Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

SUPER PLANT FRENZY

by Glint Games - Jam Entry

SUPER PLANT FRENZY: Survival of the biggest!

LEFT: TURN LEFT
RIGHT: TURN RIGHT

(you're the little green thing in the middle. Don't worry, that will change!)

Welcome to SUPER PLANT FRENZY, a game about eating other things that are smaller or similar in size to you. In order to become the biggest, you need to feed!

The problem is, this temperamental one likes to eat sometimes and doesn't other times. Watch the frenzy meter above to know when your sapling can eat! Watch out though, bump into bigger things (glowing red) and you will start to wear down your health! Reach 0 and it's game over!

The blue bar represents progress, fill it by getting your future PlantZilla to eat everything, and win the battle to become the biggest!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#121Theme(Jam)4.15
#170Fun(Jam)3.64
#211Graphics(Jam)4.00
#249Overall(Jam)3.61
#333Humor(Jam)2.96
#451Mood(Jam)3.29
#907Innovation(Jam)2.47

Comments

Acerio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:09am

Eh, you copied my game! I submitted first! Just kidding, the game was okay.

Jimbly says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:14am

Pretty fun! I got a score of 570 on my first game. Didn't realize I had a health bar on the side, might have been good if it flashed or something when I got hurt =).

Glint Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:15am

Hehe Thanks for trying it your game looks nice I will play it soon :) gtg sleep now 3am uk

SovietBear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:24am

While this concept has been done before, it was done very well by this game. The art was nice to look at and colorful, and there is a huge amount of growing, and there are only two controls! Nice work!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:25am

Fun idea. Reminded me of pac man. Really liked the art style

rjhelms says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:26am

Really good take on a great classic game style. The sound and graphics really reminded me of the style of DOS games in the 90s - lots of fun!

I ran into a couple of cases where things didn't seem to work right when the plant grew - for example, one time I got stuck in the bottom wall of the playfield, and couldn't move anymore. Couldn't make it happen consistently, though.

And a suggestion: you should make it clearer that the file for download is an installer - since I didn't know it was, it made me a bit nervous when it asked to make changes to my computer.

Enchae says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:28am

Interesting. I was a little confused at first, but I understood soon enough.

The controls were a little difficult, but I assume that was for added challenge! Nice graphics, The sound all work well together, and that beat was bangin'. The polish left a bit to be desired, but eh. I can't really be a critic on that.

Overall, not bad.

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:32am

Cool game! Very cute and polished. It took me a while to see where I was as the character starts out so small and relatively indistinct from the background. Also it would have been better if you dropped the two buttons theme and just went with growing, as the two button controls are a little confusing and don't really improve anything. Good stuff though.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:33am

Congrats on getting both of the themes in! Really like the critters and the music. Controls are a bit disorienting near the walls, but I had fun anyway.

Fathom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:34am

Awesome! Game feels fun, and I love the art.

cudabear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:35am

A solid entry! I got to 1500 points.

The graphics here are great, they really get the job done. The already great gameplay is really complemented by it. Well done!

banana4life says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:36am

Fun little arcady game.
It was hard to find your character at first.

Sourtrance says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:38am

Awesome game! Easily the best one I've played so far. I like the fact that the enemies you can't eat have a glowing red outline. Also screenshake. Good work!

Drury says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:47am

This is like Snake and Agar.io had a baby. Pretty solid combination, slick use of themes too.

PuddleOfWater says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:57am

Cute artstyle :3
I quickly understood the green bar because of its words, but I needed to hypothesize to understand the two other bars.

I like how "the world ends" with you not being able to stop eating exponentially. =p

xdigdoug says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:22am

Very fun, good level of challenge! I made it to the end with 1 hit remaining. Game gets harder as you grow bigger and can't avoid enemies. Graphics and sound are great.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:33pm

I like the art style! I did find it a bit confusing though. Could have used a bit more tutorial. Good work overall!

StMatn says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Very cute game!
The graphics are great and the audio is very fitting!
Its a bit tricky to turn, when moving at the edge of the playfield. I wanted to turn 180° by rapidly hitting a turn key, but bumped into the wall and was a bit irritated for a little moment.

Would it be possible to ship the game without installer? I don't really like to install LD games, since most of them dont stay on my computer for too long and its a bit awkward to install and uninstall games. I personly like to unzip an archive, toss the game folder on to my desktop, play the game and delete the folder afterwards. The process sround playing the game is very quick that way. But thats just a personal opinion, which I do not involve into the game rating! ;)

Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Well executed, fun game. Nice entry :)

SayRafon says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:18pm

I love the graphics :)
the game is nice, good work ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]