Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

GrowForce

by Ping78 - Compo Entry


About the game:
You are a tree. Now start growing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#173Theme4.08
#456Innovation3.19
#489Humor2.35
#519Overall3.19
#528Audio2.54
#544Mood2.88
#586Fun3.00
#706Graphics2.65

Comments

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Super cool! :)

ciobeni says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Incredible game! I just couldn't close it!

Polith Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Cool game!

gallerdude says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Hilarious growing game.

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:27pm

awesome!

trozen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:40pm

Strangely Addicting!

Auroz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:17pm

While it had an interesting concept, I didn't really see its purpose other than growing a larger plant. Maybe I was playing it wrong, but it didn't seem much fun to me.

Osaft says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:50pm

It's sad that you can not win this game it would be much better if you could.

goffmog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:03pm

I enjoyed this, a really fun little toy to make trees with :)

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Super original and addictive. I made a pretty cool tree, hoped for some sort of ending. Great graphics, full points on the theme and innovation. Great job!

torcado194 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:12pm

pretty entertaining, like an incremental game. though unless i missed something theres not much too it becides clicking and waiting. cool none the less!

Dianouille says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Great and fun gameplay.

denycetm says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:23pm

This could be the next cookie clicker if I could leave it running in the background.

StMatn says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:45pm

Nice work!
Its quite fun to grow the tree, but a goal and/or a reason to branch would have been nice ;)

Zener says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Very interesting concept, technically is also a very great.

miwuc says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Simple yet addictive. With more gameplay mechanics, this could be a great clicking game. I wish there was more freedom to move the camera around and zoom, as I had trouble seeing my tree/what I was doing.

uvwar says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Really awesome, I liked that I could also grow backwards underground and make a giant ball of leaves

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]