Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeon Dog

by uncade - Jam Entry

You are dog.

Dog must grow.

Grow dog grow.

More dog is better dog.

Controls:
Arrow keys to move
Space to vomit
X or C to poop

Code and Art by Uncade
Music by x01010111

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#84Humor(Jam)3.77
#256Audio(Jam)3.48
#332Graphics(Jam)3.76
#403Theme(Jam)3.79
#427Overall(Jam)3.41
#434Fun(Jam)3.24
#564Mood(Jam)3.16
#777Innovation(Jam)2.73
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Fun game. Gets boring pretty fast though. Not much challenge, almost impossible to fail. A lot of the time player spends waiting for the god to get to the destination. There need to be an accelerate button.

kebabskal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Decent! I liked the song. Had me humming along.
Gameplay is a bit stale. Forgot about the Poop and Vomit buttons but was able to finish anyway.

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Grow dog grow, dog must grow! We love the evergrowing pooing dog! Great presentation, super catchy music and plain funny. In all seriousness, the world needs more growing dogs like this one!

Ping78 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:07pm

liked the game, and music.

LadyS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Fun Concept and works flawlessly! smooth movement would help the steering feel and i didnt get how and if i can lose :o
Maybe add some challenge

matiz982 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Fun game. I have played 2 times and i want to play it again! Good job!

DonEngland says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:03pm

I was surprise the dog didn't die when he hit the walls, but he would eat himself! Got a 33.

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:36pm

I LOVE THIS GAME! Go dog, go! That poop model is perfect. I hope you keep working on it because the concept is awesome. The music is awesome too and weirdly appropriate. The titles are really cool as well. I agree that it would be fun if the dog got faster as it got longer, or if the walls hurt you, etc., just to break it up a little bit. But the controls and everything else are perfect. Great job!

uvwar says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:59am

I want to go faster David!! Like out of control fast!

Krafty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:11am

Silly game. The graphics and music were great! Controls felt a little stiff, but weren't too bad. Great job overall!

Webravenz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Weird game but lovely to play :)

Si1ver says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:53am

Nice game. I enjoyed playing it! =)
Yay, daaaaaaaaaaaaaaaachshund!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:54am

grow dog - great fun - nice job

Claire1605 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Really good game. The graphics are nice, the music fits really well and it's a nice take a classic game. Only thing I wasn't 100% sure of was the controls and how easy it was to over shoot the block you meant to turn on and maybe you went a bit slow. Other than that though, a top entry!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:42pm

I feel that the dog should have been grooving to the beat a bit more.

dx0ne says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Who let the dog grow?! Poop! Bark!
It has true LD spirit. Add levels/challenges and we're home. One of my highest rated games.

With time I really started to hate those yellow baggies.

AAGH Games says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 12:03pm

Fun, but a little tedious with the dog moving in steps. Those yellow thingamajigs shooting pieces off my dog were as close as I saw to a hazard, and once I learned that I could eat them, that challenge disappeared. The music is epic fun.

dollarone says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Nice game, although probably one of the easiest snake-style games I've played since hitting the wall is ok and you can deposit bodyparts for later collection. But cool concept and execution!

Tapehead says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 12:31pm

nice interpretation of snake! very well done :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]