Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grava-Switch

by danidre14 - Compo Entry

=====================================================================================================================
--WARNING: FLASHING COLOURS!--WARNING: FLASHING COLOURS!--WARNING: FLASHING COLOURS!--WARNING: FLASHING COLOURS!--
=====================================================================================================================

You are a test subject put into a virtual environment, switching gravity to avoid incoming spikes, and collecting items, to one day escape this virtual reality.

-Avoid all spikes. Tap 'Space' on your keyboard to change gravity. You CAN switch gravity in mid-air.
-Collect coins to customize and upgrade your player.
-Collect health packs to increase health.
-Unlock each level by meeting the following criteria- Score:500, Coins:25

Made by- Danidre14 for LD34 Compo.

=====================================================================================================================

Level 1:
-Difficulty: Easy
-Spike Damage*: 50
-Structures:
--Coins: Bottom wall
--Spikes: Bottom wall

Level 2:
-Difficulty: Normal
-Spike Damage*: 60
-Structures:
--Coins: Bottom wall | Top wall
--Spikes: Bottom wall | Top wall
--Health Packs: Bottom wall | Top wall (Rare)

Level 3:
-Difficulty: Hard
-Spike Damage*: 75
-Structures:
--Coins: Bottom wall | Top wall | Middle Wall
--Spikes: Bottom wall | Top wall | Middle Wall
--Health Packs: Bottom wall | Top wall | Middle Wall (Rare)

Level 4:
-Difficulty: Insane
-Spike Damage*: 100
-Structures:
--Coins: Bottom wall | Top wall | Middle Wall | (Two at a time)
--Spikes: Bottom wall | Top wall | Middle Wall | (Two at a time)
--Health Packs: Bottom wall | Top wall | Middle Wall | (Two at a time) (Rare)

Endless**:
-Difficulty: Based on level
-Spike Damage*: Based on level
-Structures:
--Coins: Based on level
--Spikes: Based on level
--Health Packs: Based on level

Shop:
Customize Character:
-Red: $50 (Changes the character to red)
-Green: $60 (Changes the character to green)
-Blue: $30 (Changes the character to blue)
-Yellow: $40 (Changes the character to yellow)
-Health: $25 (Increases max health by 15 at a time)
-Defense: $15 (Increases defense against spikes)

*Spike Damage: Default damage when defense is 0%
**Endless: Starts at level one and increases level (up to level 4) and speed (until you die).

=====================================================================================================================

Themes:
-Two button controls: "Left Mouse Button, "Space Button".
-Growing: Upgrading defense and health, Gaining experience, More quick reflexes.

=====================================================================================================================
--WARNING: FLASHING COLOURS!--WARNING: FLASHING COLOURS!--WARNING: FLASHING COLOURS!--WARNING: FLASHING COLOURS!--
=====================================================================================================================


**Update**

Due to popular demand, there is now a way to control how fast the background changes colours.
Next to the game, there is the code. On line 4, there is a variable called "timeToChange", and a value assigned to it (default is 500).

Simply change this value to whatever you'll like. Higher the number, background changes rarely, lower the number, background changes often.

For a very fast background, value is 100-
For a very slow background, value is 1000+

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#686Humor1.71
#855Mood1.86
#891Graphics1.83
#897Fun2.34
#910Innovation2.10
#942Theme2.37
#947Overall2.37

Comments

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:42am

Neat idea. Took a few tries to get used to the idea ... was fun to play.

danidre14 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Thanks! :D

Blobo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:13am

Interesting concept, but the gravity is so slow, and occasionally spikes in lvl 4 are undodgeable due to them extending past the height of the player.

tayl1r says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:17am

Dang, this is hard!

logorrhea says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:19am

Pretty fun to play, although I'm definitely not the best at these sorts of games :)

I realize that the flashing colors were part of the test subject in a virtual environment setting, but I found them painful to look at =\

I also find the concept of having all your code sitting in a "try it out" window really really interesting. Like now I can hack around with your code, which is a game on its own! Thanks for that!

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:52am

I like that you explored having a shop and a level structure - makes the game have more replayability. Great work :)

ohmmus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Love the concept and execution! Tutorializing the levels was perfect for me. I really understood the idea and the pacing of it was good so I never got bored. Fun game! I reallllly liked the changing floor/ceiling heights!

Which theme were you going for though?

Only critique I have is the changing colors. I'm sure you wanted them to change to add a level of distraction to the experience, but I would have perfectly happy without them changing. Or maybe not have them change so often. At one point the block was black and the background was a dark purple. I gasped and had to move in closer to my monitor, haha! In any case, job well done on this game!

danidre14 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Woah, so many views, thanks guys!

