Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Parse The Sky

by dustyroom - Jam Entry

Don't worry, you will win when the time comes. The spheres will grow and become easier to touch. Meanwhile, just explore the air. Fly somewhere nice.

Use arrow keys to navigate;
X - inverse controls;
Esc - pause.

Music and art: https://twitter.com/polygrim
Soundtrack: https://soundcloud.com/dstrm/parse-the-sky
Twitter: https://twitter.com/dustyroomgames

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#6Audio(Jam)4.50
#13Mood(Jam)4.38
#15Graphics(Jam)4.71
#73Overall(Jam)3.93
#339Fun(Jam)3.38
#579Innovation(Jam)3.04
#1027Theme(Jam)2.60

Comments

victorfisac says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:40am

Amazing graphics style :D I really like it

Bastienre4 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:41am

Awesome game ! Controls are neat !

Ka-Wiz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:45am

very calm and relaxing experience. could have done without any collectibles, in my opinion, because getting used to the controls is fairly difficult and didn't feel very natural. still though, it's a beautiful game to just glide around in.

RougeRogue says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:51am

Really fun to just fly around the game for a while. The world looks absolutely beautiful and the music just helps enhance the whole feel. Only thing I can fault it on is the controls; maybe have the vertical controls inverted instead?

dlowe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:52am

Nice graphics and music. We couldn't get used to the odd controls :(

Frenchie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:12am

Holy shit this game is gorgeous! I love it! My favorite part is the trails coming off the plane. Seeing them playfully wisp around everywhere as I turned around really just made the experience so much better!

I had a little bit of difficulty controlling the plane - it seemed like the plane would "stall" if I turned too fast. Maybe you're just adding a force in the player's current direction and not manually turning the velocity vector at all?

One suggestion with a little known Unity trick: when you make your web build, set the player settings -> desktop resolution to 9999x9999. Doing so will cause going fullscreen in the web build to actually use the PC's native resolution instead of just keeping it the same and stretching the image. On a game as pretty as this, it's a shame to not get it as crisp as it should be!

Strike says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:16am

Very good mood and art style. It takes time to understand the controls and get used to them, but once done it's a pure pleasure to fly around. Sometimes the plane doesn't seem to respond anymore, i manage to escape this situation by holding for very long one of the key. Not sure if I'm hitting the limits of the levels or if there is anything else happening there. No big deal anyway, very enjoyable game.

Dalkor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:24am

This game is beautiful and the music just works. Controls are a bit wonky at times. Still, easily the best LD34 jam game I've played thus far.

Ryusui says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:31am

Reminds me of a cross between Sky Odyssey and Continuum/Alpha Waves. :3

My only gripe is the controls. Why did you go with realistic plane physics (including stalling!) but reverse "pull up" and "dive" from every other flight sim out there? You could have at least included an "invert Y-axis" option. :(

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:06am

Nice concept, et well done for the atmosphere, nice touch with simple art !

Same as above : You could add a switch to invert vertical control.

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:12am

Wut. How even. This game is ridiculously good - by far the best game I've seen this Ludum Dare. Keep up the good work, I really look forward to seeing your next submission!

bradur says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:25am

Wow, what a good looking game! Here are my thoughts:

+ Graphics are gorgeous
+ The sound / music design is great! I really liked the theme song.
+ The way the game starts seamlessly when you press start game is cool

- The controls are a bit hard and there is no speed meter or a way to control your speed so it can be a bit tricky to play the game
- Sometimes it's difficult to gauge your distance to other objects, since the plane is white and so are the blobs you must collect
- Could have used a setting where you invert up / down arrow (as is common in flying games)

Reccy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:15am

Best game I've played yet! Love the music and the art style! The plane was really to fly too! :D

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:23am

Looks really great! But it hard to play without vertical inverse control. This not usual for some players like me.

maunovaha says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:06pm

Nicely made, I especially liked the mood of the game. Controllers were a bit hard to grasp because the plan was white = didn't know the direction to go. Other than that, well made.. :)

sergei_ryzhov says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:05pm

soooooo beautiful! Wish i was working on a games like yours.

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:08pm

the game looks and sounds great but without option to separately invert axis X and Y its barely playeable for me. For me Y axis should be inverted.

