Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Golden Goose

by Crosstales - Jam Entry

Golden Goose

You all remember the classic fairytale about the magic bean that, watered correctly, grew into the sky? That's what you do here: take your gardener and wander your way through to the bean to water it. If and when you succeed the plant grows and you'll collect a golden egg. Go back to refill your watering can and start anew.
The longer you hold out the better your score!
Inspired by classic Nintendo Games we decided to make an LCD-Type of game (y'all remember that, right?) yay! :-)


Controls:
A: Start game A
B: Start game B
Esc: Reset

Arrow Keys: up, down, left, right
Space: Jump
Right Mouse Button: Look around
Mouse wheel: Zoom

It also works with on-screen-buttons and PS4-controllers.


Team:
Stefan Laubenberger: Code, Idea, Brains
Stephan Balmer: 2D Graphics Design
Lucien Ryter: 3D Graphics
Marisa Meyer: 2D Graphics, Sound
Honorable Mention: Michelle Balmer for the Idea

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#290Innovation(Jam)3.44
#323Graphics(Jam)3.78
#361Audio(Jam)3.30
#411Mood(Jam)3.33
#457Humor(Jam)2.74
#558Overall(Jam)3.28
#670Fun(Jam)2.96
#953Theme(Jam)2.94

Comments

jamaster96 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Very confusing.

Saymon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:39pm

Intersting concept

Andrew Patton says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:45pm

I really like the overall graphics and style. The game play is cool how it's like one of those old handhelds I had as a kid. However i'm not sure all the graphics loaded for me. I think my character was just a grey object.

Didi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Yeah I remember it a lot! Our game is inspired on GameWatch too, we made Pizza Panic! I tough put like this, but my lack of experience on art I let it style cartoon. Check it out.

limered says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Nice one. Looks exactly like the old times. The menu is a really nice touch. I think there is someting wrong with your build. Graphics don't work properly.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:01pm

I can't really tell what's going on or what I'm supposed to do?

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Nice homage to the classic Game & Watch, it's great to see it represented in 3D, it looks as if one could pick it up. Very nice presentation. The downside is game did run a bit slow on our computer though (downloaded, playing online the sprites were missing). Good work!

Pietdagamer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:26am

Awesome that you made a game in a game kind of thing, it looks great!

Crosstales says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:27am

Sorry for this, graphics are fixed now and it should run smoothely. A few minor bugs are being fixed as well.
Thanks for the nice comments - and try it again if you couldn't play it before :-)

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:42am

Enjoyed playing +)

RadStar says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:45am

nice graphics, the rendering feels exactly like the old games. that's fun! :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:24pm

Super game, I had a few of the Coleco mini arcade games as a kid, and this completely replicates those fond childhood memories. I love the coffee table layout, and the ability to interact a bit with the device. Sounds fit the style perfectly. Awesome job!

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:59pm

extra game, super music, very oldy, loved it

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:25am

The web version still has a few rendering issues, it seems like the dithered darkening pixels are drawn over the screen itself.

Other than that tho. Very good attention to detail and faithful recreation of these old games. The faint shadows in the screen where are the sprites are, fadeout of sprites etc. Very high production values.

Of course, it is an excellent reproduction of these old games, which reminds us all that these games were rather frustrating, but that's the whole point, ha.

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:31pm

This brings back memories...! Great execution, I like how you put the text on the back of the game...

Not sure what killed me in the end, though... There was nothing around me...
I did notice sometimes the graphics got stuck when I lost a life, but this was rare...

Fanatrick says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Creative :D

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Great game. It took me a while to figure out exactly what to do, but it was fun when I got it. In my opinion, the controls could be better as you need two hands on the keyboard to play and you can't access the mouse that way.

loxo says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Good idea and implementation. The game really feels like those old games. I noticed two problems with the problems with the graphics. The sprite at the position where the player died stays black and sometimes the gray background sprites vanish.

adsilcott says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:26pm

One of my favorites! The only thing it's missing is the horrible lag when you hit the buttons on those things, ha! Really great!

drinkadriu says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:01am

I like the idea but it confuses me

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]