Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Civilise

by AnaglyphCoding - Compo Entry

'Civilise' is an isometric strategy game where you race against the CPU to E10000000, in order to stop it's evil mission to space.
Buy plots, expand them, install farms and increase your income.

Due to last minute changes, I had to add the instructions in a file named 'rules.txt'. I will paste the contents here in case you don't want to read it in the file:
"W, A, S, D to move the 'cursor'
SPACE to place a building on the cursors position, or extend an existing one
LEFT/RIGHT ARROW to slow down/fast-forward the time
ENTER to pause
ESCAPE to quickly quit the game
CTRL to toggle the price menu

Goal
The goal is to achieve E10000000 before the AI does. If the AI reaches the goal
before you do, the rocket sets off and you lose. If you reach the goal before
the AI does, the rocket sets off, but explodes and you win! Sounds simple,
right?..."

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#357Graphics3.33
#646Humor1.95
#724Mood2.58
#732Innovation2.70
#818Theme3.22
#849Overall2.74
#867Fun2.44

Comments

roninfight says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Do you need anything to play it? I get a "Could not find the main class: com.anaglyph.src.main.Game.Program will exit" error when double-clicking on the .jar on Windows 8

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:44pm

I had this problem when trying to run the game myself, but I fixed it. First of all, make sure you have the latest version of java and all that. If you do or that doesn't fix it, try opening the .jar file using 7zip or any other file exploring tool and navigate to the META-INF folder. Inside should be a file called 'MANIFEST.MF'. View that file and paste (without quotes) "Main-Class: com.anaglyph.src.main.Game" (make sure to get rid of any other lines that start with 'Main-Class'.) Hopefully that fixes the problem, sorry for the inconvenience!

Mekuri says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:30pm

Nice game. Strategy type games are a rare sight in Ludum Dare (At least the games I've played) - I tend to enjoy them. I was a bit confused about what to build- I managed to stack a lot of high buildings, and rack in a lot of money.
I had fun playing, nice job!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:43pm

The game was fun, a very interesting take on the theme.
The one issue I had with it was that I was unable to see the cursor once the buildings got high enough.

Besides that, a nice little game :)

SiENcE says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:39pm

The AI does not worked for me. I stacked several houses together, but AI does nothing. I really appreciate the game, because small strategy games are rare because it's very complicated to fine tune them.
I know, that doing this is more complicated than doing an simple action shooting game. Great job.

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:54pm

I like the style of this game, neat looking.

yhsper says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:55pm

As others have said, it's nice to see a strategy game in the jam, but I couldn't completely understand what I was supposed to do but stack building floors on top of each other. Looks interesting, though!

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Pretty interesting, but a little bit confusing; I had no idea how to build farms at first!

uthamon says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:35am

Proper strategy game, really fun. I like the graphics and sounds. In my last game I managed to get much higher income than CPU (2,3 millions opposed to CPU's 1,8), but it was to late and CPU still won, since I had put too much money into investing, high income didn't help me in the long run. So I was really impressed that You created such a deep system in 48 hours, the system that forces the player to think about the size of growth and not only just build on a whim.

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:09pm

I like the style. Had fun playing this one. The CPU didn't have any chance though.

Jerre says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Nice art, game was not super fun to me, didn't have the feeling i could do much more than just build as much as possible. Some small things that could be better: thousands separators with the big numbers, cursor got invisible. I do appreciate that you made a strategy game!

berkano says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:31pm

I really liked the graphics. I couldn't figure out how to build anything apart from the basic buildings. The AI was very slow, and seemed like it would take a long time for either of us to complete the game.

Rex Peppers says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:32pm

Can't play windows games... which stinks because this looks cool.

kardfogu says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:43pm

Quite solid entry, I can see how hard it can be to create a strategy game for Ludum Dare, so I respect the crap of this one. While it could use some work, I definitely find it a neat entry!
Keep up the good work!

- Kardfogú

Markus Brand says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:17pm

the idea is awesome. but i havent understood what "farms" are (as seen in the price menu), or how to build them. So even though i got 5 times more skyscrapers than the ai, i lost :(
Why is the sound so weird?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]