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Graphics and audio work extremely well together, and both are fantastic.
The controls are pretty strange though.

uncade says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Fantastic art!

The controls are a bit difficult, and I was having trouble with depth perception as both the plane and orbs are bright white

limered says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Beautiful! You can just relax and fly around. Very calming. You know, you shoud invert the y-control-axis, right? XD

anael says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Very elegant, super style, music and feeling (I like the transition to color at the beginning). But I'm sorry I couldn't handle the control, too frustrating... It's too bad because it could really have been one of my fav.

cynicalmonkey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:17pm

stunning looking game with great audio and sense of space. controls weren't for me but that didn't take away from playing it to much.

I did however score you low on theme, just being honest with you here, for me it just didn't feel like the Theme directly effected the game design at all. it's stunning don't get me wrong, just thematically didn't resonate.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:18pm

WOW such colorful ,such cool ,my eyes are bleeding))

Tutti Ankka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Amazing visuals and sounds, controlling the plane was pretty odd. When I turned fast enough the plane controls stopped working for a couple of seconds. The game is great though!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Gorgeous color scheme and music! Love the takeoff scene. controls were surprisingly hard...seemed to be sluggish on rolling side to side? The music kept me flying though.

RadStar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Omagad, so trippy !!! Loved it!
Love the music, love the graphisme, love everything.
The only thing is, i was perturbed by up goes up and down goes down, on average plane game it's in the other way.
And I don't see how it fits the theme.

Still one of my favourite!

Yamzho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Amazing aesthetics, amazing music, amazing experience ! Just fyi, as a someone who flies planes, the controls are a bit counter-intuitive. But great great job on that entry ! Well done !

sleepYxy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Wow, great music and graphics!
It's so much fun to fly around, did you synch the speed of the plane to the beat of the music?
The intro is really smooth. I like the way you can see your own tracks.

The only downside I found was controls. When I was doing barrel rolls and the topside was down I was really confused which button to push to fly upwards. I got the hang of it over time, but yeah.

sararyCow says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Just beautiful! I loved your good taste in colors and music. Unfortunately becomes a bit hard to control however after polishing controls this could become an interesting whole game.

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:36pm

Great experience. Music is top notch. Visuals are fitting and pleasing. Would be nice to have an option to invert up and down (since its kinda a standard). Intro take a while too, which is not great.

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:36pm

Really beautiful game! The mood and the environment are amazing. But the best of this game is the music. Congratulations to the developers

Madball says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Awesome music. Graphics are fine too. Controls are questionable, but still alright. In general, I enjoyed every aspect of the game. Especially music.

The plane needs an ability to barrel roll. Seriously. The game doesn't allow it to go directly upwards, which also makes turning backwards way more difficult. Why does it stop me from going up if there is no "up"?

I can never tell if I will collect an orb or not, I can't figure out the distance to anything. Might be me, might be camera.

MintArcade says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Awesome everything! Absolutely beautiful game. Love it.

Sosolol261 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:01pm

It's a very relaxing game. Also, it has very nice graphics!

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Gorgeous visuals!

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:40pm

Fantastic art style! Music is awesome too. Really great experience. Controls are a bit fiddly, and also felt like they were backwards, as plane controls are typically inverted up/down, so that should probably be an option or something. Great work overall.

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:40pm

This is game is visually stunning, a truly remarkable entry for a game jam! Same goes for the audio, it offers a really pleasant experience. On the downside, controls felt a bit too confusing, it's a bit too hard to get the spheres. We feel it could benefit a lot from a different control scheme, we'd love to see future versions of the game being developed.

fxtagn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Wonderful style & flying control! =D
Camera work on the steep turns can be better.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Really nice graphics, love it :D. Music is awesome to.
The Gameplay is a little bit hard to understand at the beginning, especially the bottom button, but so enjoyable to play :D.

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:41pm

Super stylish visuals and awesome choice in music. Controls were a bit finicky and made it tough to control :(

Rodaja says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Wonderful, really pretty and relaxing game. As some have already pointed out, up/down controls are normally inverted in flying games, which makes controlling this game a bit frustrating. An option to invert up and down would have been really welcome. Other than that, pretty enjoyable piece.

