Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Slum Runner

by Warboys - Jam Entry

In a world where the land outside cities is barren and toxic, those with the capabilities to warp between them are in heavy demand.

You play as Hilde and together with your trusty tech wizard Comms, you need to prepare for various contracts by visiting the slums and acquiring the gadgets you'll need for the task at hand.

Slum Runner is sort of like a puzzle Pac-Man, where you must figure out the most efficient route to your items, the best order to get them, then run through the alleyways avoiding guards & LAZERS to reach the Exit.

There are 8 Missions for you to complete, getting particularly devious around Mission 4!


LEFT ARROW - Turn Anti-Clockwise (or Counter Clockwise for y'all Americans)
RIGHT ARROW - Turn Clockwise

Use the SPACE bar to speed through dialogue.


Made by myself (@SamuelVirtu), thanks for playing :)

WARNING: Has some bad language, but seriously...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#207Humor(Jam)3.31
#279Overall(Jam)3.57
#310Fun(Jam)3.42
#313Audio(Jam)3.38
#325Mood(Jam)3.45
#367Innovation(Jam)3.33
#522Theme(Jam)3.67
#575Graphics(Jam)3.33

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:44am

I did't think I would like a game where there is so much to read. But this is SOOOO much fun! Really liked this one :) Reminded me of Shadowrun

FindX says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:49am

Absolutely love the dialogue in between levels, full of brilliant humour. "In the year LD34" made me chuckle.
Only issue I had was on level 5, I collected everything and died before getting to the exit. It sent me to the next level anyway. Other than that minor issue, amazing game!

maunovaha says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:50am

SNAKE.. SNAAAKE. lol. I love metal gear solid, I bet you too. I managed to play this game to mission 4 atm. maybe I will get back to it. :).. more work on the graphics (shadows etc, because this is a stealth game) could make this even better. Also, I would remove the weird auto-speak sounds from dialogs? Anyway, nice job^^

mitya1234 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:52am

Your game is hard. And it is good for some point. But also it can be a minus for this game. The idea is simple and good but you need to add some features like how buttons rotate the character for post-compo version. Great job!

RadStar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Mission complete !

Nice game, nostalgia hit me hard :D
it's like a mix of pac / man and infiltration, i liked it!

muffty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:27pm

I really had some hard time getting the moves right. But the game is fun!

korvyashka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:32pm

Well done. Puzzles not hard, but for 3 days its fine.

Fanatrick says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:38pm

I liked it. Narrative was fine, I wish the teleporter transition wasn't instant.

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:21pm

I liked how you took time to create many levels. I think this could be improved graphically because mechanics work. Maybe sounds and music also requires rework. Other than these, fun game, good work :)

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Super Cool Game.
+ Nice Graphics.
+ Fantastic audio/music and cutscenes.

- Small. Needs more levels.

Drury says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Teleporting was a bit of a slap in the face but other than that, solid. Not metal or gear or anything.

Taffaz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Cool game, I liked how you kept adding different obstacles/enemies.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:59am

Pretty cool atmosphere! Love the story telling, the universe and the humour! Controls totally fit the theme. I'm less a fan of the audio part, but it does the trick and integrates quite well within the game universe. Great job here!

AboLD says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:19am

Well done guys, the idea is great and very well implemented
I really like it an I played it till end.

Soka says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:22am

What a fun game, and I love the time limit pressure, the humor too, really good <3 congratz

greenscreen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:46pm

Very interesting game. Looks like a lot of efford was put into cutscenes. Gameplay is entertaining. References in dialogues are great :D

Dalkor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Really fun game. Silly but good story. Loved the cyberpunky feel. Felt the difficulty ramped up pretty much perfectly. Loved the MGS jokes. One of my favorite entries from this LD, found myself completing the game.

lawendt says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:57pm

Nice and funny too, good work!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:58pm

A bit too much dialogue for me, would've been good to get it somehow integrated into the levels, so you can stay in the zone longer. Cool puzzle concept though for the theme!

Evannex says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:37am

Great game you've got here! I played a few levels and put it in my save for later folder ^_^ Very well done.

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:00am

Nice game... good job. Challenging and fun!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:17am

Nice level design - good execution with the gradual introduction of new goals and challenges.

The length felt about perfect for an LD game, too. Good job!

Ryusui says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:20am

Very nice. My only gripe is the game crashes if I leave it paused on the dialogue cutscenes between levels for too long. ^_^;

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:33pm

This is pretty good! I like the effort put into the narrative. I like the dystopian future style. The gameplay is well paced, its nice that the new features are introduced over time. Working out which direction to press when walking downwards was a little confusing, but I suppose thats part of the difficulty of it. Good stuff!

pkenney says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Wow, this is an excellent entry, the idea is well thought out and the implementation is very strong! I enjoyed playing all the way through to the end.

The dialog screen was nice as well, the sound effect of the talking was cool and the characters were well-written.

A couple of tiny things felt a bit unfair a couple of times, like teleporting into a sudden need to turn, and the way that sometimes the read laser around the outside perimeter is drawn in such a way that it looks like maybe you could run there safely. But honestly there's not much to critique here, it was very well done!

Also the game length and dialog screen durations were spot on for my taste. Great job.

Drauthius says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:56pm

Solid idea, but not really for me. The dialogues weren't very captivating.

Strike says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Very good game.

gloim says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:51am

I dig the artstyle! thanks for this great little game :)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Nice cyberpunk inspired game. Also that MGS reference was rather nice :)

Dec 28, 2015 @ 12:04pm

[Lazarus-omin from Creative Sectors]:
Absolutely loved this one! I wish it was longer.

Graphics were clean, simple, nothing too complicated, but the elements pretty much suited the mood. The music and sound effect were fitting, no complaints here. Controls take some time to master, but that's the challenge, ain't it? I pretty much liked the dialogue parts, they added a cool humor factor, and were well written, the characters were likeable.

Congrats' on the game, it's a very memorable one!

P.s.: Any plans on expanding it?

fergarram says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:00am

I'm too lazy to keep playing but looks nice.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 10:52pm

nice idea, good job!

Tanton-H2X says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 12:18pm

so amazing game!
it is training my thinking and let me to set my view base on the hero's position!(let me understand left and right more clearly!)
music and audio all super cool!
After all kinds of baptism´╝î stage clear finally ^o^ love it so much!!

DavidErosa says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:51pm

Really fun game with clever puzzles! Thanks!

caryoscelus says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:25pm

Nice game, though it gets too repetitive (like die -> repeat everything and change last step -> again) at later levels.

Tanton-H2X says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:30pm

by the way!i realize that something i forgot to say !ToT
I think if our hero have a wrist bands or watch on his left hand/ right hand, that may let player to more realize the direction~? but that may not hard any more~~ orz
Happy New Year!
Cheeers~
i must to say that i love this difficulty degree~ it let me challenge my safe-zone just right!

kmakai says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:21pm

Awesome job! I love seeing puzzle-focused games that manage to include compelling story elements as well. You certainly must have been busy to get it all done. My only suggestions would be to have space skip to the end of the current dialogue message, rather than the start of the next one (frequently just wanted to make the message appear when one character was speaking, but instead skipped the whole thing), and this could be me being dense, but I didn't realize at first that you couldn't run along the edges of the level -- they look wide enough to get through.

Congrats!

Jan 5, 2016 @ 3:40pm

Really neat, well made game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/DUttdjt5uB4

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]