Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Plantagone

by Gins - Compo Entry

When I found out about the two themes, I remembered an old idea of mine about a potted plant. It turns out that this idea lent itself really well to being controlled with only two buttons. As for the growing part, you play as a quite flexible plant, so I suppose that counts as both if you're generous ;)

The game can also be played on touch devices. Tapping the left or right halves of the screen is equivalent to pressing left or right on the keyboard, so you should be able to play the game in your tablets or even on phones.

The game has no sound effects this time and it's shorter than I hoped to make it, but I have to submit now because I have to get up tomorrow. Please still let me know what you think, I might work on this more after LD!

That said, just start the game and have fun!

As usual, I will be reading every comment and will answer all questions, whenever possible.
I will play and rate all (non-anonymous) commenter's games (if I can run them), so please don't just rate, also leave a comment! :)


CONTROLS
Left/Right: tap to hop, hold to aim.
R: restart the level


UPDATE HISTORY
2015/12/18: I had accidentally left the R-key to reset the whole game instead of only the current level. Fixed, as I consider this a typo bug.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#71Innovation3.94
#113Fun3.72
#133Theme4.13
#188Humor3.08
#227Overall3.58
#267Graphics3.52
#376Mood3.11

Comments

Oppai_pika says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:23am

Good and fun gameplay. Still better than plantes vs zombie xD

candlesan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:38am

Pretty fun! Control scheme was neat to use. Would have been easier to understand if plant reached out and missed rather than not reaching at all when there's no valid target but I figured it out eventually. Missing a jump can be very punishing, forgiveness on those jumps is low.

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:46am

Fun! Nice use of the theme, cute graphics and neat controls. I agree that there needs to be some tweaking of the controls and difficulty, but overall great! 'v'

jerry111zhang says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:09am

Fun game! Hopping on ground was painful but but swing part is great.

TaoPhoenix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:13am

The question of difficulty is tricky here. The first several levels were like a tutorial with little risk. Then I got in real trouble with one of the ones with the spikes and gave up because it's just getting late. But really cute graphics indeed!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:49am

Really fun game to play, not to mention quite forgiving! Just glad that missing your aim doesn't launch your flower, that would mean I'd have to play a LOT more...

Gins says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:19am

@candlesan: thank you, I made it this way on purpose, so you wouldn't lose your grip on the hooks just because you missed your aim while you're already swinging.

@jerry111zhang: thank you, the hopping is frustrating on purpose, so that you would always choose swinging over it. I should have placed more hooks into the levels though, so you actually do get this choice more often^^

@TaoPhoenix: thank you, I didn't have the time or the testers to thoroughly test the difficulty curve, but I will keep this in mind if I decide to work more on this game.

@justinooncx: thank you, it's nice to see that you appreciate the design decisions that make the game more forgiving.

Overall, I find it interesting that some players seem to find the game too punishing and others quite forgiving. I would be really curious to watch both kinds of players play to see what I can change about the design to fix this.

zaniarm says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Nice and simple graphics. Love it.

jamaster96 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Confusing!!!

freddyw9 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Really good, the plant animations are fantastic.

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Great idea! I didn't think much of it at first glans but it's really fun to play!

Check out Digicross, playable in solo/multi/coop :
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=46758

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Solid game overall! Really good concept for a jam, it feels like it gave you time to concentrate on some nice details, like the plant catching up to the vase when moving.

A little nitpicks: Moving around (at least by clicking) could get a little frustrating, especially if you lose a lot, as the level progression can be slow. Checkpoints might be a good idea?

Ultimately, I really enjoyed it! You can give yourself a pat on the back!

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Nice, very interesting use of the controls theme! I just wished the hopping was a bit faster

pinion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:31pm

Really liked graphics and the hopping, the last level took me ages but it was worth for my freedom.

David Cookie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:33pm

I'll give it 5 stars because the theme is perfectly respected and the game is really fun. Just too bad there's no sound or music! It could have been a blast!!

Gins says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:04pm

@jamaster96: what do you find confusing? Maybe I can help.

@Crashmore Studios: thank you, I already addressed the frustrating parts of hopping earlier, as for the pat on the back, I will follow that advice ;)

@everyone else: thank you, the positive feedback is much appreciated!

kuhnerdm says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:37pm

I really liked this. The only thing I could think of is that it may make it a bit more bearable to play over time if the hop "stride" were increased a bit. That, and some fun music :)

paruthidotexe says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:07am

One of the best game here.. first dont know we can hop on the floor so it was very difficult and then it starts very interesting to play..
Art and controls are very nice.I like how it grows and catches the spot and swings..
Instead of automatic swing how about a control to swing.
You can release this for mobile device with more levels

Gins says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:45am

@kuhnerdm: thank you, yes the hop stride is really tedious. If I had the option to use more buttons, at least I might make it so that there is a dedicated shooting button, so you don't need to tap the directions to hop, but just hold it down.

@paruthidotexe: thanks! glad you figured out how it works, I hoped that the two-sentence tutorial is enough, but for a more refined version, I'd have to make all this more clear. I should probably add more detail about the controls into the description.
As for the controls: I was considering how the game would benefit from more flexible controls when swinging, but I couldn't come up with anything that works with only two buttons. Perhaps with using the mouse too, but I wanted to limit myself to really only two buttons, and nothing else.
As for the mobile suggestion: this is indeed something I'm considering, since the control scheme already works on mobile devices really well! Depending on the free time I have, I might actually further develop this and put it on the android store (and perhaps iPhones if I find someone who can compile it for me).

ajopart says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Greta concept. Hoping distance could have been increased a bit, but well done

logon13 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:25pm

I love the way the plant hops along

Ghen says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:53pm

solid game!, love the idea, the control a little bit tedious, but its ok, i like the graphic as well
overall great game :)

Evannex says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:53am

Great entry, I made it through a few levels, but I fell on one and pressed r hoping to restart the level rather than having to hop all the way back to the start. But pressing R reset me at the first level... So I stopped playing for now ^_^

Not to challenging, not too easy. The restart thing frustrated me though. Overall a great entry, so Job well done!

Gins says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:37am

@Evannex: does R really restart the whole game? Sorry, it's supposed to only reset a level. My bad, will fix.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:27am

Checkpoints would be a good addition with such slow movement speed and uncontrollable swinging. I got to the level with spike balls and elevators and didn't feel like replaying after dying right before the end.

Graphically well polished, the physics are also sleek. Overall a good job.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]