Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The amazingly clunky 2-button platformer!

by JaytleBee - Compo Entry

Here it is! A platformer that uses only 2 buttons!
Now, you might ask "But JatlBee, why'd you do that? isn't that really clunky?"
My reply would be this: "You spelled my name wrong."

There might or might not be a secret bonus level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#33Theme4.38
#72Innovation3.93
#122Humor3.36
#292Overall3.48
#339Fun3.34
#618Mood2.78
#719Graphics2.62

Comments

BoltKey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:34am

The embedded frame doesn't load.

At first I was like: 0 deaths, watch me. After 32 deaths, I was like: Ok, I take it back.

I was very sceptic about this concept, but turned out ok. It was very hard, but once I got used to it, it was possible. It is kind of like learning combos in Mortal Combat :).

intXparts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Cool game! I liked the way you implemented a platformer using only 2 buttons, nicely done. My hand got a nice workout this morning trying to maneuver around all of the obstacles.

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Interesting game! I like what you've done with it!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:55pm

this is definitely different! love it, very creative, well done :)

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Jeez, that was a challenging game. But totally doable! A rather fun experience!

AlexLemminG says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Great game, fun and challenging!

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Interesting concept but too many deaths. Graphics could be better.

broknecho says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:49am

Neat idea! Almost started turning into a music rhythm game with the combinations of buttons being pressed.

Nice job!

Switchiers says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Very frustrating game but nice!

thesquigglez says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:58pm

loved the controls. did not see the selection menu at first but when i saw it i liked it

r8berto says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:58pm

I was thinking about doing something simmilar (in fact my controls are also switch and action). Good to see that idea working so well, nicely done! :D

@SamPotasz says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Neat application of the theme, although I found it a little too frustrating to really get into.

Hybrog says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:50pm

I like this quite a bit! Having to select from different platforming actions is something I saw from another game, but yours provides a few more options, and is a bit more concise in execution. Very fun, but very hard. Managed to beat it though, but I'm unsure about whether the bonus level was one of the ones I did or not... fun nonetheless. :)

Mantlair says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Cool. Pretty hardcore and idea probably crossed eveybodys minds but. I enjoyed it. And nice jokes here and there. Well done!

rplnt says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 12:07pm

Awesome! And cruel.

Big Cow says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:38pm

You totally delivered on the title! Actually I found it quite clever how there is the puzzle element due to he limitation of the controls. very Frustrating and very clunky. Good sense of humour. Nice work.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]