Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Yume Starcatcher

by alexrus07 - Jam Entry

Yume Starcatcher is a game about Yume, who is an ice mage kid. It's focused on the Two Button Controls theme.

It's a new take on breakout, and the goal of each level is to break out blocks to get to the star. Each block falls down when hit, so make sure Yume is out of the way!

You will start out with one Ice Ball, but over time Yume can conjure more. An arrow will appear that dictates which way the Ice Ball will travel.

Avoid the Ice Balls when they're flying around, they can knock Yume out.
Collect coins and dodge falling blocks successfully to increase your score.

Collect the star in every level to win, and face a boss in the end.

Controls: Use left and right to walk and advance menus.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#11Fun(Jam)4.23
#15Overall(Jam)4.27
#43Innovation(Jam)4.00
#96Graphics(Jam)4.32
#200Mood(Jam)3.63
#310Theme(Jam)3.90
#568Humor(Jam)2.56
#1922Coolness33%

Comments

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:34am

Really nice implementation of the theme, and good innovation on this kind of game. An excellent entry !

alvarop says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:28am

I got addicted to this game. Please make more levels.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:38pm

You have done a nice work here, with the modification of some well-known mechanics, a good use of the theme and nice gameplay, good job!

Tacohej says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Great game! Love the graphics and feel it. It would be nice to add more control over the projectiles. Anyway good job

TeamDromedare says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Oooh, gotta love those retro-styled graphics! The gameplay was really fun as well! It's a hard game.. but damn, if you're gonna make a retro-styled game it better be hard to complete! ^^

Donar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:49pm

Nice, I didn't expect to discover a rather fresh touch on a "Breakout" game. Good Job!

The only problem is, that the angle never changes, when the player doesn't bounce the ball back. Some not rectengular hitboxes might have been interesting here.

zguerrero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:53pm

perfect ludum game! well polished, simple and chalenging, excelents graphics and sound to, why can't we rate the sounds by the way?

bradur says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Good looking game with good mechanics & sounds :). I got hit by the ball many times :D.

Eldraev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:24pm

This is a pretty hard game which makes trying to get through all the levels fun. The design is really nice and I like the mechanics. The pixel art is adorable as well. I don`t see the point in the score though since you will get more and more points every time you die.

DonEngland says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Cool idea. Didn't realize that I had to dodge the ball. Changing angle on the ball would probably improve it a bit.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:52am

Thank me for playing? Thank YOU for making the game!

Things I liked:
- The game felt polished. It had a well thought out progression of levels that led the player from start to finish.
- The graphics and sound effects were well made, consistent, and well presented. No complaints in either area.
- The idea is innovative and unique! I've never played a game like this before!

Suggestions:
- The quickest way to beat levels was standing nearly in the middle so that the ball would bounce straight up and down. This strategy could be prevented by offsetting the ball shooting angle more, or by placing the star off to the side
- You write that this was for the 2 button theme, but I used 3 buttons! Two arrows for movement, and the spacebar to shoot...

Overall great entry! It was both innovative and fun :D

SirJavaGaming says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Android link seems to be dead

alexrus07 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:01am

@BoxedMeatRevolution Ah, sorry, the spacebar shooting feature was just for dev and was not supposed to be in the final version. I removed it.

@SirJavaGaming Sorry about that. I fixed the link.

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Very nice game! Loved the art, the music (except for the ear-bleeding tones, those really need to go!), the sound effects. Nice entry!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:50am

i am so glad i played this - this is maybe the best game i played for the whole dare - awesome work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]