Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Frontman

by Claire1605 - Jam Entry

Grow your band to success, from bedroom to stadium!

Frontman is a musical running platformer in which you must find band members to join you, while fighting cops, groupies and bottle-throwers that are standing in the way of true stardom.

Unfortunately there is a bug if you collect a token of a dead character. Also it runs quite slowly on some computers.

Don't forget to turn the volume up!

Controls:
Jump - 'Up'/'W'
Attack - 'Space'
Change frontman - 'Left', 'Right'/'A', 'D'

Credits:
Claire Morley - Art, Design, Animation, Voice acting
Josh Thompson - Programming, Music, Design, Voice acting

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#212Audio(Jam)3.56
#361Humor(Jam)2.91
#509Graphics(Jam)3.47
#564Mood(Jam)3.16
#641Overall(Jam)3.19
#667Innovation(Jam)2.92
#735Fun(Jam)2.89
#994Theme(Jam)2.78

Comments

CalmKai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:01am

Ok game but not that fun. I would also mark as inappropriate for children considering your killing cops.

Mat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:18am

Pretty fun ^^ Love the way the music changes according to what's going on!

tantumgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Oh, God! Rock'n'roll must go on!
Great music, and art also good too!
Gratz to the team!

Rocketship says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:51pm

I liked the idea a lot and the character switching was a nice implementation as well. I felt that the game got super cluttered and too much obstacles were just popping up as you gathered more band members and progressed. Would have wished for a bit slower pace especially to support the strategy behind character switching. Graphics were nice and clear and the sound design was good as well. Good job!

Bocodillo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:52pm

A pretty fun game with a cool idea!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:36pm

The music was cool, but sound that plays when picking up guitar picks didn't fit with the rest of the audio at all, and the track that plays for the vocalist really didn't mesh well either

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:37pm

a hell of a good game!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:44pm

Style like in southpark) I like it

Quadnozzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:03pm

very nice graphics! 'Growth' theme is a bit tenuous, but still a fun game. Liked the music, sound effects clashed a bit. Didn't initially get that some objects are ok to jump on while others cause damage, but picked it up as I played

danidre14 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:07pm

Nice game, with a band, but a bit unsuitable in ways that you kill cops and fans. xD

Overall still a challenging cool game.

My response for your comment on my game:
No obstacles on the walls were only for level 1, all level 1s should be easy. I added the level designs in the description above, so please read it next time. Also there are four levels total, with different difficulties, and different things in different places.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Nice music and art

Joror says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:49pm

Cool concept, the difficulty seems a bit too easy tho, which made switching characters feed a tad useless.
A stronger "for this type of enemy you need this bandmember" would be helpful.

loxo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Good game concept with good music and voice acting, a bit short though. I would like to see a stronger connection between actions in the game and the music.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Wow nice job! I really liked the concept of adding addition band members. The compo version it seemed like only the lead guitarist would take damage... i like the idea that your band shrinks and grows over time with new members with new styles or something...

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 1:59pm

It's not bad … The music got kinda old quickly, and the theme wasn't really there.

scorched says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:49pm

I had fun playing it, though the jump sound was annoying, and overall the game is repetitive and easy. Nice characters also!

Gipzo says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Nice game! I'd love to enjoy a few more levels.

Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:26pm

While the Jam version is a little short, you have clearly put in a bunch of work to get the game to the standard you wanted. Using other band members to reach other tokens was a nice touch, though some more polish to the movement and level design would go a long way to making that feel better.

Overall, a fine showing!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]