Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Super Secret Self Aware Desert Dash

by interwebsninja - Jam Entry

As B. Dogg, escape the pursing government agents with your bag of government secrets, and keep yourself from a crash and burn!

Controller is required!(Update 12/15/15: Keyboard support has been added, but due to the LD rules, please judge us on the sssadd_v5 download that is linked below) Load times may be up to 20 seconds, and quit using ALT F4

Use the left stick to tilt and move yourself and avoid the incoming obstacles! Use the right stick to add momentum to your bag, crush incoming enemies! Collect secrets marked with a green icon to increase the size of your bag!

The Team Is:
Soren Laulainen - Sound and Music - http://music.sorenlaulainen.com/
Austin Nokleby - Story, Concept and Animation - http://www.headlikecog.com/
Cassie Murphy - Character & Background Art - cassiegraus@gmail.com
Jordan Lofgren - Story, Concept, Animation and Voice Over - http://spite.house/
Ray Grice(Me!) - Direction, Design and Engineering - @RayGrice_

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#45Fun(Jam)4.00
#52Overall(Jam)4.00
#124Audio(Jam)3.80
#186Graphics(Jam)4.06
#271Innovation(Jam)3.47
#781Theme(Jam)3.33
#1922Coolness33%

Comments

ehgoodenough says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:57am

What an intro! What a game! I kept hitting stuff tho.

PrismaSlice says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:35am

You guys did a great job! Love the classic Roadrash vibe, plus the cinematic were a nice polish touch!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:53am

Very fun! I like the feel and I love the audio.
Some of the resolutions are off.

StitchesMagoo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Such a cool game, love the art and the concept ?, just the coolest

davidB says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:13pm

The game is not a "Web", but Windows only, please update the label of the Links

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Only Windows, please update the links

ChiPassGames says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Amazing entry. It is always cools to see a game that is truly designed and not simply a mechanic with some sprites and sounds added. Great use of color. The voice over work is really fun. Just plain fun.

RevelBase says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:03am

This was real fun. Love the intro and the voice over.
I did not beat level 2 but I tried hard^^

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]