Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Of Rites

by Oddly Shaped Pixels - Jam Entry

Well, haven't had time to finish it so it's not even a game, more a proof a concept. You can try it and see what you can do with it.
I'll definitely finish it!

I used the PICO8 palette by the way.

Controls:

LMB: Interact
RMB: Drop current item
Mouse wheel: Change item

Have fun!

**SPOILER ALERT**
It's full of bugs and glitches! Yeah!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2115Coolness24%

Comments

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:57pm

The graphics are nice, and I really like the gameplay with mouse. I like this entry, hope that you can finish it! good job!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:58pm

What a pitty it's not finished, I liked the mood a lot! Loved the little creatures, feeding and petting them. I'm intrigued about your plans with this.

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Finally a decent game here!

guoboism says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:59pm

Wow! 5 Star overall game.
The adventure feel, the pixel character, feeding the monster, all great! It would be better if the story made complete.
Like sth more happen to the monster and stuff...

I can see your potentials

Webravenz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Lovely litle characters :) Congrat !

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Sadly, I can't play windows games.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Nice is an interesting adventure game with good graphics and sound. With love to play.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Very cute! It wasn't apparent how to feed the critters and I couldn't figure out how to exit either. Overall, though, a very nice game!

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:03pm

I loved, A shame not to have music and be longer, would be wonderful. Really great job!

pixzleone says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Puzzles were a bit too easy, and could have used some music. Other than that really great! Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]