Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Life of the Party

by laaph - Jam Entry

You are the life of the party! Jump on the roof, muddle about confusing controls, walk up to people, and dance to get them to dance!

Controls: Z and X. Z moves up-right OR down-left. It alternates between pressings. X moves up-left OR down-right. Again, each time you press it, it alternates.

Dancers: Each dancer has a secret code (composed of Z's and X's) that you must dance to get them to dancing. Walk up to them to see their secret code. When they start dancing, they have a certain amount of energy (seconds) that they will keep dancing for. You are such a life of the party, that when you are close while they are dancing, you'll increase their energy! They'll tell you their energy when you get close. The energy maxes out at ten, in case you were wondering why they say "10" to you all the time.

Get everyone dancing to pass the level!

Teams! This was a large team.
Me: Programming
Chris: Programming
Magdalene Rose (twitter @codename_nycea): Character sprite art
Warren: Background art
Will Bucknam (twitter @voicetoname web http://voicetogame.com): Audio for level 1 and opening screen

All other audio was found on the internet.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#212Audio(Jam)3.56
#336Innovation(Jam)3.38
#535Mood(Jam)3.19
#700Theme(Jam)3.47
#757Overall(Jam)3.05
#832Graphics(Jam)2.76
#854Fun(Jam)2.71
#1857Coolness36%

Comments

h.attila says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:39pm

I can't run this because you only have an OS/X build. :/

laaph says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:47pm

I had some issues because my version didn't have a "Build for windows" button. It turned out that if you do a default install on newer versions of Unity, it won't build for windows! Anyway, I reinstalled and made a Windows build.

Cheers!

Eingya says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:23am

Very awkward to control. While that is probably part of the challenge of the game, if I have to be honest I just find it a bit frustrating.

mcfearless999 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:32am

The theme was only two buttons for controls so they are a bit awkward and frustrating, but yeah, part of the challenge

Louspirit says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:15pm

I disliked the controls, felt like I had no control. But very nice sound and original concept anyway

Dayko says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:06am

Haahaha that was fun :D I like the gameplay very much, maybe it needs more tuning / balancing, but your game is definetely a success :D

DissonEnt says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:16am

The mood was great, but the controls were more frustrating than it was fun.

laaph says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:44am

Eingya, thank you for making the video! I finally watched it! I always appreciate watching people playing and commenting because I can see how they react to it.

awesomerex says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Interesting game concept. I liked the music! I think the time countdown time on the dancers could go up in the later levels. I had trouble getting everyone dancing when there were 5. The way you handled 2 button controls was frustrating but also added to the challenge of the game.

hyperscope says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 2:27am

While the control scheme may have been intentional I still found it frustrating to play. The audio however was on point!

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 3:42am

Good game, great music choice! I had some difficulty with the controls, and would've preferred left/right & up/down versions as opposed to diagonal variants, but it was still fun to play each level.

Wumbo says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:18am

OK, firstly, I really liked the dance moves; they were pretty cool. Also, the particle effects on the YOU ARE AWESOME screen was some pretty rockin' positive reinforcement.

<Sigh> Controls...??? You had 4-5 people doing this? Did you guys think like "OK, lets come up with the most awkward and seemingly-random controls imaginable, but still only use two buttons"? Did you guys play this? I guess I'll just count it as humor, because I would imagine that if you were sitting here behind me, you would be laughing non-stop at how incompetent I am at getting around the board.

Music was excellent, but just a tad repetitive. It did fit the game very well, though.

I got to level 5 I think, but then there were just so many people that I gave up. I found that it was way easier if you just moved on to the next person to make them dance then to stand near people to increase their time.

Cool game, but the controls made it feel weird, as the rest of the people who played it seem to think. :)

P. S. The fish was my favorite dance, though the flower pot (?) was also pretty cool.

Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:45am

It did fit the theme, but as others have said just too frustrating.

laaph says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 6:38am

You can blame all the frustrating controls on me. mcfearless999 was with me until the end, but the rest of the group made their assets and left; I'm not even sure if they've played the game!

I had been thinking about an iphone version of this game; in that you would have arrows or something indicating what the next move will be. Would that clear up some frustration if you had a visual indicator indicating what direction the buttons would do?

(I think I'm the only person who doesn't find the controls too frustrating; but then again I'm the one to blame for them.)

Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:07am

Super weird and neat and with great variety of tunes.

nihilaleph says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 2:23am

Pro:
+ Cool concept
+ Art is cool (though sometimes feel a bit random)
+ Great music selection
Con:
- A bit difficult to control
Obs:
o I think the iPhone idea would be nice. It's just hard to move around the place with only 2 buttons. Maybe you could make all sorts of dance moves to be done like different swipes and stuffs.
o Got stuck at level 6

Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]