Robber says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:08pm

sublime experience...really dig that shuffle beat music combined with the heavenly colors..this game has a nice Rez like feel to it...controls are weird but interesting choice in this abstract world..i felt the challange there..great job.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:36am

Love the look and the sound, my mind exploded when the color came into the world.

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:01am

That was a beautiful experience! Thank you for making this.

As everyone said, the controls are very hard, and it's probably because I don't know airplane physics, but even as it was hard to control, was was slowly able to navigate a little bit.

The visuals are extremely beautiful, but the audio truly wins me over. Phenomenal job!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:53am

Very nice atmosphere! There's something I don't like about the controls, maybe the camera behavior or just that I can't tell which way is up, but as a whole it feels very good.

Reminds me of: http://kotaku.com/a-game-that-imagines-a-happy-ending-for-a-tragic-loss-1742203440

Yword says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:22am

Very beautiful and polished! I think it will be better if the plane can shift to left or right. Well done!

Gallo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:00am

Beautiful graphics, and the music is sublime!! Can I get the music to listen it in loop? :P

bloomingbuds says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:00am

Amazing art and sounds, just awesome. A little hard to control (maybe the up and down control could be inverted?)

Warboys says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:02am

Superb audio-visual experience, just read the above comments to see my shared view on how gorgeous the game is. The controls felt really off to me, though. I could never get the plane to go where I wanted which was a big shame.

Valandre says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:10pm

Very nice graphics and such a good mood!

David Cookie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:46pm

Really a gorgeous game! Too bad I couldn't get used to controls.. Impossible to understand how to turn, pushing left or right arrow only make my plane do a barrel roll :/ Except that point, the only flaw of this game is that it doesn't fit both theme of the jam. Yep, that's all I can find :p
Really has a huge potential here!

spolsh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:12pm

I love this style! Check out our game, it is quite similar ;)

randomhuman says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Beautiful game, very stylish, awesome soundtrack. I found it a bit hard to control - I guess that's why there's a post-compo version. But, it did have a nice glidey feel nonetheless.

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:54pm

This is a really beautiful looking and sounding game, if it wasn't for the music and graphics, I would've given up early due to frustration from the controls. Moving the plan up and down is simple enough, but steering is really difficult.

Great job on the art stuff!

geckojsc says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Absolutely amazing! Stunning visuals and incredible music, I'm going to check out Polygrim's album right now :)

Didn't have too many issues with the controls, but then I've had some practise before with games like Air Brawl.

Anyways, you guys did a great job, really great experience.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:05am

Controls were a bit difficult to get used to but other than that it was quite enjoyable. I don't think the theme was used very well though

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:06am

Amazing graphics, soundtrack was enjoyable... Quite relaxing, yet challenging...

Controls took a little to get used to, I kept mixing up when I was inverted and when I wasn't, BUT I STILL GOT EVERYTHING!!!

Split82 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:17am

Excellent visuals, music and mood. Really enjoyed it.

lebrokholic says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:49pm

This is so awesome! I'd like to play this more and more

Codexus says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Interesting look, but the controls are weird, the plane should turn when banking.

Pusty says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Nice music and graphics but not too sure how this fits the theme :D

KayZ says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Beautiful and perfect.

The controls felt natural, I didn't have any problems with them.

The only critic I have, is that the game ends when I collected all orbs. Had to play the game several times to enjoy it even more :). Very soothing.

jsmars says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:39pm

Amazing mood and music! Really pretty graphic style too, the plane was a bit difficult to control

ohmaigawd says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Amazing graphics! The controls are a little bit weird though - most of the time I felt like I was fighting the plane. Anyways really nice game overall, easy 5/5 on most categories :D

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:37pm

Maybe I am wrong, but it seems to me that I played with this game one month ago. I remember a poetical travel about a grandfather who disappears during the Algerian independence war. It's a beautiful project, but Ludum Dare isn't a showcase so as to expose an older project. This is the link and tell me if I am wrong. I wait before to rate ++
http://armelgibson.itch.io/oases

ssodelta says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:57pm

Ultra awesome startup with the kickdrop and colors !!! Such a beutiaful game.

