Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Snow Growth Island

by Pontus_LSS - Jam Entry

Hello! This is my first time joining Ludumdare! I can't take all of the credit as my friend helped out with some of the models. :)

The game is a resource management game where the goal is to grow your island as big as you can. Now theres a twist to this! As I wanted to include both themes my choice was to have a yes / no based game. So:
UP arrow = Accept
DOWN arrow = Decline

Anyway, as well as my first LD this is also the first time I've ever made a 3D game, I thought it was a good time to excperience something new and it was totaly worth it! I had a blast working on this and I learned a lot!

One last note though:
There is a lot of features that I had planned but never had the time to implement so the gameplay is a bit boring at the moment.. :/

Any feedback is appreciated!

Cheers, Pontus

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#46Theme(Jam)4.31
#176Graphics(Jam)4.08
#286Mood(Jam)3.50
#290Innovation(Jam)3.44
#482Humor(Jam)2.70
#739Overall(Jam)3.08
#982Fun(Jam)2.46
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

pvtroswold says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:23pm

Hey nice! It's a shame you couldn't implement all the features, as this was fun while it lasted! The yes/no feature really fit the theme well, and the music & graphics had a really fun and light atmosphere. Good job!

Gunzil says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:26pm

Pretty chill game about watching an island rotate in space while you say yes to all construction projects and watch numbers get bigger.

Big fan of the low poly visuals and snowy aesthetic. It works well when zoomed out this far. The snow particle is a little big so it looks kinda like a the interior of a snow globe.

Gameplay wasn't very developed, I just pressed up to each question and waited for more resources to accrue while admiring my new building. Eventually the game ran out of signs.

rplnt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:26pm

I didn't ask me anything for a while (declined quarry two times), so I pressed space and.. uhm.. I guess you know. I think the idea could work.

Visually it's nice, just the day is a bit too bright :)

By the way, love the music choice!

adamyounis says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:28pm

Not an especially deep game by any means, but there's a nice ambiance to it with the music and day / night cycle. Faster signs with more difficult choices would make this a fun game. Maybe even if it was a mobile game that took place over days / weeks, with each "sign" as a push notification?

Penthaquill says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Nice game but it gets kinda stale after about 3 minutes...

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:38pm

There's too much waiting for my taste, but nice idea and implementation. Loved the art and the music.

XbooperxdX says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:45am

Pretty nice and relaxing, but gets boring after a while. Great idea though!

Flip120 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:54am

Good idea, but a little boring after a while without receiving questions

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:54am

Hey ! Love the concept ! :D Too bad you didn't put a lot of choices, especially bad ones if you keep accepting the offers the game gives you. Except that point I love the graphics and the music, good job ! :)

danidre14 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:56am

Really cool 3Dgraphics! It was awesome that I did not need to download it, or use Firefox, cause Chrome doesnt support Unity.

Waiting is a lot xD but this is fun, nice music too, and went along with the theme smoothly.

ddr2 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:58am

Love the idea of accepting / declining what the game pushes into the player at first, but it gets old quite fast.

Graphics are really nice, audio fits well though a bit repetitive.

Overall, a pretty interesting experience, good job ;)

Avant-Marde says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:18am

I like the overall feel of the game, with the music and the graphics (reminds me of home, it was nice). I would like to say the rotation was a nice touch, but it made me kind of dizzy - maybe a rotating sun would have been better? You seem to be aware of the shortcomings so I won't mention them, other than that the spawning rate was a bit too slow. Love the inclusion of the two-button-theme, that was a nice surprise. Overall good work :)

Dayko says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:20pm

Very nice idea ! The mood is nice, and i like saying yes or no to things haha. Too bad you didn't go further, it's a promising start :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]