Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Space Adventure 2000

by Anti - Compo Entry

Space Adventure 2000!
Your Spaceship engine has broken and you can't stop your ship. All that you can do is to turn 90 degress to the left or to the right.

Controls:
Turn left - Left arrow key
Turn right - Right arrow Key

This was my first game ever created with Godot engine. A quick reflection I have made is that while I'm not so super happy with the game itself I have actually learned a lot more than I have ever done before. I didn't have as much time as I have hoped, mainly because I spent the entire saturday on a train, but I still made a game and participated in Ludum Dare again and I'm proud of that achievement. This is my 6th Ludum Dare compo and I have started to gain a lot of experience with time management. I don't expect this game to impress anyone or get a good score. My previous entries have been made with a much higher quality. But now I learned a completly new tool that I would not have learned otherwise and next time I will be back stronger than ever before. Until then I hope you get some kind of enjoyment out of this game and I wish you all good luck. Thanks for playing and rating games! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#278Audio3.09
#359Humor2.63
#407Fun3.25
#438Theme3.79
#606Graphics2.88
#665Mood2.71
#716Overall2.96
#752Innovation2.65
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

peyj says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Definitely fun, also a little bit addictiong, nothing new, but with more levels and visual polish this could be a neat little game.

bob_fish says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:11pm

Good fun, very hard but quite addictive. Like the music. Good Job!

AndreSilvs says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:19pm

You should make it so the ship always starts in the same direction (per level) instead of the direction before dying. Anyway, fun little game, wish it had more levels ;)

themadknights says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Pretty good idea! :) I love the adaptation of the theme. The music is cool!

CheesyRamen says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:28pm

It took a while to get used to the controls, but nice, simple fun! :)

Louspirit says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Nice sound :) I found the controls and hitbox anusual and so a bit difficult but good work anyway

tazdij says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:40am

crazy difficult.

Cosmic5 says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:48pm

music was a little hectic and fast, but I enjoyed the game.

bering says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:52pm

Pretty darn hard :-/ It'd be great to have an explosion animation or a message or something before starting over again.

Wumbo says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:58pm

Kind of addicting, though it would be more so (as others have pointed out) if you always started facing the same direction. The rocket looked good, but other than that there wasn't really all that much art. Audio was pretty good but sounded VERY abundant-music-y, which is pleasant but kind of distracting once you have heard a few 'randomly generated' songs it has made ;)

I do really like the turn left/right idea for the two buttons, though. It makes sense and is immediately intuitive. Keep practicing and you will undoubtedly be able to do this in half the time for the next LD, once you are more comfortable with the engine!

Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:48am

I liked it. It's a great idea although I think there should've been a 'press button to start' thing before you actually start flying.

Chickenattack says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:49am

Great Game! The controls were a little boggling but easy to get used to! Its awesome

Geckoo1337 says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 5:53am

Too hard for me. A good game. Well done ++

Gaspard_ says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:41pm

Well, that last level was pretty hard. I think retried it at least 50 times!
The music was nice, although the sound effect for deaths was a bit annoying.
The gameplay itself was simple, and the game was quite fun.
Nice job.

rojo says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:31am

Pretty challenging! When you fail things are a bit abrupt, but one thing that might help aside from a transition is resetting your facing. Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]