Farelle says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:20am

difficult to get used to the controls but the whole atmosphere and graphics and music are stunning :O

Lancelot Gao says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:40am

Really polished and great looking entry! Enjoyed playing!

jeroenwimmers says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:50am

great graphics, audio and mood wow. I did have some troubles with the controls. I think because it aligns itself. especially when I fly upside down and press up to go down it didn't work as expected.

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:05am

Graphics, atmosphere, music at a professional level. Controls are strange, I could not really understand. Compliance with the theme rather nominal. But, great job! Good luck ^_^

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:24am

What a experience. Thank you. The controls were a little wonky, but other that just amazing.

Jwatt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:46am

It's moody and stuff, but man is the control scheme off the wall. It's fun to look at but not really rewarding or enjoyable as a game, and it's utilization of the theme seems like an afterthought.

The best way to describe this is that it feels like the result of an animation studio hired to make a game, when they don't really even play video games. I'll be a bit bummed out if the presentation fools people into rating this high in the jam.

euske says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:03am

Like other people, both controls and the connection to the theme wasn't very obvious to me.

rijnswand says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Really beautiful game! The mood and music are great. The controls were a bit hard for me to get used to, but once I did it felt awesome to fly around.

wooltech says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:29am

Clearly inspired by Race The Sun, but with your own control scheme and feel. Looks great and although difficult to steer at first I got used to it. (Up and Down felt backwards though!)

Very well polished, brilliant.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:35am

It's a dream come game. Introspective, colorful, relaxing, yeah, it's a dream, and still a game. A good one. Very well done.

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:31am

Beautiful visuals and sound (seriously, that song fit perfectly)! I struggled with the controls a bit so gave up a little early trying to collect anything, but really enjoyed just flying around

PeteDS says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Only one word to describe this...awesome!

mukult says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Nice art and good smooth controls!! :) I played a very similar game before...
The guy made that game because his father was a pilot of a plane which crashed during world war...
He was telling that he made that game as a memory to him! :)

Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:06am

Not really on theme, but a really beautiful looking flight game, and fun to fly around in this world. A little hard to gauge the distance to the orbs since their lighting is very flat.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:58am

I'm afraid the controls were just too hard for me. Pressing left or right alone just made the plane spin, but continue going along the same trajectory. Very pretty to watch though.

spotco says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:39am

really nice graphics + music, but would have preferred traditional pitch/yaw/roll plane controls

lurils says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:04am

very interesting, nice mood and aesthetic, wish it was a bit easier to control and also had some more to explore

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:36pm

The look is wonderful, I think does not resolve any of the themes, but it's a great job.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Points for style, that's for sure, name and feel-wise influenced by that other game with "Sky" in the name, I forget…
The steering got easier when I stopped using the up key unless I was flying straight ahead. Theme-relatedness…, yeah. Bit sad that the end was just a fade to white and reset as the rest was rather polished.

Smooth.

zzapp says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Nice work, the aesthetics are really well done and the controls are pretty good when you get the hang of them.
The theme could of used a bit more integration, but it was helpful the orbs grew, made it very relaxing and stress free.

tanis says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:10am

The graphics is amazing! I kind of had a hard time to get used to the controls, though.

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 1:05pm

The experience was pretty nice and graphics are really zen. But I really don't manage to fly where I want & it's a bit frustrating. Great entry by the way! Congrats!

Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:10pm

You've been featured in Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LVgAZTrVZag

Dejvo says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:22pm

awesome game! i wonder how is it possible to make something like this in 72 hours. amazing work. polish up the controls and release this as a full game

jackrugile says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 3:41am

What an amazing game. It was a beautiful piece of art, all around. Well done!

local minimum says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Amazing. I played with a 360-controller and though I have no flying skills and little controller skills, it worked very well. I much enjoyed exploring the world and navigating it. It was a bit strange that it wasn't the glider, but the camera that should collect the orbs, but once I had figured that out it was OK.

Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:44am

Awesome graphics and THE MUSIC! hahaha seriously though I really enjoyed it :)

nassi says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Really mellow and good fun for a while. Played the WebGL version with the soundtrack playing from soundcloud, don't know if this was the way it was intended to be experienced, but w/e, it worked :). Probably needs more gameplay of some kind to allow for longer playing sessions.