Blobo- the gravity increases as you go on in the levels. Somespikes are made to literally hit you, so you can upgrade your health in the shop and fend off better next time. :D

tayl1r- Which level, exactly, was the hardest for you? :D

logorrhea- Thanks for playing! Yes, the colour changing was to distract the player, sorry, I should have warned you guys about flashing colours. :D

Zanzlanz- Thanks, and yes this was a first I've tried like these, also my first game using Javascript! :D

ohmmus- Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it. The theme I went fo was "Two Buttons" since you only click, and press the "Space" button. I'll add that to the description, thank you.. and maybe, I guess you grow in...experience, as well as stronger, when you upgrade. :3 In the shop, you can change your character colours, to avoid being blinded by the backgrounds. :D

I'll be sure to play all your game guys, and since you may not come back to this post for your responses, I'll post them there as well. :D

Claire1605 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:27pm

I liked the gravity switch idea, but I think there would need to be obstacles on the ceiling too as I found the best strategy was to just sit up there until there were some easy coins to get. If their were some more variation in obstacles that'd be awesome too.

kebabskal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Pretty good ideas. Controls did feel very unresponsive tho. Reading the text I get how the themes apply, but didn't really see it in game. With some polish this could be real fun. Check out https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AJdEqssNZ-U for ideas on how to make the game feel better :D

danidre14 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:06pm

Claire1605: No obstacles on the walls were only for level 1, all level 1s should be easy. I added the level designs in the description above, so please read it next time. Also there are four levels total, with different difficulties, with different difficulties, and different things in different places. Thanks for playing.

Grahhhhh says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:27am

I didn't immediately understand what was going on, but figured it out pretty quick. Think I saw someone mention the shop idea was a good idea, def agree. Expand on that to make a more customizable and fun experience!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:58am

I find it funny that this was done on Khan Academy for some reason. Highly psychedelic. No comic this time?

aeveis says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:12am

Had a pretty hard time with the game. The flashing colors does make the game harder, but not in a fun way for me. I think visual differences could be fun, but it would have to be done in some other way that's not painful (like blending colors or something like that). That being part of the story can be fine, but it doesn't change how a player may feel about it. The gravity I think was still too slow, even in the later game- though it did help with hovering in the middle of a level. Overall I liked the ramp up and the shop also helped. Good job!

danidre14 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:41pm

zenmumbler: My laptop (that I use to program) got destroyed earlier on this year, and I had no device of my own. The best I could get was an online processor, since I can't download flash on my bro's PC (he doesn't want me to) I also recently began learning Javascript in Khanacademy, therefore it was the best decision I could make to have a game! :D

I'll try to get a comic in the next jam, maybe. :3 Yes, indeed there are lot's of flashing colours.

tazdij says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:43pm

it was a fun time. took me a couple tries to get past the first level.

ragnta says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Nice game

anv says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Nice concept. Good call on adding customization. Colors changed too quickly, maybe it would work better if they faded gradually.

Melusine says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:10am

very unresponsive controls and not pleasing to the eye

danidre14 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:30pm

ragnta, anv, tazdij: Thanks for playing, your comments help! :D

Melusine: The unresponsive controls may be due to poor performance of your PC? Maybe. No one else has a problem with that aspect of the game.

drludos says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:13am

Nice entry, a little game fun to play. The concept is simple, but the pacing is good, and the game rapidly become challenging. Would be a great mobile game with a graphics update :).

Also, as some other people on this people, I was quite disturbed by the flashing colors. I understand they are here to add to the challenge, but to me they are more disturbing than challenging. Maybe you should try by making colors changing less often (maybe every 30 seconds instead of every 5 seconds) so tired eyes can get accustomed to the color before they change? :)

danidre14 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:07am

Since everyone is talking about this, there is now a way for you yourself, to change how often the background changes.

I will add how to do it in the description.

axoona says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:49am

graphics could be improved (but it's ok for a jam game..) ;)
but overall the concept is very interesting.
getting all the coins is prety hard from start, you could maybe add some ramp up in difficulty so that the player could get used to the gravity (the best strategy was just staying on the top and grabing the easiest coins like someone already mentioned...)

Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:56pm

Took a while to get into it, but once I did it was actually rather neat. Needs a little work doing to it but overall it was good fun!

(answering your question on my submission: The theme is growth, like the character grows and gets strong through the game. Also the bosses are forms of metamorphosis of a moth. (I did have a planned story of a growth virus but I didn't have time to stick it in >.<)

pixelpotions says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:00pm

Hard but fun! Overall a solid entry! Good job! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]