Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Someone Who Isn't Mario Teaches How Not to Type

by TCP786 - Compo Entry

A classic platformer with possibly the worlds most iconic soundtrack.

Use the prompted letter keys to jump (you don't have to be on the ground).

Additional controls:
-Escape to quit
-Backspace to restart the game
-"0" (zero) to restart the level

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#49Humor3.80
#342Innovation3.38
#372Theme3.86
#378Audio2.86
#538Mood2.89
#673Overall3.00
#717Fun2.81
#890Graphics1.86
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

krashja says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:36am

I laughed at the beginning with the music :o.

You should add a restart button, or a way to die at the beginning it took me 3 times to learn how this game really works, so i needed each time to quit the game and reopen it.

Its fun :P

TCP786 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:51am

Thanks krashja!
The zero key restarts the levels, and the backspace key returns you to the start screen. I'm glad you had fun!

RikkyPikki says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:58am

Haha that music! Also very nice use of the 2 button theme, it was fun.

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:10am

An interesting concept, a little bit like Typing of the Dead meets Mario. The graphics are functional, only the music was borderline between lulz and getting on my nerves really really fast.

NuclearCellar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:13am

Thumbs up for the concept of teaching how to type.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:17am

Ha, I love it. That music was glorious, and you took the programmer art in stride. Despite all the silliness, this is actually a really cool concept. I don't think I've ever played a typing platformer before. If you ever revisit this concept, I'd love to check it out!

XtremePrime says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:39am

The game does strive in the comedy department a bit XD It's a very unique concept of a game!
The music, though funny, it can get a bit annoying! o:

prymidion says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:41am

The music for this game is so on point.

Gameplay is a good idea (it would be really nice if you could die and automatically go back!)

It's refreshing to play a game that doesn't infringe on any copyrights.

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Haha that music. Kind of wish there was a version with actual words to type, I like typing games :)

kaype says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:16am

5/5 the fuckin M is for MASTERPIECE

kaype says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:22am

for real though i think you were trying to copy this i think https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QdNo-nxc9uc

TCP786 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:59am

@kaype "Supra Mayro Teechez Tieping."

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:29pm

I learned a lot about typing! Thanks!

SayRafon says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:20pm

A typing game ! good work with the music to :p

pixzleone says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:36pm

That was funny and innovative! I like it!

Pixelaborate says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Well I don't know what to say that hasn't already been said :P. Couple bugs I found though: backspace makes the glorious music disappear, and if you press the second key followed by the first you lose your jump (intended?)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]