Dayko says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Great experience, art direction & mood, congrats ! :)

crucknuk says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Nice entry! It is gorgeous and has an excellent athmosphere! I just can't see the link with both theme...

scorched says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Liked the music and overall mood, but couldn't do anything useful here because it's hard to say where is the top and where is the bottom of this airplane

Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:22am

The moment when the music fades out the scene is gray and the .... booom music kicks in again and everything is a color explosion! Such a cool start...

dx0ne says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:36am

It's just beautiful. Great for some quick relaxation.
Thing with controls is that they are little too sensitive.

Dec 28, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Beautiful!

gkxd says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Really good graphics and music.

Controls (especially turning) were hard to get used to.

radmars says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Wowww. Absolutely gorgeous and the music is amazing. Wish there was more elaborate gameplay & better connection to the theme but regardless this is awesome. Amazing work!

Miziziziz says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:35am

Gorgeous game!
I felt the controls were very confusing. After a while of playing I started getting the hang of them and really liked how they felt physics wise, but for a short game like this, I think something simpler would be better

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:35am

By far one of the best games of this competition. Love the soothing mood, the amazing music and the great graphics. Very cool!!

Dec 30, 2015 @ 11:52am

Amazing. This gonna be a good game!

Akhera says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Great overall mood, the graphics and music are awesome. However, it's pretty difficult to control on keyboard and only slightly easier on a controller. I'd say it would be a lot easier if the plane didn't try to automatically straighten itself up.

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 8:49am

I don't like control so much but you've done a GREAT work with the mood. I fall in love with music. Nice job guys!

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:39pm

Perfect 5 star Graphics, Music, and Mood! Loved the visuals, loved the style! Music was awesome too! Great game overall! c:

Red_Fan games says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:28pm

Amazing style and graphics flying mechanic is cool as well.

Mach60KAS says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:19pm

Visually striking, although it didn't have all that much to do with the theme. I loved the audio and music - I think it did a fantastic job adding to the atmosphere. A little tricky to control, but overall a pleasant experience. Keep it up! :)

Kerdelos says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:33pm

Woooow I'm blown away ! Those graphics and that music ! The feeling at the beginning when the colors appears and the music starts is priceless ! My only advice would be to work on the camera since it feels a bit awkward sometimes. And after testing the post compo version, I find the compo controls to be more pleasant and authentic. The game is very atmospheric, thank you !

Aaranos says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:33pm

Easily one of the most fun games I've played this LD. The environment is beautiful and the gameplay is fun. The objective is simple but it doesn't feel like you have to do it quickly because you just have fun flying around. The music matches the feel of the game and is likewise great.

Krafty says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:53pm

This game was great! Very interesting take on the theme. The controls were a bit difficult to use, and I wish there was a reward for getting all of the gl/rowing orbs, or a way to keep playing afterwards. =P Graphics and music were really good, and the atmosphere was relaxing. Good job! :)

Os_Reboot says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 1:21am

Incredible game. The aesthetic is flawless, the graphics mesh nicely with the unbelievable audio. Well done, incredible amounts of polish for 72 hours. 5/5 graphics, audio, mood

FrederickK says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:15am

What an atmospherical and beautiful game!
I didn't like the controls, very difficult to handle, a joystick support would be nice.

Oye Beto says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:50am

I love the art, it gives me hope as a programmer I could make something look this pretty.

The music and visuals go well together, setting a relaxed mood.

The thing I don't like are the controls. The plane is very hard and annoying to fly.

Oye Beto says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:57am

I played the post-compo version and I like the changes on the controls, I was able to collect all the orbs.

The only thing I would change is the texture of the orbes because they are the same color of the plane and it's difficult to distinguish profundity between both objects.

Great job.

CMG says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:06am

Relaxing to play despite the difficult controls. A mesmerizing atmosphere.

MicroMacro says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:12am

One of the best looking games I've seen.

FireTwin says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:14pm

Beautiful audio/visual experience! The controls were a bit odd but was fun to try and master them.

kmakai says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:36pm

This entry is just awesome, the style is gorgeous, and the music is fantastic! I would (will) definitely play/listen to more.

zulman says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:29pm

the most beautiful entry i've seen so far

Bacontree says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:39am

It's a bit hard to control, but other than that, I think it's a great experience. With the graphics and the music both being this good, it's easy to get lost in the world and just enjoy the mood of it all.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]