Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

How to train your army

by alhvi - Jam Entry

---------------------------------------------------------------------
UPDATE 15/03/2016: Android app available here https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.selva.trainArmy
---------------------------------------------------------------------

Destroy your enemy's castle. Don't let them destroy yours.

Use the orange button on the bottom left to train your army.
Use the blue button to cast powers.

Keep the button pressed until the bar reaches the unit or action you want to use, then release the button.

Esc to pause.

For some unkown reason the Webgl version takes a long time to load. Please be patient :)

Made by Carlos Villagran and Alhvi Balcarcel.

Music: "Achaidh Cheide" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0 License
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Thank you for playing :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#5Theme(Jam)4.64
#20Fun(Jam)4.13
#46Overall(Jam)4.04
#74Innovation(Jam)3.87
#262Graphics(Jam)3.91
#348Mood(Jam)3.42
#403Humor(Jam)2.83
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

SelfTitled says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Interesting take on the two buttons.
Feel like a couple of sound affects would have added a lot
I really like the art style, those are some cute dragons :)

sirono says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Very good! It is a new challenge of defense game. And good music also! you can improve the graphic then it will be the best!

emanvidmaker says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:01pm

a bit unbalanced

Auroz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Fun take on the theme, I enjoyed it a fair bit. The music got a bit repetitive after a while, but otherwise a pretty enjoyable game!

Yvanor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Nice game, great use of the theme, good graphics, quite fun gameplay. Just a problem: the looping music ! :'(

Good game ^^

sichevoid says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:14pm

I especially liked the gameplay and art. Good work!

Oski says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Finally beat the game! Definitely needs sound effects, and the controls did get a bit boring after a while. Mace guys felt OP.

Bobsleigh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Great game! I had a bit of a "defend your castle" feel while playing it. Nice gameplay idea too. Love everything about it.

torcado194 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Wow i really liked this! the concept is really good and feels pretty well balanced! and the art is nice

alhvi says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:06am

Thanks everyone for the comments :D

gelisam says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:22am

I really liked it! I only wish it was possible to use keyboard buttons instead of mouse buttons.

Spencer Alves says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:18am

Really hard, but very well put together! I think sound effects would add a lot.

StrehFox says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:50am

I love this! The two button theme, is more of an aside, but the combination of build time and unit selection in one button is really clever!

Wakefield says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:24am

So fun and just a great concept! Press the buttons for long time is bored after few minutes but at the beggining is surprisingly fun. Hope to se a more advanced version!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]