to move.
-POWERUPS/POWERDOWNS: The items that are stationary are buffs and always do something good for you. The items that are falling, are debuffs or challenge items. They do something dangerous, but they also give you a big point bonus. Grab them and hang on if you're going for high score.

-And finally: Get the baseball bat, and slide into an enemy. Trust me. You'll like it.

Music by Gregg Wright

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#102Fun(Jam)3.76
#218Theme(Jam)4.02
#306Overall(Jam)3.54
#328Humor(Jam)2.98
#444Innovation(Jam)3.24
#476Mood(Jam)3.26
#651Graphics(Jam)3.18

Comments

flyingbear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:37am

This felt demented in a good way. Controls were responsive and it felt good to uppercut enemies due to the sound + screen shake. I kept feeling the desire to move in mid-air after uppercutting which was hard due to having to press both buttons at once

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:42am

Amazing game! I'm surprised the game is so well polished!

Blobo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:09am

Amazing game. it's crazy addicting too! my only complaint is the lack of shading on the rose.

Garris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:38am

I submitted a little bit early specifically to give myself time to shade the rose : D

Blobo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:02am

Looks great! I forgot to mention how much I love the character! the little splats in the animations make it just that much better. Really nice entry!

blohod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:16am

weee SLAM!

Fidrik says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:18am

Nicely polished! Overall a great game!

Drury says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:14am

I love the movement system, such a smart use of the theme.

LavWa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:22am

Wow that's impressive. The gameplay is neat and simple, polished, the music is really cool. Great work!!

cudabear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:27am

This game is very fun! It's a nice take on infinite climbers. I found the gameplay to be pretty balanced, but sometimes there were platforms that spawned very far apart from eachother, and I found it impossible to make those jumps.

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:11am

This is really fun. Love the slick animations and that slide dash -- sliding in air is especially fun. And the melodramatic orchestra music set against the goofy enemies and odd concept is extra fun. I made it to the 7000s!

Rocketship says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:30pm

I found it fun and a tad frustrating. Also the double press is a great way to extend the two button restraint. The movement felt a bit too airy for my taste, I feel the jumps were hard to time but otherwise was fun playing it.

WebFreak001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Really nice game, the controls felt so great and lots of fun. Loved it!

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:28am

Very good entry. Excellent animation on the character. I love the items and smash-bros-esque feel to it. Having the x-velocity stop when you hit an enemy with the attack was a good idea.

Indie L says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:29am

Nice game,i liked a lot ;D

Rosain_f says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:21am

Amazing, a bit hard, but I like it !

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:09am

nice game!

YinYin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:13am

A double tap dash is always a bad idea if you also need precision twitch movement (placing yourself just right to avoid damage or hit a foe above). It would help if the uppercut had some more horizontal control, even if it was just a little, instead of going so straight for quite a while. If the dash took care of enemies as well that would help a lot too to make this game more fun.

Otherwise it worked rather well.

LittleThor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:53pm

I liked the animation of bubblegum and th humor of the game!
I assume that the level design is procedural, which leads sometime to very difficult / unpossible situations :(

Garris says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:37pm

YinYin, was the dash not killing enemies for you? Unless you have the glasses, a dash should 1-hit an enemy.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:51am

Great graphics and music. Nice work.

Strike says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:18pm

So addictive, I also love the nonsensical humor

YinYin says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:48am

I guess it was simply too short to do that for me, i.e. I dashed towards an enemy and slowed down just before I got there (or the hurt box deactivated). Most of the time I dashed by accident anyway because I was trying to fine tune my position quickly.

anv says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Very nice dynamic - whole screen feels like it's in constant movement, with giant rosebud leading the way up. Nice music and VO. Controls are challenging at first, but after a while you can get used to them. Overall, very polished and pleasant to play.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:37am

Great game! I have a mixed feeling on the two controls theme because it feels cheap to fool a 4 control button into 2 as the gameplay would be better on a normal platform control.

Loved the art and the animation. The music was a bit creepy, don't you think?

Garris says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:51am

A little. The whole thing was meant to be a bit creepy though.

hyperscope says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:44pm

I got a super meat boy esque vibe from this game. Very good execution of combining jumping, moving, dashing, and attacking. I was initially concerned that the implementation might not be satisfying but that wasn't the case. Possibly my only issue might be to allow slightly more time to double tap. This could work as an IOS game or even as a platform title if the level design/progression was expanded upon. Great job!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:59am

Nice, good use of two buttons. I would have liked to have had an easier time of aerial movement after an uppercut, since platforms would sometimes end up pretty far apart.

LukeZaz says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:12am

Found jumping a little confusing, as I thought I could double-jump but then found I couldn't. Controls were a little hard to work with, but I got used to them over time. Overall a pretty good game.

Jan 6, 2016 @ 5:13pm

Neat game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/eeRk2tDl2JU

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]