Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Cavernous Pink

by Zemmi - Jam Entry

Control the forces of a very moist space biome with the power of your two trusty feet and the unwitting aid of the hostile natives.

F to move left (X also works)
J to move right (C also works)
Combine the two to jump or smash.

*NOTE*
So everybody knows, there is no audio. Just ran out of time and I don't like opting out of categories. Will be adding it (probably not until after Christmas though)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#124Innovation(Jam)3.74
#175Fun(Jam)3.62
#225Theme(Jam)4.00
#249Overall(Jam)3.61
#412Graphics(Jam)3.64
#624Humor(Jam)2.47
#663Audio(Jam)2.47
#679Mood(Jam)3.00

Comments

lectric.monk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:40am

Loved this! Great art style and love the controls.

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:41am

It is quite a difficult game. but well made. good work

Dalkor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:44am

Technically you use 3 buttons because you have set r to restart. :P

Other then that, the game is fun. I like the art style.

Zemmi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:22am

@Dalkor As I was submitting it I had a filling someone would bring up the restart button debacle. xD

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:30am

Controls are pretty finicky, I needed time to get used to them. And I agree with Dalkor, you could have used one of the two buttons to restart instead of assigning a third button. Other than that, that's a nice concept and I enjoyed my time playing.

VideoDog says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:58am

Nice Looking game. Very challenging!

qkerguelen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:07am

Very cool game with a fun idea! I really like it eveni f it's hard to handle at first!

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:49pm

It's difficult but it's fun, I like the art! This is a good entry!

mr. a says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:34am

I re-enabled Flash for a bit just to play this. It's worth it.

Initial learning curve is pretty steep, but things get more interesting after the first dozen or so deaths.

Especially lovely is the variety of changes that creatures can undergo, from the drill-eels losing their tail to the jellyfish becoming jelly-bumps, then joining into jelly-walls. These little surprises, and the emergent complexity of the situation as things progress, are excellent.

DecayConstant says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:19am

I loved this entry. Overall good things, but I didn't hear audio... but judging by the lack of comments about audio, it might have been on my end?

bazkur98 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:20am

Didn't get any audio, that was a bummer. It was strangely addictive though.

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:24am

Great game! I like how you mapped all the controls (move, jump, dash) to two buttons and it still works somehow.
The audio didn't work for me.

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Great game, interesting use of the theme, it was a tough challenge to get a high score as it progressively gets harder which I like. I didn't hear any audio which was a little upsetting as a game like this would totally suit some great audio whilst playing. Other than that really nice game

Zulgot says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Nice game - really funny :)

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:47pm

This is great! The two-button controls are just lovely, intuitive and deep. I loved learning how the enemies work through experimentation. It kept me coming back even after a few rage-inducing moments with the drill-worms. Love it!

AndreasL says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:45pm

Cute graphics! The game gets hectic a bit fast, or maybe I'm just bad at the game...
I enjoyed it but some sound would make it a lot better ,I think.
Good job!

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Just wanted to let you know, this is the only game so far I've come back to this LD to play just for fun. That's a rare thing, so kudos for that!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]