Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Seicho Boru

by Robert - Jam Entry

A Katamari Damacy inspired game made for the Jam.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#69Humor(Jam)3.83
#251Fun(Jam)3.50
#315Overall(Jam)3.53
#356Audio(Jam)3.31
#362Mood(Jam)3.40
#389Theme(Jam)3.80
#572Graphics(Jam)3.34
#853Innovation(Jam)2.60

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Funny :D
I like the 3D play and exit buttons as part of the game.
Maybe having an explosion with all that items would be awesome.
Good job!

Cheers,
Morco (tyrants.not.found team)

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:55pm

I simply loved it and laughed out loud.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:58pm

I usually like watching/reading dialog cutscenes, but I appreciate when games let you speed through them a la pokemon. I can read faster than the words appeared and I was losing patience, wanting to get to the game but also wanting to see what you'd put together. Great implementation of katamari!

limered says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Awesomely done! Menu is great. You even have a story ;) Syncro reminded me of games like banjo kazooie.

This game is fun.

CalmKai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:39pm

Pretty cool!

Pietdagamer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Nice graphics and cool sound track!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Pretty good all round game, gameplay, graphics audio is all good and most importantly its fun to play.

ss64games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:35pm

A very impressive katamari clone. I'm surprised you were able to replicate so much of the game in three days! I do wish there were some more original elements to let the game stand out on it's own. Really this plays as katamari without some key mechanics that make it great (knocking into buildings, etc). But it is a nice send up to one of the greatest games of all time.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:41pm

I liked it a lot! The intro seemed to drag on a bit, but it was funny at the same time, which helped. The narrator was hilarious, the story was funny, and it all tied together really well. The sounds were great too. The narrator's speech sound was funny and fitting, and the noise when you picked up items was really satisfying. Awesome job!

Davision says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Nice! I feel like there could be more variation in sizes of objects you can add and the ball size growing seemed to go only to some rather low maximum. Otherwise it is really cool.

Quadnozzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:16am

Much fun! The models looked great, and katamari-type games are my favorite!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:27am

Really impressive to see that done in three days! The intro dragged on a little (I only saw just before I finished it the text saying you can skip it - that needs a bit more contrast). Love the art style, what audio there is is nice but the whole game's a little quiet, but overall lots of fun.

amras0000 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:04pm

It's katamari damacy, more or less, and you've definitely managed to copy over a lot of the charm from it, between the music, the fabulous king of the universe, and the kitchy artstyle.

But the satisfaction of gathering things is limited, for two reasons:
-first: in Katamari Damacy, when you ran over an object, it'd stick in place on your katamari. This would make for weird irregular shapes that became harder to control, and would ensure that whatever was last put on the ball would be visible. In Seicho Boru, you threw all the objects the player gathered into the center of the ball at random rotations, which just made a lot of clipping issues and a bit of a mess. On top of that, late-game it didn't feel like a "add things to the pile" game so much as a "collect things to grow your size arbitrarily" game, since things would vanish before I reached them and get attached somewhre I didn't see them.
The solution to this would be, when you pick up an object, to SetParent to the ball, but not to touch the localPosition of it.

-second; katamari's difficulty and appeal came from the constant increase in the size of things you could pick up. In Seicho Boru, pretty much everything is the same size (within a small margin of error that you overcome in the first minute of playing), so there doesn't seem to be any point in growing, other than to reach the end of the game. I think it would be a much better game if you varied up your model sizes a fair bit more; any given area should contain a mixture of things you're able to gather at that level, and bigger things for context and challenge.

Smaller issues include the intro taking way too long. The character's nice and the writing is funny enough, but it just drags on way beyond its welcome. In writing cutscenes, less is more. Also, the ball gets weird behavior when hitting some walls (most notably the south of the menu select), where it floats up toward the camera.

Overall, the writing's cute and you've nailed the aesthetic, but some of the balancing needs work.

AkirAssasin says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:31am

I can't do anything? Nice music though.

Starspell says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:31am

I love the idea here and the style of everything. However the streets are far too small and I managed to get stuck between too buildings and couldn't move any more.

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:37am

It is basically Katamari.

Echo Team says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:39am

This is so much like Katamari Damacy I was trying to dash. I like how it doesn't have the fixed camera zooms but scales up naturally.

bwatanabe says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:43am

Fun!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Nice implementation of the Katamari formula! Good atmosphere with the talking dude and ribbidi-voice (I just invented that word) and general feel. Well done.

Also, please re-compress your OS X build with a program other than RAR, as rar screws up unix permissions and makes the game unrunnable until you make the binary executable again.

And, of course, I would be remiss to mention my own entry which uses a similar mechanic, but in quite a different context.

eskivor says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:36am

Nice. However, the beginning of the intro is a bit too long.

adsilcott says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:31am

That was really fun, it left me wanting to get bigger though!

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:40am

Good audio and nice use of the theme

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:07am

Humor is spot on!

Geck0 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:12am

Pbaa pa bapabpa, funny ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]