Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Robot Boxing

by Green Lightning - Jam Entry

In this game you are a robot punching random things in front of a hopefully appealing parallax background.

You must use the appropriate glove to hit the next thing or you will lose a life. Hit tall things (traffic signs and balloon) with the blue glove and small things (balls and cake) with the red glove.

To punch with the blue glove use the A key or the left arrow key or tap on the left side of the screen. To punch with the red glove use the S key or the right arrow key or tap on the right side of the screen. Use the ESCAPE key or tap on the upper 10% of the screen to go back to the menu (if you are in the menu this will show you the controls).

I initially planned to have a boxer punch things in a somewhat coherent world. However, I couldn't draw a boxer, so I drew a robot and I couldn't draw a nice coherent world, so I drew totally random things and two nice backgrounds. I hope you don't mind ;)

Technical notes:

The online version requires WebGL and the desktop version requires Java. The source code is provided as a zip file containing the LibGDX project and git directory. To import the source code, extract the contents of the zip file, open Eclipse and select File - Import... - Gradle - Gradle Project, then select the extracted folder, hit build model, select all projects and click on finish. If this does not sound familiar to you, please google and follow some LibGDX tutorials, because your computer needs to be set up correctly for development with LibGDX.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#141Fun(Jam)3.68
#247Humor(Jam)3.18
#284Theme(Jam)3.93
#446Overall(Jam)3.39
#490Innovation(Jam)3.18
#499Audio(Jam)3.04
#507Mood(Jam)3.22
#533Graphics(Jam)3.43
#2073Coolness26%

Comments

bazkur98 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:34pm

Not bad! Took me a bit to figure out that I was hitting low and high, I thought it was color coded or something like that. Once I figured it out though I thought it was pretty good!

tribrain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Good game!! nice details, a little hard to comprehend at the beginning.

Quadnozzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Controls took a bit to figure out, especially since the 'punchable things' come fast from the start, but pretty neat once I got the high/low idea. Liked the music and audio! Changing rate of movement would be a cool addition - start out slow, speed up the longer the player stays alive.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Thanks for the comments everyone. I thought about adding little indicators below the things showing you which boxing glove to use, but I didn't have enough time :(

Ludic says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:56pm

simple and elegant

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:15pm

cute and fun game, nice work

denycetm says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:28pm

The controls took a minute for me to figure out. At least for the web version I tried right click for the bottom punch and it brought up a context menu.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:09am

Not bad, impressive that you made multiple stages.

Grahhhhh says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:20pm

So simple yet so much fun! Sounds effects and smooth animating was critical and pulled off nicely.

cudabear says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:51pm

This is a fun little game. I wonder why you made it end at 100 things? Might be fun to go forever. Well done!

fafastudio says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:59am

A great entry in my opinion ^^
It lacked a bit of music and the choice of key seems odd (up and down would have been way better i suppose)
I loved the pixel art and the sound effects.
This incoherent world bring the fun and it finally is a good experience ! :)

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:04pm

A cool, two button game. Nice oomph to hitting the obstacles and was fun to play.

Good job. :)

LeReveur says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:45am

Simple and effective game. I had fun playing it until I win, so : good job. :)

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Amusing little game. Controls weren't immediately obvious. After working it out though it was pretty fun. Interesting use of the two button theme.

Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:25pm

simple idea, but it kept me playing again and again.
really funny and very good use of the theme. good job. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]