Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Vine Simulator

by paradxil - Compo Entry

Description
-----------------
This game attempts to show what it would be like to live as a vine. Grow, find water, gather sunlight, and avoid various animals as they try to eat you.

Running
-----------------
Run it using Vine.exe.

Technical Info
-----------------
I wrote this game using Python2.7 and Pygame and compiled it for windows using py2exe. If you want to run it on other platforms you can download the source and run main.py. Ensure you have Pygame and Python2.7 installed.

How to Play
-----------------
There is a tutorial in the game, but basically you try to stay alive as long as possible. Your vine will constantly grow and you control its movement using the A and D keys. These turn the direction of movement your vine. There are two bars in the upper left hand corner. The blue one shows your water level and the yellow one your sunlight level. If they get too low you will start dying. Grow above ground for sunlight and grow in water to get more water. The longer you grow the more sun and water you need. Animals will come and eat you. If they eat parts of you in water and sunlight your sun and water levels will decrease. The gray box with a spinner in it shows you which direction you are traveling in.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#204Theme4.05
#276Mood3.28
#325Graphics3.40
#413Innovation3.25
#430Overall3.30
#509Audio2.58
#644Fun2.93
#644Humor1.96

Comments

Mixer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:02am

Gee, I am surprised this hasn't been rated yet. It's really fun! Really liked that simulation, and although the graphics were simple, I really liked them too. I liked seeing the visual changes of the plant dry up, that was interesting and showed a lot of detail had been put in.

Nooner Bear says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:03am

This is a nice and calm little game. However, I found it slightly slow and difficult to tell where my head was and in what direction I was going (even with the indicator). Overall it's a fun take on the theme.

paradxil says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:52am

@Nooner Bear Thanks for the feedback. I hope to continue this game and make it better so I appreciate the time you took to review it.

irwatts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:14am

Really cool! Audio wasn't working for me, but I had a pretty zen experience anyway. This could be expanded into an awesome sandbox.

purenickery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:02am

This was a pretty cool game. I really loved how the vine slowly turned grey when you ran out of water

paradxil says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:07am

@irwatts Thanks for playing my game. I will have to look into the audio problem. If anyone else is having a problem with the audio I would love to know what OS you are on and if you are running it with the .exe or python.

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:09am

Good concept! Fun game :)

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:33am

Vine: get rekt by bunnies and worms. Not bad :)

John Drury says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:40am

Brilliant, loved the idea of this game! Can see it on mobile.

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:45am

Audio didn't work for me either.
For some reason, my water decreased, and didn't go up, even though I was right in the middle of a pool..?

I like the graphics and the 'dying' of the vine, nice game ^^

Tyler says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:59am

I thought it fit the theme well and I enjoyed it. However I found it a bit slow and hard to control the vine. Really impressive vine generation for only 48 hours!

intXparts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:42pm

Awesome game! Embarrassingly I had a hard time not killing myself in the water haha. Loved the music and art. Excellent work!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Nice job! I enjoyed this game a lot, loved the animals that try to eat you!

WolvesOfOdin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Enjoyed this game, great job!

davesoft says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:42pm

A lovely little game! I think I'll be playing it after the competition :D

wilsk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Playing it has told me that I'm not going to be a vine driver when I grow up - I spent most of my time growing downwards!

Nice looking game with peaceful music. Music was a little loud but I think that's probably because other games I've played have had quiet music so my headphones were right up. Thanks.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:03pm

1177. Good idea and concept, lovely minimalistic art style, and a game that is basically a cellular automaton, which is cool. Controls were a little meh, quite hard to tell in which direction you're going even with that indicator, and not all that responsive. Also the promised tutorial was nowhere to be found!
Funny idea though, and great mood. :)

paradxil says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:16pm

@ShellfishGames Sorry about the tutorial. I accidentally left the tutorial disabled when I uploaded the zip. I fixed it now though.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:09am

Its fun, not really intuitive but fun :P

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:09am

Fun game! Very easy to get into and generally very relaxing. The music is very nice but some sound effects would also be good. Example: entering the water, growing through the ground, emerging, etc.

Member1221 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:12am

This game is pretty cool, i really liked the (quite mentioned) color change depending if you were underground or if you were running out of water. The music score for the game could have been extended or the game have multiple tracks? The current loop gets a little boring after listening to it around 10 times. (Though ofc. you were in time constraints, n stuff.) Overall, nice game!

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:39am

Cool and soothing game.
But listening to that 10 second loop for 10 minutes has melted my brain. :(

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:32am

This is hard to control. I got the feeling this is more of an experience than a game

Epicruins195 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:55am

What I liked:
- Pixel art looks great
- Dynamic simulation of the vine down to the individual pixel works very well
- Feels good to play, polished
- Music is simple but fits with the mood

What I think could be improved:
- Sometimes its hard to tell which direction the vine is going on, maybe the indicator should be closer to the head?
- Hard to tell how much of an affect touching water is having on your water levels.

ErinMcBride says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:17am

Neat game! Changing direction of the vine is a little difficult, and there didn't seem to be enough water in the level to not die. I loved the graphics and how you incorporated both themes!

RougeRogue says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:31am

Really fun and relaxing vine-growing-game-thing. Well, calm until you start getting EATEN ALIVE BY A DEER OH GOD NO HELP.

Hjalte500 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:51am

The mood is really nice and relaxing. Cant say anything was lacking. Great all around game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]