Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Roto

by deadpixelsociety - Compo Entry

Roto is a two button pseudo platformer where you control the character indirectly by rotating the entire world around it.

Collect as many coins as you can and reach the goal without hitting spikes or being crushed!

Left Arrow: Rotate left
Right Arrow: Rotate right

(optional, S to toggle sound)

EDIT 12/14, 12:30pm: The music was glitched beyond repair so to spare everyone's ears I've disabled it entirely. Sorry.

Weakpoints:
-----------
For me, it's the music! It was my first time having to pull everything together myself and I felt that having something was better than nothing at all, even if bad (and it is). But it's there, so judge me for it! EDIT: When it was working, anyway!

Follow me @deadpxlsociety

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#143Fun3.65
#174Overall3.67
#184Theme4.07
#302Mood3.24
#312Graphics3.42
#372Audio2.87
#451Innovation3.20

Comments

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:42am

Great mix of a good concept and an excellent level design!
What to improve ? The music is a bit harsh and the physic is floating a bit much. Otherwise I really enjoyed playing it.

My compo:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=46758

adamgryu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:53am

I think there might be something wrong with the music; it sounded sort of glitchy? Good game, though :)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:07am

I'm not really sure what's going on with your audio, but the rest of the game is pretty great! The minimalist graphics are wonderful, the subtle squash and stretch on the ball is satisfying, and the core gameplay is tightly refined. Nice work!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:51am

Just downloaded and tried the game. I thought you guys just didn't like the music! It's actually glitched out for some reason... looking into it.

AwfulMedia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:56am

Fun little game! Love the simple art, the colors are great. The sound, whether it's the soundtrack or sound effects, is messed up. I'm getting weird, glitchy, staticy sounds that shut off and on. Pretty off putting, but other than that, awesome game!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:59am

This is awesome. I really like the glitched out music. I like how the ball changes it shape a bit as it falls around. The puzzles are hard and interesting. Good show.

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:05am

this remind me of a game that i played in my childhood, i forgot the name tho
still nice game, nice level design and....ball :))

trueboolean says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:07am

Great game! I like the animation of the character and the level design.

pkenney says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:11am

Cool use of inertia and gravity mechanics! That last level was crazy, I had these wild swings all around the level, feeling barely out of control and screwed by my mistakes 4 seconds before.

I did have a technical issue with the sound. It was playing some kind of loud static and I had to mute it. I won't vote on audio since I know you did have sound effects but I didn't get to play with them.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:23am

Thanks for the heads up on the broken music guys. Guessing my beepbox export got corrupted somehow. I've gone ahead and disabled the music entirely in the new upload. Sound effects are still in and seem to be fine.

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:00am

I enjoyed it but the harsh music really ruined it for me, also it is not very original, I have played many rotate the level games on flash game sites before.

Taffaz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Enjoyed this game. Really simple but tricky. Great combination.

ajmalr says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:35pm

I love the tilt mechanic, it fits the theme well and it's a lot of fun. I felt the last level was too easy and you introduced a cool crushing mechanic in the previous level that I think you could have expanded on. Overall a very cool game, you should consider finishing it as a full game.

Ingon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:47am

Well put game. Physics seems a bit too quick, but otherwise great.

zaniarm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:46am

Great game with solid gameplay and simple graphics. Well done.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Really addictive. A good casual game. I like how you generate sounds according to the coin size. I noticed that you used SFXR. A great entry. One of my favorites for this 34th LD contest. THX ++

blackbird806 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Wow this game is realy fun and pleasant to play.
The concept is great, level design is realy good.
I think you should make this game on smartphone I'm sure it will.
be better on this platform.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Lovely looking, fun to play! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/HyS0oGo3sGY

Yamzho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Great game. Simple mechanics, well implemented. Well done.

Dejvo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:13pm

really cool. altough, i hve seen this many times. but hreat humor on the blind optimism level :D i did exactly what was intended :D

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:25pm

Thanks for the kind comments so far everyone! I really appreciate it.

@Jupiter_Hadley, thanks for playing it! Your series is amazing and has to be a ton of work.

@Dejvo, I'm glad my sense of humour is appreciated. :)

Diel Mormac says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:14am

You did a nice concept and level design,
This game have much potential!

I think you should keep working to make a mobile version, I want to see it in my phone! hahaha

Don't forget to include a level selection menu and a time trial mode!

Congratulations!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:51am

cool physics game, very entertaining

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:34am

Cool idea. The physics felt good.

KZdev says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:35am

Really fun game, would love to play more levels

Os_Reboot says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:18am

Aesthetically pleasing entry. The graphics fit together nicely, especially with your layering-3D effect. Sound is decent. At times I felt the levels became slightly too punishing (forcing the player to go on for a while without some sort of checkpoint) (this had a minimal effect on the engaging game play). Overall very well organized entry. +Kudos
(LWJGL buddies!)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:05am

I really love this game´s controls they are quite polished and the phisics also react quite well. Both things help to bring a quite good experience

Drunkain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:11am

Really Great, the only flaw ? it's too short i really wanted to play more.
Good job !

DrZanuff says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:31am

The game is very polished! I completed the levels two times, but didn't have the patience to collect all coins, well, i am not a completionist player... You could improve the death scene, make the ball pops and burst in very small balls using particles. A nice touch too would be implementing some kind of feedback when you touch the end zone, a sound or something.

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Very cool game! The level design is very clever and the gameplay feels good

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Cool entry!

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:57am

Everything worked great for me. I loved the simple design, controls and overall game feel.

PieChronicles says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:00pm

nicely polished game, the titles were a nice touch! I had fun :)

shadow64 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:06am

Really cool. The level design was nice. Loved the names for all of the levels. It felt very Thomas Was Alone in a lot of ways. I would've loved more levels, so hopefully you'll get a chance to continue working on the project!

Thanks for sharing and congrats on finishing!

Also, I would love a link to the music so that we could hear what it was SUPPOSED to sound like. ;)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:19am

nice game - perhaps you used this game for inspiration :)

https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/kozmic-blue/id922380938?mt=8

Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Thanks! There was no direct inspiration for this game. It's just an idea I've had for years and never did anything with.

Levi D. Smith says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:23am

Nice gravity puzzler. The last level made me feel a little dizzy.

chriiis88 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:25am

Cool idea and realisation. The controls could respond a little bit better (turning is very slow, which makes rounding 90 degree corners very difficult) and a little more color wouldn't hurt either. Otherwise a nice game.

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Very solid game but idea isn't new. Like the minimalistic visuals =)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]