Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Don't Press Them

by CodeNMore - Compo Entry

Don't Press Them is a game where you must defend against enemies attempting to press two detonation buttons that will destroy the entire world! Don't starve your citizens, and grow your empire to protect the two precious buttons!

Intructions are in game, or here:
- Move the map with WASD
- Use the mouse to select/place items
- Press and hold 'F' to fast forward (this may cause temporary lag!)
- Press 'M' to mute or unmute the game

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#279Humor2.81
#308Overall3.46
#311Fun3.38
#317Audio3.00
#351Mood3.15
#490Innovation3.14
#629Graphics2.84
#715Theme3.40

Comments

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:17pm

A pretty decent game, surprisingly! A simple RTS/tower defense of sorts, impressive for something done so fast!

mar3k says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Great job, Code! Really cool and quite complex for LD entry ;) Also nice music.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:30pm

awesome, very original take on the two button theme. Also great combination of rts elements and tower defense. very creative, good job

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Liked the game, I can see you put a lot of time in this game, well done!!

bearcabin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:39pm

great use of the theme

@SamPotasz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Nice entry! Loved the jumping blue blob animation.

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:41pm

that was a fun little tower defense game, good work!

the graphics were nice, and it was easy enough to pick up and play thanks to helpful 'tooltips' that show what different machines will produce, without having to remember it.

Good job :)

StabAlarash says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:41pm

nice take on the theme

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Very creative take on the theme! Liked how much depth there is for such a short amount of time, nice job!

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:42pm

That was really fun. Maybe decrease the amount of time between waves, since the fast forward really made it lag.

wilsk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Kind of like a base building tower defence... interesting!

sergicollado says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:49pm

I love how you approach Theme and humor, so clever

windwarrior says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:38am

Liked it, bit of a crossover between a traditional strategy game and a tower defense. Good Job!

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Quite functional tower defense type of game. Maybe have the buttons reset after each wave? Or be able to build a structure that produces mechanics able to work on the buttons after having been pressed. Solid execution

jigalx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:39pm

This was fun! Game was a bit laggy sometimes for me, even when not holding F.

jigalx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Oooooh "two button game" I see what you did there now! I almost gave you a low score on the theme before thinking.

eerongal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:26am

Interesting little tower defense game. nice work!

Meta-link says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Cool game !
Actually it's really impressive to do a game like this in 48 hours, good job !

walaber says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:20am

nice job, seemed a bit intimidating at first but turned out to be quite simple to play. the silly premise is fun, and it's quite well constructed, especially given the short time frame!

Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:38am

Really neat button defense. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/R1E0Ch1WcpU

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]